We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick and Efficient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2559 Riva Road, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Annapolis
Wilton, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quick and Efficient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed two nights at this Courtyard for business and had a meeting in their conference room space. Overall, the hotel was updated and efficient. The check in process was quick professional. The cafe and Starbucks was very clean and had a good selection of items.

Upon check-in I was upgraded to a junior suite (I'm a elite member). The room was large and had a mini-frig and microwave.

The meeting room was a nice size. What I missed was coffee and candy. In an 8 hour meeting it's nice to have the choice to get some from a coffee carafe during the session. From what I hear, Marriott has removed this as a choice to increase customers use of the Starbucks at the Cafe. Additionally, hotels typically provide a mix of hard candy. The non-name single type I found lacking.

Overall, I found it a good choice for my needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor. Rooms on the 1st floor have direct access from the deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenae M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience.

I cannot wait to share your kind words with the staff!

Thank you again for the wonderful feedback!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    51
    32
    7
    6
See reviews for
41
51
4
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while my daughter was attending a camp at the Naval Academy. This is by far the worse Marriott property. It's old and dated--not well kept. The room was not very clean. Corners of floors and bathroom were grimey. The towels were literally see through--yup I checked--See through! So thread bare they wouldn't even rate as rags at my home. The plus side was everyone was very nice--however I'll stick to another property while in the area. I've stayed at the Doubletree and the SpringHill Suites in the last 3 mos...both were much nicer properties. Very disappointing for a Marriott property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenae M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review on June 27, 2013.

I deeply regret the experience you had at my property and I offer my sincere apology.
After receiving your review, I have taken action to investigate the linen. Any linen that we found with issues will be replaced. In addition, we have completed our rooms renovation as of June to update the hotel. I hope that you accept my apology.

Please contact myself directly If I can be of more assistnace.

You can reach me at cy.bwian.gm@marriott.com

Sincerly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed only 1 night. The front desk was very quick and efficient. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The rooms, as usual, were very clean. Will always try and stay at a Marriott! Thank you for a pleasant
night stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenae M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate my hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Annapolis and choose to stay with Courtyard by Marriott, Annapolis.

I hope that you will allow us to serve you in the future

Sincerely,

Shenae Moulden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Although the closet in front of the sink is really aggravating when you are brushing your teeth and your husband wants to get some of his hanging clothes - there isn't enough room! The location is good - near a nice shopping area. There's a good diner nearby for breakfast. Only a 10 minute drive from Annapolis Main Street and the USNA.
No complimentary breakfast at this one but they have a nice place to get made to order breakfast with TVs, etc. The fitness room was good. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They can make restaurant reservations for you and get you a really nice table at the Chart House near the water. Very clean.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor at the end of the hall - very quiet. Third floor may have even been bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenae M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience.

I cannot wait to share your kind words. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed two nights in April 2013. This is more the quality of a 2 star hotel. The price was $135.00 per night with tax and sure wasn't worth it. Older building in need of a remodel. Certainly not what you would expect of a Marriott. The location is good for downtown Annapolis. I would look around at the competition for a newer, nicer place for the same price. They have a cafeteria style breakfast restaurant which I felt was over priced. They do sell Starbucks coffee which was nice. Restaurant service just so-so. They give you a number and then call it out and bring the food to you when ready. The room was clean but again, needs updating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenae M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Good Afternoon,

My staff and I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We will be under a rooms renovation from 4/10/13-6/21/13.

Sincerely,

Shenae Moulden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were part of a tour to Annapolis for a visit to the Naval Academy. After a long drive we arrived at the Courtyard By Marriott and received a very friendly from the front desk. All our rooms were ready and we only had s short wait for our keys. Our room was excellent,roomy and clean. The bathroom was small but there was only two of us. They have a very nice pool and hot tub area,unfortunately we did not have the time to enjoy them. The grounds were beautifully maintained. The front desk staff was great as we checked out. Hope to visit Annapolis in the future and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenae M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience. I cannot wait to share your kind words. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is your basic hotel as far as hotels go. They do have an indoor pool which is nice but we did not use it. In room wi-fi is always nice ( and who will stay at a hotel that doesn't have it these days ? )
We had no problem using our Ipad and smartphones connected to the hotel wi-fi.
One annoying thing here. They have "in room coffee" but only provide one regular and one decaff. We both wated regular ! Well they also eliminated the complimentary coffee in the lobby forcing you to spend $8 to get coffee at their "Bistro ". Food at the bistro is good but overpriced. There are lots of better places to stay in Annapolis but they were all booked up the weekend of March 8,2013.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard so you get a patio to relax on. Otherwise you get a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenae M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your response!

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectation duirng your visit with us. We have recently finished renovating the hotel. We now offer a more updated modern room with many upgrades such as new mattresses, bedding, and complimentary wifi.

During your next visit to Annapolis, I would love to invite you back to the hotel for another visit on me.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis

Address: 2559 Riva Road, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#12 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Annapolis hotel is located in historic Annapolis Maryland in the suburbs of Washington DC. The hotel is situated less than five miles from the United States Naval Academy and the Maryland State House. Additionally, Courtyard Annapolis is just a short distance from the Annapolis City Dock providing easy reach to a number of water and seaside activities. Furthermore, the hotel is just 20 miles from the Baltimore-Washington International Airport (BWI). Designed for the business traveler, yet inviting for all, this Marriott Annapolis hotel knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Courtyard Annapolis
Annapolis Marriott
Annapolis Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.