We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Humanitarian experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Annapolis

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Annapolis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Annapolis
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Riva Road, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #17 of 22 hotels in Annapolis
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
“A Humanitarian experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were there during Hurricane Sandy, at a time when customer service is most critical. We cannot say enough about how well we were treated by the staff, especially the Assistant Manager, Pat. Her attitude and assistance was so gracious and above and beyond. Though she helped to make the circumstances more manageable; most importantly, she reinforced our beliefs in the goodness of people and that is defintely a wonderful representation for Best Western.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    67
    64
    21
    15
See reviews for
63
68
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent two night here as we did sightseeing in Annapolis, Academy etc. Picked this motel from the book while driving, price was reasonable. Did not realize how close to route 50 it was. Had to use earplugs to get some sleep and even then the odd speeding truck would wake me. My other companions seemed to do better. The rooms were pleasant and clean and the water was hot in the bathroom. The sheets did not fit the bed properly so got "rolled" up in the bottom sheet during the night. The floor was soft and creaked as you walked on it, hope the people underneath forgave us. People were friendly and the breakfast was adequate, the orange juice tasted "watered" down. Being "off" season the pool was not open but no bathers so it did not matter. It is only a couple of miles from the center of town so everything is handy. This is an older hotel/motel that joined the Best Western group and has been "freshened" up. Things were nicely painted and clean but you can tell, no elevators so you need to be able to carry you bags. Think next time will find some where more "solid".

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building and hope it is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I don't understand any poor ratings on this hotel. We paid $70 based on tourism pamphlet coupon. Very clean place, rooms very clean, convenient location across street from a modern shopping center. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here with husband for 1 night. I thought Best Westerns used to be pretty nice. This was clean and had new duvets. Outside was shabby. Waited at the front desk for 10 minutes to check in while the woman was on the phone with a guest. We didn't get the breakfast on Sunday. Saw there was a bus at our hotel. We thought it would be crazy busy. We went to the diner down the street instead. One reason we booked this motel was the reservations person told me they had a shuttle to town for the weekend that would run every hour. We didn't want to find a parking space. When we got there we saw the shuttle only ran every 2 hours and stopped at 6:30p.m. They did have a microwave and fridge in room and safe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel really isn't hotel but more close to a motel. The beds were comfortable, the shower was nice, the complimentary breakfast was sub-par, and the dining room to sit and such were the same, sub-par. I couldn't give it a bad rating because of the free breakfast not being great. If you want a clean place to rest your head, and don't really care of fancy look of a Hotel..then this Best Western is not a bad place to go when you're in town. The drive to anywhere tourist-y is really at most 30 minutes well depending on traffic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jstk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Annapolis, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are always looking for items to enhance our complimentary breakfast menu and will continue to do so. Our property has three buildings in which one is an interior building entrance and two are exterior door entrances.
Again, Thank you for taking the time and we hope you visit us again!
Sincerely, Shannon Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltaville, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The October Sail Boat Show is an extremely busy time for Annapolis. We decided in late September to attend the show - so hotels were at a premium. We booked the last available non-smoking room at Best Western. The hotel is as advertised - a two star with some nice upgrades such as a frig, microwave, and coffee pot (with free coffee). Our room appeared to be recently updated, although the bath was clean but looked dated. The staff was great - very helpful. The person handling breakfast is a dynamo - always there to help and kept all the food trays full - I would give her 5 stars. The best thing about staying here during the boat show is the chartered bus directly to the show- it runs regularly with plenty of seats for everyone. My only complaint (we were in the older building) the exterior doors need to be replaced/refurbished. They do not provide a good seal - so outside bugs can creep into the room. While we were there we saw 4 stink bugs in the room. These are outside bugs that feed on fruit, not people - so no big deal - but not the most pleasant greeting.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor - desk said it was quieter - which is was. There is no elevator - so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is accurate for the star rating. I love when rooms come equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. I think it is so beneficial to the guest regardless if they need them or not. I originally booked through a third party website so the manager wanted to give me a standard bedroom. I requested a larger bed. The lady at the front desk was nice and cooperative but her manager originally refused. Although the manager was reluctant, he ended up giving me a larger bedroom. Kudos to Dave for meeting customer service.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Annapolis

Address: 2520 Riva Road, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 hotels in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Annapolis 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.