We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Irish Boutique in the Heart of Annapolis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Irish Boutique in the Heart of Annapolis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

My husband and I, along with a colleague and his wife, stayed at the O'Callaghan in mid-January on business. Overall, it was a very good experience, and I would stay there again without hesitation. The staff is warm and friendly, the atmosphere is truly inviting and the rooms are spacious and comfortable.

Valet parking is $15.00/night, and there really is no other option for your vehicle, so that is something to keep in mind. However, as this hotel averages $100+ per night less than a handful of hotels nearby, I consider that a good trade-off.

A few things to keep in mind: Although there is a restaurant/lounge with room service, the hours are very restricted. I would use the term "room service" lightly, as it is more so translates to "We can bring you a sandwich and a fountain drink"; we heard several other customers complain about the lack of hours and options available through the lounge as well. On the plus side, you ARE only a short walk away from restaurants.

Secondly, a hotel directory would be a definite plus in the rooms. It is always nice having the hotel services outlined in a convenient binder, in addition to helpful information like restaurants that will deliver to the hotel, menus to the hotel's restaurant/lounge and hours for the hotel's different service offerings, like the business center, lounge and so forth. On the plus side, however, the front desk does have an interactive screen that allows you to search local establishments based on certain search preferences, which was great for discovering highlights of the local area.

Overall, The O'Callaghan is a lovely establishment and a place I would definitely stay at again. Between the extremely reasonable price point, location, beauty of the facility and incredible staff, it really it a gem in the heart of Annapolis.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Dear Guest from Washington State,

Thank you for your review and comments, we appreciate your praise of the staff. We have just reduced our restaurant hours, only temporarily for the winter as we are a little quieter, but do still have food available all day on the light fare menu. We have just re written our guest service directories to make sure they were current and they are back in the rooms now, sorry that this was missing during your stay.

We are glad you found us and hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    167
    86
    49
    24
See reviews for
118
220
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phillipsburg, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stayed at O'Callaghan on our recent trip for an event at US Naval Academy. The hotel is beautiful and our room was spotless. I don't know why there should be valet parking, however, which is $15.

The Naval Academy is close so we walked there during the day, but used the complimentary shuttle for our evening trip to and from the Academy. The driver was helpful and courteous. In fact the entire staff was very pleasant. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone considering a visit to Annapolis.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your comments and experiences. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got to use the shuttle to take you to the academy. Unfortunately, we are mandated by the city to only offer valet parking as our lot is pretty tight. However we do our best to keep it as affordable as possible.

We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

5 gold stars to O'Callaghan's! I was in town for a nice weekend and reserved a regular room. I called to find out about an upgrade to make the stay even more special. The upgrade to the king suite was so very worth it and we had the perfect get-away. The large balcony was perfect addition. The extra half bath was a nice extra.

The bedding was comfortable and the pillows heavenly. The sitting room was comfy and the room darkening shades made it perfect for late sleeping.

The bathroom is well appointed and very long hot showers were appreciated.

The desk staff were helpful and very nice. The valets were speedy and gracious.

Really the review about the TVs? When in Annapolis who wants to sit and with TV? They have full service TV if interested and really when it is time I m sure flat screens will replace the console TVs.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review. We are so glad you took advantage of the half price upgrades that we offer just before arrival and that you enjoyed the suite.

We'd love to see you back for valentines weekend!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

everything about our stay was fabulous. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and appreciated. The valet parking and shuttle service was a definite plus.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

This hotel was fantastic especially considering the proximity to down town/Naval Academy and the price. The staff was by far the most friendly that I have experienced in Annapolis. We travel to Annapolis a few times a year for my kids swim meets and have stayed at various places. This was our first stay here and definitely won't be our last. My only recomendation would be to request a room away from and exit stairwell as the door opening and shutting was super loud, other than that everything was great!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Wow, thank you!!

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, I will certainly monitor the noise by the stairwell as these are not meant to be in use unless in an emergency.

Thanks for your lovely review and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

We were able to find a spectacular deal on this hotel on Hotels.com and couldn't pass up the opportunity to stay in Historic Annapolis for our weekend away. The hotel itself is a small boutique hotel with little charm and no frills. However the service we experienced was high caliber and a pleasant surprise. The staff always went above and beyond when presented with a question or issue and always did so with a smile and a hint of Irish charm! Thank you for great service at an affordable rate. We will definitely return when in the Annapolis area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you so much for your very kind words about the team here, I will be sure to pass those on to everyone.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

We go to Annapolis once per year in December and stay here. We always get the one bedroom suite with large balcony, not that there is much use for it in December! But, we like the LARGE area to sit outside if we want to "chill out." We like the separate living area with own TV (and half bath!) andf the very large bedroom with own TV, desk, closet. Our biggest complaint is that the bed is very uncomfortable. We noticed this the past two years. Linens and mattress not soft/comfy, and they use hard as rock feather pillows. They also need to invest in a microwave oven. There is a fridge, but I would have loved to heat up my leftovers the next day for lunch, but no way to do so.

Overall, great value, I ended up paying a very small price for this room by watching on the Internet every day or so until the price was down. Way less than the rack rate...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for your review and for staying with us each year.
I am sorry you dont find the beds comfortable enough, the are actually orthopedic beds imported from Scandanvia - supposed to be the best for your back!

We have just also changed all our pillows, so I hope we might see you back before December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Address: 174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Irish Welcome awaits you in Historic Annapolis! Make us your home while you explore all the great attractions of this great city. Walk to everything or use our free shuttle around the downtown area. All rooms offer free high speed internet. Enjoy a great happy hour in the John Barry Bar! Meetings, weddings and private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
o Callaghan Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.