We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Annapolis

Motel 6 Annapolis
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Annapolis to your Saves list
Motel 6 Annapolis
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1542 Whitehall Road, US 50 E Exit 30, US 50 W Exit 32, Annapolis, MD 21409 (Formerly Quality Inn Annapolis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

A friend and I decided to attend a concert in Annapolis the same weekend as one of their sailboat shows. Too late to secure a hotel room in West Annapolis, where the action is, we were forced to stay at the Quality Inn on Whitehall Road. The only benefit being the fact that it is located not too far from the church having the concert. This Inn had no elevator, so we had to schlepp our bags up the long staircase. Upon entering our room, we discovered that the safety lock (the metal lock that flips over) was broken. When we called the front desk, we were told we would be moved to the first floor - more luggage moving. The new room had a bathroom door that didn't completely close, but by this time we were too tired to care! The next morning the breakfast room was difficult to navigate, with two rows of tables. People in one row had to get up so that people in the row closest to the wall could escape. Yikes!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Durham NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Usually we find Quality Inns to be OK for our modest needs, and our 2013 AAA Tourbook rated this one as 2-stars (which is usually adequate or better for us). However, this one was short of the mark, mainly for the following reasons:

~ It was harder to find--i.e. more off the beaten path--than most motels
~ Its parking lot was inadequately lit
~ The premises reeked of a strong chemical (cleaning compound?) odor, which permeated right into our room
~ The breakfast room was very tiny with limited seating

Room Tip: Ask to visit the room before booking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dstacey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This place is a dump. First room smelled moldy and had wet carpet and shower mold. Second room was only slightly better. Walls were paper thin too. Had to listen to a couple in the next room go at it all night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel we usually book was unavailable so we decided on this location.

Pros: The staff was very nice and helpful. Very close to downtown Annapolis, only 15 minutes or so away. The room was a clean place to stay the night.

Cons: First thing you notice is the musky basement smell. We noticed that above the window there had been a leak from the room above. This could have possibly been the cause of the smell. The bathroom door wouldn't close correctly, you had to hold the door knob, lift and pull to right to close the door. The sheets are not the correct size for the bed; halfway through the night I found myself re-making the bed sheet and fitted sheet back onto the mattress. As with most Quality Inns they offered a complimentary continental breakfast. However, if you were not down there at 6am good luck trying to get anything other than coffee. It seems that they put very little out and do not refresh during the morning breakfast hours.

All in all I wouldn't have minded staying here if the price was half of what they were asking, this was not a $140/night room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyfem2sweet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Morris, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Quality Inn in Annapolis MD. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is a no frills hotel but very safe and clean. I had a wedding to attend in Stevensville which is across the Chesapeake Bay bridge. The hotels on the island are very expensive and I did not want to spend that much money. I just need to allow 10- 20 minutes to travel across the bridge, no big deal just planning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Checked in at 3pm by a older lady names Joann. No name tag. No uniform. I had 3 rooms, 2 cars all together. Check in seamed like she didn't want to be there, she told my sister that she needed her license plate number. I told her she did not have a car so she did not need it. (I am a choice employee mind you) she say "excuse you! But YES she does. If she doesn't write it down, we WILL slash your tires!" Really?! If I had another place to stay I would have flipped out on her. But everything was sold out. Then we get to the room. The ac barely worked, the carpet was dirty, they give you 2 towels. Overall was extremely unhappy with the service. The workers were RUDE. Oh and we asked for a 12 o'clock checkout. Housekeeping opened our door at 830am!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelbypayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here because of location. Gave us a quick start in the morning to get across the bridge before traffic. Should have have stayed further away and got up early. First room had a bug crawling behind the bed, fogged up window and musty smell. They clerk was accommodating and gave us a new room. Same fogged up window and musty smell. Sink fixtures were cracked, rug dirty and bathroom not very clean. Slept very uncomfortably. Breakfast consisted of cereal, make your own waffles, danish and bagels. Only had the coffee and O.J, then went to Hardees. Stay at Qualitie's often, but this one needs the name removed. I'm not usually a hard person to please, but I would never stay here again, location or not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Intruder85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annapolis
BEST WESTERN Annapolis
#15 of 21 in Annapolis
3.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Annapolis
Comfort Inn Annapolis
#14 of 21 in Annapolis
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
5.1 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#12 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Annapolis
4.5 mi away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Historic Inns of Annapolis
#4 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
4.9 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#3 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Annapolis

Address: 1542 Whitehall Road, US 50 E Exit 30, US 50 W Exit 32, Annapolis, MD 21409 (Formerly Quality Inn Annapolis)
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Annapolis 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Motel-6, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Annapolis
Annapolis Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing