We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational & Informative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U.S. Naval Academy

U.S. Naval Academy
121 Blake Road, Annapolis, MD 21402
(410) 293-8687
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$60*
and up
Annapolis City Segway Tour
Ranked #1 of 83 things to do in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Group tours/walking tour, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1845, this undergraduate college for the Navy prepares men and women to become professional officers in the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Educational & Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Great stop in our exploration of Annapolis. The guided tour is worth the $...our guide was full of information we would never have discovered on our own. The buildings are beautiful and impressive. Great to hear how our naval leaders are trained.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    988
    223
    41
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impressive & motivating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Thrilled to visit the campus and see the chapel & Preble Hall as my grandfather, father & brother all served in the Navy. Midshipmen were so polite providing information. Wished we had a chance to see formations! You have to have a picture ID to get on the campus. Thank you all for your service and dedication. Wear sneakers so you can walk everywhere. Jean Paul Jones crypt was beautiful.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go Navy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I come from a Navy family, this learning institution is part of my family-fabric. While there is plenty to see in terms of memorials and honorariums, it's what isn't typically seen unless you are a student. If ever you have a chance to take the guided tour with a docent or a self guided tour, take the time to enjoy the sights and sounds found on the "Yard" and consider what USNA has provided to our country in terms of leaders; military, science and engineering, or private citizens as businessmen after their committment has been served. Regarding Division I athletics, being ranked number one isn't the primary measure of academic success...something the NC2A would do well to consider. Go Navy! Beat Army!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
536 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Access through Gate 1 not far from the Marina. For foreigners a passport is compulsory. Once in the visitor center you have a nice movie and the option of a 10$ guided tour which make the bucks. A former Marine makes a great 90 mins walk on the grounds with a lot of insights. The main building is impressive, as well as the entire compound. You can walk on the grounds unguided too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“GOVERNMENT TRAINING FACILITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

There is nothing to dislike about our Federal Government so, where all the personnel are train is awesome to be around. If you know what I mean.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Naval Academy also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Naval Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U.S. Naval Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.