We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stop!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boatyard Bar & Grill

Boatyard Bar & Grill
400 Fourth Street, Annapolis, MD 21403
410-216-6206
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 307 Restaurants in Annapolis
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Boatyard is where local sailors, fishermen and lovers of the Chesapeake enjoy pint drinks, great crab cakes and the freshest local seafood. Specialties include smoked fish of the day (on premise), cream of crab and Maryland crab soups and an extensive list of crab and seafood specialties. The First Lady came from the White House to enjoy our crab cakes. The Boatyard has the most extensive raw bar in the area including a variety of oysters, clams, shrimp and mussels. The Boatyard receives awards for being most family friendly and having the best burger on the Bay. Its weekend brunch is the best in the area. The Boatyard is located in the historic maritime district of Eastport-a short walk or water taxi from Annapolis City Docks. Its photo boat films the local sailing races and shows them nightly. Named by Coastal Living, Sailing World and Sail Magazine as one of world's top sailing/boating restaurants.
Bourne, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First stop!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Another year has gone by and we are back in Annapolis for the Sail Show. All the way down from Boston we were thinking about diner at the Boatyard Bar &Grill. After a quick check in we headed straight there, remember it's been a year, the bartender remembered us and we quickly had a cold drink. We ordered the creamy crab chowder, had the bartender bring us a selection of oysters and finished off with a salad and fish taco.
Nothing has changed, service, food and company all excellent. We are here in Annapolis for a week and are already planing the meal. Do yourself a favor and don't miss a meal here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richard f, Owner at Boatyard Bar & Grill, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thanks for the kind remarks. come back again soon. df
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    192
    53
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
east coast
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Disappointed itch cream of crab soup”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We had gone to Annapolis for sailing on woodwind. Such a great experience. My second time. Love it. Afterwards headed to my fave restaurant in Annapolis, Carroll's creek. Got there and there was a sign on door--closed for private party :(. So sad as I love the place. Went across street to boatyard on recommendation of hostess. Got the cream of crab soup as this is what I look forward to most while in maryland or southern de. The soup came out and was not very hot. Not cold though so ate it. Little crab. Too many hard celery and onion pieces and these little flour like lumps. Disappointed in soup. For lunch I got the fish tacos which were good. Guacamole looked a little old but was ok. My friend got crab mets which he really liked. There was lots of food though so decent value. If only the soup were great. I would probably try it again

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richard f, Owner at Boatyard Bar & Grill, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Sorry for the cram of crab soup. it should contain lots of crab and no lumps and of course be hot. passed along to the chef. thanks for the feedback please come back, order the soup and call me 4103368880 df
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just not impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I am from florida- this seafood could never compare, nothing out of the ordinary, granted it was a busy saturday nite and the service was worse than a red lobster which i don't recommend either. Very overpriced for what you get

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richard f, General Manager at Boatyard Bar & Grill, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
sorry you did not have a good experience. we take all this very seriously. can you tell me what you ordered. we work so hard to have the freshest seafood at reasonable prices we always win the local crab cake awards--- and since are always most family friendly-work hard to keep our prices very reasonable. always look for specific feedback for our team who agonize over everything. come back and give me a call df 4103368880
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cool bar and grill in Eastport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The parking is tight in the area but well worth walking a block. The fish was fresh and nicely prepared. I will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richard f, Owner at Boatyard Bar & Grill, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
thanks for the kind thoughts come back soon df
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great taste of Annapolis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stopped in for lunch here this past weekend. They were very crowed but were able to get us seated quickly. We had a very touristy meal as our waiter informed us, but it was delicious non the less. The ying and yang soup is a must try! Our waiter was very helpful and gave us some great tips on other places to try out. It's a little walk from the main street area, but on a nice day its not too bad of a trip. They do have a parking lot if you drive over.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richard f, Owner at Boatyard Bar & Grill, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
thanks for the kind thoughts come back soon! df
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boatyard Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Boatyard Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boatyard Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.