We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arlington, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Didn't know much about the hotel and read no reviews before visiting. We were in town for a wedding and had a great experience. Our room was clean, the valet parking and the staff were friendly and efficient. Really enjoyed the crab cake from the restaurant and the drinks were reasonable. Best thing was the location. Easy walking distance to everything. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Carol R,

The staff and are glad to hear that you had a great experience during your stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Best Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
410-263-7700 EXT. 7146
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    169
    88
    53
    25
See reviews for
122
230
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for. It was clean and modern, the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and there were great details like cucumber water in the lobby. Had a great stay, and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Kaye B,

We are glad to have met your expectations during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
410-263-7700 EXT. 7146
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed here the last week in july and loved it. The price was reasonable compared to the surrounding hotels. Your next to some great restaurants and the visitors center. We found the beds were comfortable and service outstanding. Especially the housekeeping staff keep up the smiles and friendly attitude ! Next trip to Annapolis we would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Had a king and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Anne C,

Thank you for the wonderful comments about our service and Housekeeping staff. We are pleased that you had a great stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Annapolis.

Best Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
410-263-7700 EXT. 7146
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our recent stay at the O'Callaghan was more disappointing that our last (twice this summer). I should have known better than to have booked a second visit at the hotel but we had to be in Annapolis twice for our son at USNA. The hotel needs a lot of renovating. The carpet was filthy in both of the rooms we stayed in. I'd hoped the first was just a fluke. The bedding is poor and the fitted sheet (is it fitted?) doesn't stay on the mattress. The pillows are thin and uncomfortable. The tubs in both rooms were old and permanently stained. The tiles could use some updating as well although they weren't too bad. The caulking had some mildew in both of the rooms. The counter tops and sinks look new and are nice. We left our room at 8:30AM one morning and returned at 1:30 so that our midshipman could take a badly needed nap. The room had not been cleaned. We had to forego service and let our son sleep. The other irritating thing about the hotel is the valet service. If you have to run in and out of your room several times a day/night you have to do valet. There's a $20 per day charge but you should count on at least a couple of dollars as well each time you have to ask for your car. It's very inconvenient. There are hotels in the area where you have access to your own vehicle any time you want. The hotel was a nice place to stay 5-10 years ago. The only plus was that the front desk personnel were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear TallieB,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you took the time to let us know where improvement is needed. We will strive to correct these items. If you wish to discuss your stay further and give us a chance to apologize with some meaning please contact me directly. We would love to have the opportunity to show we can deliver the guest experience one deserves.

Best Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
410-263-7700 EXT. 7146
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Spent a few days in March here on military business. Very welcoming, great rooms, service and food too. In fact the restaurant was reasonably priced and excellent food too !. Jools behind the bar was brilliant !, loved her sarcasm and sense of humour !, but I put that down to her being a fellow Brit !. Everyone in this hotel seemed to me to be extremely hard working and passionate about working here, really great to see. My colleagues and I will most definitely stay here again, I would certainly bring my family back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear rickcarnall241,

Thank you for the comments about our staff. I will be sure to pass along the great comments about Joolz to her. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Annapolis.

Best Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

As my review title says, this is truly the worst hotel in Annapolis. Aside from one gracious employee, the front desk staff was not only completely ungracious but completely unprofessional and unethical. Literally a hotel from Hell. Trust the bad reviews and don't be fooled as we were, as the good reviews are the exception not the rule.

Please be advised that we are world travelers and we visit Annapolis quite often. We usually stay mostly at the higher end hotels in Annapolis: Loews, Westin and Waterfront Marriott, which are all wonderful, as they give credence to the fact that Annapolis is not only one of our most treasured landmarks but also one of the most genteel towns in America. Unfortunately, due to the July 4th holiday weekend; those hotels were all booked and we were forced to stay at the O'Callaghan. However, even when we stayed at 3 star hotels in Annapolis like the Residence Inn Marriott and others, never have we been treated how we were treated at the O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel.

