We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Atmo" to Spare, Good Service, Crab Cakes & Sides Unimpressive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chick and Ruth's Delly

Chick and Ruth's Delly
165 Main St, Annapolis, MD 21401
410 269 6737
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 308 Restaurants in Annapolis
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Atmo" to Spare, Good Service, Crab Cakes & Sides Unimpressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

When I went in for lunch, the place was crowded, but I was seated right away. If Chick and Ruth's Delly were a person, it'd be a real character, with "personality" to spare. I credit the waitstaff, who are friendly and down-to-Earth. The service was very good. I ordered the crab cake platter, with French fries and cole slaw. The fries were average. Cole slaw was tepid, rather than cold, as it should have been. I was glad to see that the large crab cake served to me was broiled, rather than fried, and eagerly anticipated enjoying a delicacy of the Chesapeake Bay. This crab cake contained lots of tiny bits of crab meat, plus parts of crab innards (namely that green stuff) that normally aren't put in crab cakes--all bound together by what *looked* like a mixture of tartar sauce, mayonnaise and Russian dressing. It tasted like a salty glob--not at all what I would have expected of a place that dubs itself "Crab Cake Central." I regret not having sent it back,. With Coca-Cola (delicious and properly carbonated and mixed), tax and tip, this meal came out to around $20.00. "Atmo" to spare, but not a good value. Because I've been there just once, I'm going to err on the side of generosity and give it an overall rating of "average," rather than "poor," pending a return trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    223
    66
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little River, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fun Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Been wanting to try this place for a while. Stopped I'm last Saturday for lunch. They were very busy, as usual, but we got a small table for 2 right in the middle of the place. Server was busy but very pleasant and friendly. We ordered two sandwiched and a shake. The chocolate shake was rich, very flavorful and delicious. I had the pastrami, corned beef and swiss on rye. WOW!, lots of meat, perfectly steamed and very flavorful. The kosher dill pickles on the table were authentic and tasted fantastic. My wife had the main street sandwich with pastrami and Cole slaw, also a big hit. Very small place, very friendly staff and very unique. The freshly made glazed doughnuts looked great, maybe next time when we come in to try breakfast.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markyz
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Must of ordered the wrong thing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

They were lined up out the door so we knew this is what we wanted. It was brunch so we ordered their famous crab omelet. It was only so,so. Not lump crab like people describe in the crab cakes. Kind of a mushy, salty crab mix. The place itself is typical deli--fast, crowded, and loud. We loved it. Just not the food so much.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm....giant hamburger.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I should have gotten the challenge burger instead of the two pounder. The meat was cooked so well that I could've easily shoveled it down. Then I'd have an awesome shirt to cover my happy stomach with. The shakes are great too, of course. The peanut butter cup one was wicked good. It's fairly crowded, rather busy, but the waitresses are good at what they do and pleasant. I'll totally be back to eat the other half of a cow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, ct
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Noisy, crowded but great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was a long weekend, so probably the crowd was thicker than normal, but it took 30 minutes to get a table.
The service was particularly fast, and although not exceptional, the waitress was competent and precise.
The reuben sandwich was pretty good, so were the crab cakes.
If you are in town and not in a hurry, this is a place to try!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chick and Ruth's Delly also viewed

 

Been to Chick and Ruth's Delly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chick and Ruth's Delly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.