We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galway Bay

Galway Bay
63 Maryland Avenue, Annapolis, MD 21401
410-263-8333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 307 Restaurants in Annapolis
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Pub, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have eaten here several times and each time we have had a great meal. We held our rehearsal dinner here in September and were very impressed by the great service and wonderful meal. We have attended a rehearsal dinner in the past that took forever to get the food and it did not come out consistently. So we were aware/concerned that this could happen when having over 40 people at ours. THIS WAS NOT THE CASE HERE. The service was continuous and pretty quick considering we had 40+ people. Everyone was served at about the same time. The food was amazing and no one complained. We met out of town guests over in the bar area after the rehearsal dinner. It was a great place to hang out and have some drinks.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    99
    30
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Went on a Tuesday night with my wife. Visiting the area. The place was pretty empty when we arrived at 6:30 but when we left at 8pm it was about 3/4 full. Had a wonderful app, spinach & crab dip in a bread bowl- fantastic! My wife tried the crab cakes and she said they were as good as advertised. I had the Molley's mussels and Irish chips and they were both excellent. Thought the prices were reasonable. I had a Guiness and my wife an iced tea. No dessert. Bill with a 20% tip came to about $65. Atmosphere was very nice. Definitely will be back and we recommend highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“About as Irish that you can get in the States”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My Tour company often drops off our guests at the end of a Tour at Galway Bay and have done so for the last 3 years. We've never gotten a bad comment about their experience. The restaurant is owned and operated by actual Irish folks who have come to our shores to bring their concept. They offer a cabbage roll and a Tomato and Wiskey soup that is an extraordinary way to start your meal. In fact the Food network did a spot there on its show Diners, Dives and Drive Ins and they gave it a thumbs up review, as well. Often Irish oriented bars will have a good selection of draft/bottle beers, but the food is a secondary effort. That is NOT the case at Galway Bay, meaning the food is right up there as the primary reason to frequent this spot when visiting the Historic District of Annapolis.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“never even got to eat.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

this was boat show weekend, so you would think there would be staff to cover. Not the case and the Manager, a female swinging her long hair around our table lamented on how her staff was all sick and she whined to us to have patience as she was doing her best, which included having us wait over 15 minutes to get a glass of water and a menu. The disaffected youth greeting everyone at the door clearly needed some EMO time to himself. We left.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lunch in the Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The pub is located in a wonderful old block of Maryland Ave in old town Annapolis. The décor was that of an Irish Pub. The wait staff was helpful although very busy serving both the tables and bar. The best part, however, was the food. We started with cabbage wraps a wonderful mix of corned beef, cabbage, and mashed potatoes rolled in a cabbage leaf before being steamed and then served hot with a wonderful mustard sauce poured over them. We agreed that we would return just for the appetizer.
But then we had our main courses which were outstanding. The traditional lamb stew was served piping hot with lots of lamb chunks, onions, potato chunks, and carrots in gravy with mashed potatoes on top. The Irish Reuben was quite remarkable! The sandwich was served grilled. A wonderful fresh rye bread lightly served with a mustard sauce and containing shredded corned beef and braised cabbage. My wife rarely eats fried potatoes but the Reuben was served with them and she made an exception as they were fresh cut and not greasy. For sure we will return for more of this wonderful Irish fare (and for the Irish beers on tap).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galway Bay also viewed

 

Been to Galway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galway Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.