From the time we arrived, it was complete mayhem and we repeatedly received horrible treatment from an unprofessional front desk staff. When we attempted to check in, my husband was rudely told that check in is not until 3:00pm, although, when we booked the hotel several hours earlier, he was told on the phone to come right over and that they would have a room ready for us when we arrived. Unfortunately, we did not get the name of the rude woman at the front desk. For lack of a better description, I can say that she was African American and had short hair. She rudely told us that she could do nothing for us but that she would call us as soon as our room was available and that it would be no more than an hour. It was bad enough that after we drove all the way over there and were not able to check in but we were also forced to wait in line approximately 15 minutes just to be told. Despite, she didn't even apologize. We thought it was very strange to be told that she could not check us in because several other guests were being checked in.

We left and waited over an hour for her call but she didn't have the decency to keep her word and call us back as she said she would. So, approximately, over an hour after our first attempt to check in, we went back to the hotel and attempted to check in a second time. When we arrived, once again, there were several other guests checking in even though she never called us to check in. Once again, it was complete mayhem at the front desk, as they were unable to accommodate the guests arriving and could not handle the task of checking guests in. Again, we were forced to wait so long just to be checked in and the valet was nowhere to be found. When we finally got up to the front desk, the same rude woman was there. We told her that we had been waiting for over an hour for her call us back but since we didn't hear from her, we came back to check in. She didn't validate that she failed to call us back and again just said we still don't have a room available. I said, if that's the case, why are you repeatedly checking other guests in? She gave me a dirty look and in an extremely condescending tone of voice said check-in is at 3:00pm. We responded by again saying that when we called to book the room, we were told to come right over that our room would be ready but despite, several hours later, a room supposedly was still not ready for us. Although, she told us that check-in was supposed to be no earlier than at 3:00pm, as I said, she was checking in several guests before us despite both times. We noticed that the first time we arrived an hour earlier that several guests were being checked in and also an hour later, so her argument didn't hold up. At that point, we deduced that possibly we were being treated differently than other guests because we booked the room on Priceline? We will never know but if that's the case, that's discriminatory in nature to treat guests differently. We were basically treated like second class citizens and that we were less important to them than all of their other guests. It was horrible to realize this.

I pointed out to her that she told us that our room wasn't available when we first attempted to check in, although, several other guests were checked in despite what she told us and we were now being told a second time that we could not check in, even though other guests were being checked in. In a very rude tone of voice, she now told us that we had to come back a third time to be checked in. We couldn't believe what we were hearing.

Not at any point did she apologize to us for not being able to check us in or for not calling us back but she then had the audacity to debate us further in front of other guests which was extremely embarrassing. We continued to ask the question, if that's the case that check-in is at 3:00pm, then why were we told on the phone in the morning that a room was ready and to come right over and why are you checking all these other guests in when you have repeatedly told us that you don't have a room ready for us even though they were checked into the same size room? She had no answers for our questions and rolled her eyes up at us while looking over at another front desk employee. We said, you have repeatedly told us that check-in is at 3:00pm but yet you checked in several guests an hour earlier and before us then and now again but we're still being told that we can't check in and that you don't have a room ready..this is not acceptable.

Not at only point did she apologize or even offer to hold our luggage or do anything to accommodate us. As a result of all of their mistakes, we had been forced to wander around Annapolis in 90 degree plus weather unable to check into our hotel for several hours and repeatedly subjected to this horrible treatment at the front desk each time we attempted to check in. This person was not only extremely rude and unprofessional but she appeared to be completely over her head, inexperienced and untrained in general, as she did not possess anywhere near the professional demeanor that front desk hotel staffs typically display.

At that point, we'd had enough and I asked to speak to the manager. The assistant manager named Jacqui came over. We couldn't believe it but she was even ruder than the first woman. Like the other woman, she was extremely confrontational and kept debating us on what we were told on the phone. In front of a long line of guests, she proceeded to embarrass us asking us repeatedly who did you speak to when you called and booked the room? You're not telling me who you spoke to. You have not told me who you spoke to. It was nothing less than an interrogation. We responded by saying: we've been asked three times who we spoke to and although, we told you that we don't have his name, you keep asking us the same exact question again! We couldn't believe what we were now being put through by the assistant manager! Instead of apologizing and rectifying the situation, she badgered us relentlessly. At this point, it was approaching 3:00pm and a good part of our day was already ruined by this front desk staff and our day was slipping away and we missed a tour we were supposed to go on at the Naval Academy. If we had booked the room with them directly, we would have just left and denied the charge if we had been treated in this manner but since we booked it with Priceline, we had no choice but to stay.

