We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chart House

Chart House
300 Second St, Annapolis, MD 21403
(410) 268-7166
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 307 Restaurants in Annapolis
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Severn Avenue
Transit: Water Taxi delivers to our dock
Description: A favorite dining location in Annapolis for over 25 years, Chart House is a beautiful waterfront restaurant located on Spa Creek in the Eastport area. It occupies the former John Trumpy & Son boathouse & offers uncompromising views of the Annapolis Historic District, the Maryland State House & the United States Naval Academy. Since 1961, Chart House has been dedicated to providing the ideal dining experience. With 30 historic, waterfront & showcase locations across the U.S., Chart House offers spectacular views & exceptional service that you’re sure to enjoy. From top-of-the-catch seafood to succulent steaks, our renowned chefs have tailored a menu to complement local cuisine while introducing a hint of the exotic. Choose from our famous entrées such as Macadamia Crusted Mahi, New Wave Surf & Turf & our slow roasted Prime Rib. We also offer a daily selection of fresh fish, an extensive collection of fine wines, & decadent desserts like our famous Hot Chocolate Lava Cake.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were searching for a place to have dinner on the waterfront and drove past Chart House. After checking reviews on TripAdvisor, decided to give it a try. Did not disappoint! The food was great and we really enjoyed sitting by a window, overlooking the water. The Crab Cake Mango Stack appetizer was delicious, as well as the Seafood Stew and Crab cake dinner. I would love to have tried the Chocolate Lava Cake dessert but was just too full.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    96
    39
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Chart House is an International chain, and good at the local Annapolis one. (There are better ones, and worse ones.) The trouble with Annapolis is that it is very expensive, and the Chart House doesn't hold back on that account.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best View of Downtown Annapolis/Naval Academy--and good food too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

For visitors to Annapolis, as for its residents, the chain restaurant Chart House has so much to offer--in food and atmosphere in all 4 seasons, with arguably the best view of downtown, the Naval Academy, Spa Creek and the Annapolis Yacht Club.
Located just over the Spa Creek Bridge that links the City Dock area with artistic Eastport, the Chart House, formerly a boat construction building, sits just at water level.
The experience in the main room, serving cocktails, light dining as well as a full menu, is like that of a cruise ship, where you might reach out and touch the water. (The water taxi pulls up to the restaurant directly.)
My friends and I like to sample from the light dining choices over cocktails. A Chart House fav is the crab stack, a molded (without binder) of lump crab, mango, and avocado, lightly dressed with a flavored oil (very lightly dressed). (About $13-14) The crab is unadulterated, fresh, and delicious--an in a quantity that would equal that of a generously sized crab cake.
It appears that the Chart House makes it own hummus, and, whether you are a fan or not, the red pepper, edamame, and (I think) plain hummus trio, along with pita bread, is really delicious. These are only a couple of a large menu of choices that include full meals. Buy and use the membership "Landry's" card and receive a kickback of $25 for birthdays and after spending about $200 or so at the restaurant.
Never mind that this is a chain: Make it a stop in Annapolis in any season and enjoy a view of the charms of downton "Naptown" and never be disappointed with the food or service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Off the Charts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

First visit to Chart House Annapolis. Special occasion dinner for my birthday. Food and service were both outstanding. We started with the strawberry bibb salad and baked Chesapeake orders, both delicious. We both chose their signature Macadamia Crusted Mahi Mahi. Served over a peanut sauce with a side of Asian green beans. Best fish entrée we have ever had. We consider ourselves foodies and we rank it up there with some of our best meals. Birthday celebration was made extra special by little surprises the restaurant offered. I won't give too many details so it won't spoil any future customers that visit for birthdays. We will definitely go back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Waterfront great service and delicious food.the service is fantastic. The crab,mango,avocado stack is a fabulous appetizer. Great surf. And turf.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House also viewed

 

Been to Chart House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chart House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.