We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“memories...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of U.S. Naval Academy

U.S. Naval Academy
121 Blake Road, Annapolis, MD 21402
(410) 293-8687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 41 Attractions in Annapolis
Type: Military Bases/ Facilities, Military Museums, Sights & Landmarks, Museums
Activities: Hiking, Group tours/walking tour, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1845, this undergraduate college for the Navy prepares men and women to become professional officers in the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
165 attraction reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“memories...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

my dad is a grad and I almost went here (kept away by dreams of pro football career that lasted all of 2 preseason games... if you have kid in similar situation, tell them go to the academy), so this was trip down memory lane and it does not disappoint. many scenic points that are short stroll away... take a break from the road and a little walk

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    185
    33
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Northport NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“CVW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed at this hotel while my son participated in Candidate Visit Weekend. Great hotel, awesome proximity to Naval Academy

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An Annapolis "can't miss"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

There is so much to appreciate about the Naval Academy-- the tradition, the grounds, the museum. Do not miss noon formation, truly something to see. Because of time limits and short attention spans of the kids we opted to skip the walking tour, but from the ones we passed, they seemed very worthwhile. We had a great meal in Drydock surrounded by Naval staff, and were blown away by the building it is in. Spend some time in the chapel, it is gorgeous. Allow plenty of time to get through security.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The place actually takes your breath away. The architecture is amazing. Memorial Hall and the Rotunda of Bancroft hall have some very cool things.... stories of heroes and sacrifices made kept my 15 year old son (who is not very easily impressed if it isn't a video game or have to do with lacrosse) totally silent as he made his way around the rooms. Some of the items around the grounds (for example the figurehead called "Tecumseh") have very cool stories behind them.

We caught a lacrosse game while we were there. The spirit and enthusiasm of the crowd and the team were incredible. I would imagine it is this way for all their sporting events. A fun experience.

Note the visitor center closes (I think at 5 pm) but you can still walk around the grounds. Bring your walking shoes as there is a lot of ground to cover.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

No other place like it! Beautiful campus-the chapel was decorated for Easter. Midshipmen everywhere and very helpful & polite. Museum with ship models & John Paul Jone's crypt was impressive. So close to downtown to cover all the sites!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Naval Academy also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Naval Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U.S. Naval Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.