We had been pushed to the limit at that point and asked to speak to the manager immediately. The manager (the only professional and rational staff member that we encountered, a gentleman in a gray suit, black hair finally came over. I didn't get his name either but he had black hair and black frame glasses. I explained everything to him and how we were told on the phone at approximately 10:00am to come right over and that our room would be ready. We were also told that the room would be on the top floor but that when we arrived (at approximately 1:00pm), not only could we not check in but we were also debated on the fact that we were told that we could not have a queen sized bed on the top floor as we were promised by the man on the phone who booked the room. I relayed how after two attempts, we were told that we could still not check in over an hour after we initially attempted to check in and that the woman at the front desk promised to call us back but never did. He said that he had several rooms available and that he could check us in immediately. I felt like I was going crazy at this point and could not believe what I was hearing since he said the complete opposite of what we were told by the other rude front desk employee and the assistant manger Jacqui. So, that proved that the assistant manager Jacqui and the woman we spoke to both times at the front desk not only lied to us but that she acted in an unethical manner telling us that she could not check us in because she supposedly had no rooms available when if fact, there were rooms available. After the manager checked us in and we were walking away, I turned back to see the woman laughing to another employee behind the manager's back. Again, we couldn't believe what we were seeing! It wasn't enough what she put us through but when we objected and asked for the manager, she proceeded to laugh at us with the co-worker.

Aside from this outrageous experience and the completely unacceptable treatment we received from the entire front staff, aside from the manager, as far as the description of the hotel goes, know that the hotel was very noisy and overall, extremely shabby and dingy looking, so even if you decide to stay there and are treated better than we were, you should also beware of this unfortunate fact. It included but was not limited to the following, carpet had multiple stains and ground in dirt, clogged sink, peeling wall paper, chips on furniture and horrible beds with springs popping through, etc. As bad as the room was, we could have possibly overlooked all that if we were treated well but we were not treated in anything close to what you would call an acceptable manner. For reference, we stayed in Room 521.

If matters couldn't get any worse, there's still more. When we arrived back at the hotel in the evening, the front desk staff just stared at us when we arrived. Not only did they not welcome us with a smile and a good evening, as most normal hotels would but they did not even acknowledge our existence which made us feel most unwelcome. Obviously, we were now being retaliated against for making a complaint to the manage. We could not believe what we were subjected to ongoing by this staff. This treatment is beyond bad service, this was harassing and discriminatory in nature. One would think that after all we were put through that possibly we would have been greeted with a smile and a good evening and that there would be free drink vouchers in our room or something but not even close, it just got worse and worse.

Our experience made us think of the reality show Undercover Boss and whether or not the owner ever reads Trip Advisor reviews to know how the guests are being treated. I know if I was the owner of a hotel, I would. If the owner of the O'Callaghan Hotel ever saw how we were treated, I am certain that they would take immediate measures to replace the staff immediately. If the front desk staff is not replaced immediately, they will no doubt run this hotel out of business due to their ill treatment of customers, which would actually be a blessing.

Simply point, we did not receive acceptable treatment at the O'Callaghan Hotel. The O'Callaghan Hotel doesn't understand that guests simply don't like staying in hotels where the staff demeans them. This place doesn't deserve to be in the same town as the Naval Academy.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryant D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Dear PAHiker,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are sorry to hear about your disappointing stay at our property. It is the basic expectation of any guest to be treated fairly and courteously during your stay. We hope to be given to opportunity to sway your opinion in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed here about 2 weeks ago. We thought the rooms were great. The staff was friendly and the location was terrfic. We could walk to resturants and downtown Annapolis in less than 5 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear 52_crackers,

Thank you for the gracious review. The staff and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forwarded to having you back as our guest.

Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Address: 174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Irish Welcome awaits you in Historic Annapolis! Make us your home while you explore all the great attractions of this great city. Walk to everything or use our free shuttle around the downtown area. All rooms offer free high speed internet. Enjoy a great happy hour in the John Barry Bar! Meetings, weddings and private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
o Callaghan Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.