We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U.S. Naval Academy

U.S. Naval Academy
121 Blake Road, Annapolis, MD 21402
(410) 293-8687
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$60*
and up
Annapolis City Segway Tour
Ranked #1 of 80 things to do in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1845, this undergraduate college for the Navy prepares men and women to become professional officers in the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
649 reviews
276 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Access through Gate 1 not far from the Marina. For foreigners a passport is compulsory. Once in the visitor center you have a nice movie and the option of a 10$ guided tour which make the bucks. A former Marine makes a great 90 mins walk on the grounds with a lot of insights. The main building is impressive, as well as the entire compound. You can walk on the grounds unguided too.

Helpful?
Thank Aburel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“GOVERNMENT TRAINING FACILITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

There is nothing to dislike about our Federal Government so, where all the personnel are train is awesome to be around. If you know what I mean.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
352 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“memories...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

my dad is a grad and I almost went here (kept away by dreams of pro football career that lasted all of 2 preseason games... if you have kid in similar situation, tell them go to the academy), so this was trip down memory lane and it does not disappoint. many scenic points that are short stroll away... take a break from the road and a little walk

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank uckbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“CVW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed at this hotel while my son participated in Candidate Visit Weekend. Great hotel, awesome proximity to Naval Academy

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LisaM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An Annapolis "can't miss"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

There is so much to appreciate about the Naval Academy-- the tradition, the grounds, the museum. Do not miss noon formation, truly something to see. Because of time limits and short attention spans of the kids we opted to skip the walking tour, but from the ones we passed, they seemed very worthwhile. We had a great meal in Drydock surrounded by Naval staff, and were blown away by the building it is in. Spend some time in the chapel, it is gorgeous. Allow plenty of time to get through security.

Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Naval Academy also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Naval Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing