We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but charming.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Georgian House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annapolis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Georgian House Bed and Breakfast
170 Duke of Gloucester Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 31 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Expensive but charming.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The house itself is delightful and the owners have gone out of their way to give it a colonial feel without being kitschy. The breakfast was to die for! Really superb. And the location was convenient to old town Annapolis. That's where my satisfaction ended.
1) Beds: the fold out couch was played out. The mattress was thin and my 110 pound frame felt the support bars. The "queen" size bed was barely big enough for two six foot tall adults.
2) Amenities: there was no ice in the guest's fridge. The room temp was too warm and other than a ceiling fan, there was no way to adjust the temp. There was no wifi - a serious inconvenience for us as business travelers.
3) we paid an arm and a leg to park in a commercial garage. We did get a 50% discount from our hosts, but it was a shock. The closest "free" parking on the weekends was too far to schlep luggage. This is a serious issue and we would not stay here again for the cost and inconvenience alone.

If these inconveniences don't bother you, then by all means choose this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wardj_9, Owner at Georgian House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
The Georgian House has no record of anyone staying in our suite in April 2013 using our pullout sofa. The House has wifi. All radiators have individual controls in the rooms. The commercial garage with the discount is $10.00 per day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed here twice, each time was a delightful experience. The hosts were very nice and made us feel at home. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. It's also very close to the main shopping and dining area and the waterfront. Just a short walk to the Naval Academy. Definetly worth staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

A very comfortable B&B, with very nice breakfast, good bed room and bath. The sitting room in the Thomas Stone room is large, but the couch needs replacement as it is sagging a bit.

The decor is nice thru out and Ann is a very pleasant and helpful hostess.

We would visit again and choose the same room.

Room Tip: Thomas Stone room, very large 3 room suite and nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We spend a week with 2 adults a 2 kids, age 13 and 16, in the suite. It was a superb time. We relaxed in two big rooms - living room and sleeping room - and also had a big private bathroom. Everything simply worked. It is an old house with character equipped with everything to keep a family happy after and before long drives. (space, privacy, internet, TV, located nearby downtown Annapolis)

Ann and Tom were perfect hosts caring for their guests. We feel Ann realizes and lives a dream and continuously enhances the Georgian House, which already is on a high level. The breakfast was simply perfect. We were interviewed for special needs - which you always have travelling with three girls:-) - and were wonderfully surprised by a changing and delicious offer every morning. Simply great!!!

The room details proved that professionals renovated the old house without betraying its history.

Dr. Goetz Spiess,
Berlin, Germany
spiess100@yahoo.de

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Georgian House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Wonderful to have you all with us. Have a great time in Maine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We have stayed in a number of the well-known hotels in the area but they could not compare to The Georgian House. Ann and Tom are wonderful hosts and we have stayed with them on a number of occasions. We are early risers and there is always a pot of coffee brewing when we wander downstairs. They have also been very accommodating with the breakfast schedule when we had early obligations at the Naval Academy with our son. Although our son graduated a number of years ago, we still like to visit and always try to stay at the Georgian House. The location couldn't be better and we have always had a wonderful night's sleep in their very comfortable beds. Don't miss this place if your travels take you to Annapolis, MD!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

The Owners are fantastic. The room was perfect. We were a minute late for breakfast which was grand except for another couple that split the chairs as to accommodate his laptop which should have never been at the table. There was just enough chairs at the table for all the guests. Therefore, there was a split is couples due to his selfishness once he put his laptop away his wife did not move to be near her husband either. Ann apoligized for their rudeness and lack of table manners. The parking was just behind the home but you would never know due to being quite. I would definately reccomend this BnB. We will always stay here when in Annapolis.

Room Tip: I would advise arriving to Breakfast early to get a seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wardj_9, Owner at Georgian House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you and we look forward to having you with us again. Tom & Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We spent a recent Saturday night at the Georgian House bed and breakfast in Annapolis, MD. Yes, the house is old, has a lot of character and is in a great location to downtown, the rooms are nicely modernized, and the hosts -- Ann and Tom are friendly -- but the finer details that you would expect from a $230+ per night B&B are just not up to par.

First, when we entered our room-- the Samuel Chase Room -- which was comfortable but small (or "cozy" as the website says), we found there was no soap in the bathroom. Neither hand soap at the sink, nor bath soap for the shower. So before we did anything, we had to find Ann and ask for some soap. Next, later that evening, around dinner time when we returned to our room from touring the city to get ready to go out to a performance, we found our room permeated with the smell of a pan fried steak from cooking in the kitchen downstairs. Apparently, the ventilation in the kitchen is not very good, or some other unusual thing had happened, and cooking odors filled our room. Fortunately, the room has a small balcony and door, which we opened and ventilated the room. Later that evening when preparing to brush our teeth and go to bed, we found there were no glasses or cups of any kind in the room. By this time of the evening we were tired, in our pajamas and decided to not bother Ann, and just drank water using cupped hands. Next we hopped into bed to watch some TV on a small flat screen TV set and found that the reception of the TV channels did not work. Curiously, although when turning on the TV set it said Verizon FIOS, which is one of the best TV providers in the area, on every channel we explored the picture would pixellate, totally break a part and then go dark. So needless to say, we could not watch any TV.

Finally, the last two details that caught our attention occurred at breakfast the next morning. We were served a croissant-french toast with bacon, fresh warmed fruit, blue berry muffins and coffee and orange juice. Although the french toast and other dishes were good, the bacon appeared to be left-over from some earlier day, or time. It was an assortment of re-heated, broken pieces of bacon strips, clearly not freshly cooked that morning. And it was not what we smelled cooking the evening before. Then on a final note, we couldn't help but notice, with some reservation, that Tom, who played the role of server, brought us the plates of french toast, while attired in an old sweat shirt and jogging shorts. It kind of looked as though he was still in the process of exercising, or had just jumped out of bed in a hurry and pressed into duty.

I don't know about you, but when I spend time, and my money at a B&B in this price range, I expect to have a near flawless experience and to have the little things taken care of. That has always been one of the attractions for me and my wife of staying in numerous B&Bs around the Country. Warm and welcoming hosts, friendly talkative guests, unique settings, exquisite food and service, and attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Georgian House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 170 Duke of Gloucester Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgian House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Georgian House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list