We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, but overpriced amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Annapolis

Save Saved
You added Westin Annapolis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Annapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Westgate Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 22 hotels in Annapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, but overpriced amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Beautiful hotel, both interior and exterior. The rooms are nice, especially the bathrooms. Although my shower drain was clogged when I first arrived, I informed the front desk and they had it fixed by the time I returned in the evening. One of the front desk employees also allowed me to scan an important document via their fax machine. Overall, very pleasant staff. Unfortunately, this hotel nickle and dimes you for everything. $10 for internet in hotel rooms is draconian in 2014 Parking is also very expensive. The "business center" is also quite modest for a hotel this size. Strangely enough, the staircases are very out of the way and difficult to find.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Sburgess92: Good afternoon. Thank you for taking your time to respond to Trip Advisor after your stay at the Westin Annapolis. We appreciate your time, business, and candid comments. While we appreciate your overall solid comments, thank you for mentioning parking, internet and our stairwells. Please know that the City of Annapolis owns the parking garage. I do understand your internet concerns. Lastly, the stairwells are situated at each corner of the building. I am not positive if this caused an inconvenience during your stay. Thank you once again for your business. I appreciate your comments. Sincerely, Jim Piccoli GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    179
    57
    26
    10
See reviews for
110
197
26
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at the Westin Annapolis for 3 nights. The Hotel is clean and modern in appearance. Large room with no views. Parking is non existant. The Hotel gets top dollar for their rooms and then charges you for parking at a $ 10 cap in their garage. Wifi is only available for a hefty fee. The free trolly available for anyone in Annapolis is available outside the front door. depending on the traffic volume in town, it will effect your wait time. We did not dine in the Hotel. Surrounding eateries left us with a bit to be desired. Please be sure to do a complete survey of your room upon check out. I had unfortunatley left a tablet of value behind, never to be seen again. I tried contacting their General Manager by returning their thank you e mail. Apparently the General Manager is only responsive to reviews left here that are in their favor. By all appearances this is an up scale venue. Our pleasant stay has been permantly marred by this unfortunate, unpleasant experience. It was explained that housekeeping does a full inspection before excepting another guest into the room.That being said they surely had to have seen my tablet as left it on the entrance table inside the room. I recall putting it there. I never saw it after that. Yet, the only responce I received was, the staff is of long standing.

Room Tip: The only view to speak of is in the rear of an old Military Cemetary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefBarrett, Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hello from the Westin Annapolis,
No one at the hotel likes to hear that one of our guests left feeling that we did not exceed their expectations.
Parking in Annapolis, like many cities, can be a challenge. We do have 1100 parking spots located in the garage that sits below the hotel, the unfortunate part about that is the garage is owned and managed by the city. It has been our experience that the city responds better to direct correspondence rather than hearing concerns through us, the contact information for them is www.parkannapolis.com or 410-216-9436.
Please, do try Azure the next time you are in town. Chef Barrett and his team of culinarians source many of their foods from local farms and waterways. They take great care in maintaining the integrity of the food and putting out a quality product.
The most unfortunate part of your response is the tablet that you left behind. We, at the property, are currently investigating why your reply did not come through. Please know that we take any and all lost or stolen items very seriously and would never intentionally ignore such an email. I have spoken to our Director of Housekeeping about this; I understand you spoke with him as well. Our team has a fantastic track record when it comes to logging items in to lost and found and currently we do not have a record of this item being turned in. Many tablets today have a “find my” feature built into them. Should you use this feature and find your tablet in Annapolis we would love to know, we take great pride in the honesty of our team and would certainly take appropriate actions should we find that someone has taken advantage of that trust and pride.
Again, we are terribly sorry that your expectations were not met, much less exceeded, during your last visit and sincerely hope that you would consider giving us a second chance should your travels bring you back to Annapolis.
Regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My son who is a graduate of the United States Naval Academy was married last weekend in Annapolis. The hotel that was chosen for guests to stay (all but 4 of the guests were from out of town) was the Westin Westgate. After checking reception venues in the area a very wise decision was made to also have the welcome dinner, reception and morning after brunch at the Westin. What a great decision. Not only is the hotel beautiful but the service was exceptional. Having a location in town and on the trolley route was fantastic for our guests without cars (which really was all of them) to tour the historic town without inconvenience. The convenience for guests to be staying at the same venue where the reception was is priceless.
The event planner for the hotel, Nicole, was knowledgeable and coordinated well with all vendors. The food was not banquet quality food...it truly was upscale and delicious with so many custom choices available.
The entire staff was service oriented and made the wedding day stress free and enjoyable. Whether you are holding a special event or simply planning a visit to Annapolis or the United States Naval Academy, you cannot go wrong with the Annapolis Westin!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefBarrett, Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hello to our friends from New Jersey,
Congratulation on the happy occasion that brought you to Annapolis, and thank you, from the entire team, for taking the time to share your experience with the web!
We look forward to your return stay the next time your travels bring you this direction!
Regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Was in Annapolis on business so did not choose this hotel and did not have the time to venture more than 100m from the door. Nevertheless....fantastic hotel with excellent staff. Can't fault the place. Very quiet, very comfortable. Super beds. A fitness room to die for and the breakfast and other meals were really good. Over the road: 1 x Italian, 1 x Curry House (ok, but not UK standards) and 1 x Irish Bar. Some rooms overlook graceful but poignant US military cemetery. Free trammy, shuttle bus thingy adjacent to hotel every 10 minutes to downtown if you felt so inclined.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Jonathan V: good evening. Thank you for taking your time to respond after your stay at the Westin Annapolis. On behalf of the entire staff, we appreciate and value your business. I will forward your comments to our customer service team for their review. Thank you once again and have a great evening. Sincerely, Jim Piccoli GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a lovely hotel with rooms overlooking one of the traffic circles with cool sculptures. Good service: quick at the front desk and valet. We didn't use any of the facilities but the restaurant/bar/foyer area was really nice and seemed to always have folks enjoying it. It always seems strange to me that in nicer hotels, you have to pay for internet and overnight parking.

Green Features: Even though I hung up my towel in order to use it again the next day, it was taken away and I had to start with a new one the next day.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to respond to this survey. On behalf of the entire staff, we appreciate and value you business. Thank you for the nice comments. I will share them at our customer service meeting this afternoon. Have a great weekend. Thank you again. Sincerely, James J. Piccoli General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Westin was so nice..All the staff treated us well..Place is spotless ..Beds very comfortable...Restaurants are within walking distance..also trolley stop roght in front of hotel which is free..Get valet parking..Eddie and Katherine were the best..I will be returning in May

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefBarrett, Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hello to our friends in Pennsylvania!
Thank you for the kind words regarding our hotel and staff! It is truly our pleasure to welcome you back to the Westin Annapolis this May.
Kindest regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is a perfect hotel for a reasonable price. The rooms are super clean and fresh and the service is absolutely stupendous. I recommend this hotel to everyone. The only downside is WI-FI is not free.

Room Tip: Try to book early in order to get a better price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefBarrett, Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hello to our neighbors in Annapolis!
Thank you, on behalf of the entire hotel staff, for taking the time to share your experience! It is truly refreshing to hear the feedback from a guest, especially a neighbor, telling us we hit the mark.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin the next time you visit!
Regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Annapolis

Address: 100 Westgate Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Annapolis
#6 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Annapolis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest additions to the Maryland state capital, The Westin Annapolis hotel is the centerpiece of a European inspired mixed-use community that ripples with energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Westin Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.