We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Old Town Annapolis Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Federal House Bar & Grille

The Federal House Bar & Grille
22 Market Space, Annapolis, MD 21401
+1 410-268-2576
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 307 Restaurants in Annapolis
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main Street
Description: Located on Market Space in the Historical District of Annapolis, The Federal House is nestled among a shopping and sightseeing haven. Have lunch and experience the unique charm of the world's sailing capital or visit us for dinner to check out Annapolis's extraordinary nightlife. The Federal House, established in 1830, has a handicapped entrance and is pet friendly and partnered with oyster recovery, Navy Athletics, and Paws boutique.
Orchard Park, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Old Town Annapolis Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Crab soup is excellent but salty. Unfortunately, the night we were there the restaurant was out of five beers on their draft menu. It was frustrating because we would order a beer and kept being told that they were out. I would expect that a restaurant of that caliber would keep their beer list updated. Other than that I would have rated them excellent. Aside from the beer debacle the food was very good to excellent. Service was great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    86
    27
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013


Wow, glad I chose to eat here! The cream of chowder soup was fantastic and the crab cakes were some of the best I have ever had. Our server was very nice and it was fun sitting in the bar area. Great atmosphere!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Tx.
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Great service, even when they're very busy...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was my 2nd time eating here, and both times it was very busy. This time we were a group of 8 walk-ins for dinner at 8:30, and waited less than 5 min. for them to set up a table in the quieter part of the restaurant. Service was excellent, every order was right, and the others in my group had no complaints. Since we were going to be partying at our hotel later that night, I ordered a light dinner of soup & salad with a glass of wine. The cream of crab soup was excellent -- some of the best I've ever eaten. Their field greens salad came with fresh greens & Italian vinaigrette on the side -- a BIG PLUS in my book because I hate salads drenched in dressings. A few in the group ordered full dinners, and all the food came out from the kitchen at the same time or at their expected times. I don't make it into Annapolis but once every 5 years, but this is a place I will always enjoy each time I visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Best food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great atmosphere and great options for food. Reasonable prices for seafood and other options for those who do not like seafood. This was the best place we ate at while there!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Inexperienced service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This super dog friendly spot took care of our 5 person party very effectively. We requested outdoor seating. The server however was below standard. He didn't even know what rye bread was! The grapefruit crush was mediocre and the shrimp salad was average.I do love that the hostess got our dog water and the fact that they had a dog menu. We got the dog a peanut butter tournover. She loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Federal House Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Federal House Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Federal House Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.