We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U.S. Naval Academy

U.S. Naval Academy
121 Blake Road, Annapolis, MD 21402
(410) 293-8687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 37 Attractions in Annapolis
Type: Military Bases/ Facilities, Military Museums, Cultural
Activities: Hiking, Group tours/walking tour, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1845, this undergraduate college for the Navy prepares men and women to become professional officers in the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
431 reviews 431 reviews
167 attraction reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Access through Gate 1 not far from the Marina. For foreigners a passport is compulsory. Once in the visitor center you have a nice movie and the option of a 10$ guided tour which make the bucks. A former Marine makes a great 90 mins walk on the grounds with a lot of insights. The main building is impressive, as well as the entire compound. You can walk on the grounds unguided too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    177
    30
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“GOVERNMENT TRAINING FACILITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

There is nothing to dislike about our Federal Government so, where all the personnel are train is awesome to be around. If you know what I mean.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
165 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“memories...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

my dad is a grad and I almost went here (kept away by dreams of pro football career that lasted all of 2 preseason games... if you have kid in similar situation, tell them go to the academy), so this was trip down memory lane and it does not disappoint. many scenic points that are short stroll away... take a break from the road and a little walk

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“CVW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed at this hotel while my son participated in Candidate Visit Weekend. Great hotel, awesome proximity to Naval Academy

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An Annapolis "can't miss"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

There is so much to appreciate about the Naval Academy-- the tradition, the grounds, the museum. Do not miss noon formation, truly something to see. Because of time limits and short attention spans of the kids we opted to skip the walking tour, but from the ones we passed, they seemed very worthwhile. We had a great meal in Drydock surrounded by Naval staff, and were blown away by the building it is in. Spend some time in the chapel, it is gorgeous. Allow plenty of time to get through security.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Naval Academy also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Naval Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U.S. Naval Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.