We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Annapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Annapolis to your Saves list
Westin Annapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Westgate Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
GreenLeadersSilver level
virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Pleasant one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel and it was a pleasant stay. The room was clean but the view was so-so. The bed sheets were kind of itchy not as soft as the ones I have stayed at. We were able to check in with no problem.
This Hotel is not in downtown Annapolis but a 15 minute walk. There are very few places right outside Westin to eat. One was a Italian restaurant/ cafe next to it and it was very good.
The staff seem friendly and because the hotel restaurant was under renovation, the light breakfast consisting of fruit and pastries were complimentary-- if you are hungry, you might want to try somewhere else. Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefBarrett, Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello to our friends in Virginia, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
We appreciate the opportunities that we have and look forward to addressing them so we can continue to exceed expectations.
Please feel free to reach out to a member of the Service Express Team on your next stay and allow them to share some of the restaurants that are a short walk away. Carpaccio, the Italian restaurant, does a fantastic job and Annapolis has a wonderfully diverse restaurant scene just a short walk or trolley ride away!
Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    198
    58
    31
    11
See reviews for
122
206
29
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the Westin. The check-in clerk was very nice and helpful. When I asked, she gave very good tips about restaurants and getting around without a car.

The room was comfortable, but the bathroom was arranged strangely -- to open or close the bathroom door while in the bathroom, one had to stand in the right place because the door was so wide. That is my only complaint, and it is minor. There's a large desk for work with plugs on top for charging electronics.

As mentioned in an earlier post, the lobby and bar areas are open and inviting, and the bartenders are nice and knowledgeable. There is plenty of seating, so you don't have to fight for a seat.

The "business center" is a very small room with two computers, one of which was occupied when I visited, and the other was down. However, the desk clerk was very helpful and printed my boarding pass for my return flight. FYI, wifi is $9.95 for 24 hours, but you can connect all of your devices ( phone, iPad, laptop) for one fee.

The hotel provides a nice breakfast buffet with fresh seasonal fruit, muffins and pastries. Starbucks coffee and Tazo teas, orange juice and cold water are also served. Take out containers for people who are traveling are provided.

Overall, this was a very nice place to stay, and since the free trolley picks up right in front, it's well located to reach the historic area. Several eclectic restaurants are nearby, including a well-regarded Thai restaurant called Lemon Grass within two blocks. And the walk to the waterfront would be about 15 minutes through a very picturesque area.

Room Tip: State and federal government employee rates are offered, which makes this a real value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefBarrett, Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Good afternoon to our friends in Charlotte!
I would like to take the time to thank you for posting your review regarding your stay with us, it has given us areas to address as well as compliments to hand out.
We look forward to seeing you next time you return to the Annapolis area!
Regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We landed a one night stay on Priceline for 100.00. The hotel was kind enough to change us to a king bed room on the Starwood Preferred level. Very appreciative. The room was very nice, the bedding wonderful. Loved all the plush linens. We had a great view of the park place area. Their restaurant is under construction so they provided a free continental buffet in the morning hours.

Love the area! The free trolley to the city docks downtown was great! Drops you off within walking distance to the USNA visitor center.

Parking is convenient but it costs. 10.00 per 24 hour period with no in/out. If you leave, the clock starts over. It cost us 20 for the night since we used the car to go to dinner.

For the price, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat! Well done Westin!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefBarrett, Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello to our friends in Cookeville!
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Westin Annapolis!
We look forward to seeing you on any of your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our family of 4 spent one night in Annapolis as a 1/2 way stop on a 16 hour drive home. We arrived around 2 PM for check in and no one greeted me as we approached to check in. Both women just looked at me and waited for me to start the conversation. As this was our first time in Annapolis I asked for recommendations for crab as Annapolis is supposed to be "crab town." She offered one restaurant but did not seem like she really wanted to help us.

The room was VERY clean and had a great spa-like bathroom. We also enjoyed having the free trolley outside the hotel so we could avoid parking at the city dock. It could be a great hotel if they were just a little more friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefBarrett, Manager at Westin Annapolis, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello to our friends in Rochester!
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Westin Annapolis.
We never like to hear that we missed the mark with our guests, but when we do we like to use those instances as training for our team so we don't make the same mistakes again.
We realize that everyone has plenty of choices to make when traveling and thank you for choosing us while you visited "crab town". We can only hope that, should your travels bring you back, you give us the opportunity to show you how it should and can be done.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Annapolis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was at this hotel for 5 days on business. The area is nice, right next to a civil war cemetary and several restaurants. There is a free trolly that runs down to the historic part of town and the USNA. The hotel was clean, with fresh cold flavored water in the lobby. The lobby was open and inviting. The front desk and lobby staff was friendly enough, but never engaged us unless we spoke to them. The valets and doormen always had a greeting. The parking in this hotel is a little bit of a scam. Self parking in $10.00 but does not include in and out priveleges. And as the lot is not owned by the hotel, though it is below the hotel, they will not charge parking to the room. This would be nice to know in advance and this kept the hotel from a higher rating in my eyes.

The lobby bar was nice and comfortable and the food was good. The room was nica and very clean. Another issue I had was that the gym was closed. Though they offered the use of a gym about a 10 minute drive away, this would mean paying $20.00 per day for parking or a cab. Again, I wish I had this information in advance.

All in all a decent stay, but a few minor things could have made it a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We drove about 500 miles to pick up my son from a summer Naval Academy program. The Westin was very nice. The rooms were quiet, well appointed and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast was decent, although you better get there earlier rather than later. The location was an easy walk to downtown and there is a shuttle that also runs every 15-30 minutes, so didn't need the car much at all. We did not eat any other meal there as the restaurant was being renovated. We also did not require housekeeping so can't comment, but it was clean to start. We enjoyed a drink in the bar and the service was very good. Overall we enjoyed it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yardley pa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed for a weekend family function and was a bit disappointed.

Location is not walk out the door into the main shopping, historic area. There is a free shuttle, but not a location if you want to walk out the door and be in town. Not really walking distance.

Common area was minimal. When we were there we had young kids running and screaming in the lobby, high school kids swinging lacrosse sticks (two people hit) and no one from the hotel ever said anything.

Housekeeping was OK, but you expect more than OK from a Westin.

As far as rooms go, definitely ask for a high floor with a view of the front courtyard.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a high floor with a view of the front courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Annapolis

Address: 100 Westgate Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#10 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Annapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest additions to the Maryland state capital, The Westin Annapolis hotel is the centerpiece of a European inspired mixed-use community that ripples with energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Westin Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.