We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CVW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U.S. Naval Academy

U.S. Naval Academy
121 Blake Road, Annapolis, MD 21402
(410) 293-8687
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$60*
and up
Annapolis City Segway Tour
Ranked #1 of 84 things to do in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Hiking, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1845, this undergraduate college for the Navy prepares men and women to become professional officers in the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps.
East Northport NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“CVW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed at this hotel while my son participated in Candidate Visit Weekend. Great hotel, awesome proximity to Naval Academy

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,003
    228
    41
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An Annapolis "can't miss"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

There is so much to appreciate about the Naval Academy-- the tradition, the grounds, the museum. Do not miss noon formation, truly something to see. Because of time limits and short attention spans of the kids we opted to skip the walking tour, but from the ones we passed, they seemed very worthwhile. We had a great meal in Drydock surrounded by Naval staff, and were blown away by the building it is in. Spend some time in the chapel, it is gorgeous. Allow plenty of time to get through security.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The place actually takes your breath away. The architecture is amazing. Memorial Hall and the Rotunda of Bancroft hall have some very cool things.... stories of heroes and sacrifices made kept my 15 year old son (who is not very easily impressed if it isn't a video game or have to do with lacrosse) totally silent as he made his way around the rooms. Some of the items around the grounds (for example the figurehead called "Tecumseh") have very cool stories behind them.

We caught a lacrosse game while we were there. The spirit and enthusiasm of the crowd and the team were incredible. I would imagine it is this way for all their sporting events. A fun experience.

Note the visitor center closes (I think at 5 pm) but you can still walk around the grounds. Bring your walking shoes as there is a lot of ground to cover.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

No other place like it! Beautiful campus-the chapel was decorated for Easter. Midshipmen everywhere and very helpful & polite. Museum with ship models & John Paul Jone's crypt was impressive. So close to downtown to cover all the sites!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Informative Walking Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We planned a weekend trip to Annapolis and knew we wanted to include a visit and tour to the Naval Academy. We would thoroughly recommend a walking tour. Our tour guide included alot of information to compliment the locations we visited and even had pictures of some of the events she spoke about. Well worth the time and money we spent.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Naval Academy also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Naval Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U.S. Naval Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.