We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Annapolis and O'Callaghan Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First time to Annapolis and O'Callaghan Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Had a great experience at the O'Callaghan! Arrived for the First Sunday Street Festival which was just down the street from the hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed it. There is a free trolley you can catch in front of the hotel which made getting around extremely easy and convenient. We took a bus tour of Annapolis (worthwhile) on the first day from the Visitors Center and then spent the entire second day touring the Naval Academy. The downtown area is on the water and full of life! We ate at Armadillos which offered something for everyone.

The O'Callaghan was our home base for three days and we were happy to stay there. Our room was clean and available for check-in as soon as we arrived. We were given two queen beds as requested and the free Wi-Fi worked well. The housekeeping staff honored our request for changing the towels but not the sheets. The air conditioning kept a constant cool temperature and the beds were comfortable. We had a few extras included in our Travelzoo offer so had it not been for them, we would not have found the O'Callaghan. We would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Be F,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Annapolis.

Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    168
    87
    51
    25
See reviews for
122
225
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We arrived July 3rd and requested a king size bed. we got 2 queen beds. We didn't leave the room unit 1230pm on the 4th and left the tag for a cleaning service and returned to the room with No cleaning service at all. Beds not made. No clean towels etc. We left for dinner at 5pm and went to the restaurant in the hotel. The waitress was also the bar tender and the only one serving everyone. She was gracious and apologetic to everyone - however - with the parade outside of the hotel to begin in an hour people were flocking in the the 1/2 price happy hour foods and drinks. No bar b que shrimp or chicken wings were available. We stayed here last July 4th and it was awesome !! It was the main resin we returned again. I may not come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear MaryGrace61,

Please accept our apology for the inconvenience we caused you doing your stay. We thank you for taking the time to let us know where we need to improve. If you would like to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on a groupon and was not impressed. I would definitely not go here again as there are a ton of better options. There are a ton of cute B&Bs and the Westin looked amazing. Basically it was dark, dreary and in disrepair. The soap dish was hanging off the wall in the shower and the tile caulk work was is great disrepair. My refrigerator made terrible sounds. There was a very ugly mirrored closet door. My room was at the end of a very dark (almost too dark to find the door) hallway. It turned out a light bulb was burnt out in the hallway ceiling and I asked for it to be fixed, but it never was. Also, to park at the hotel they require valet and its $20, so add that to your bill upfront. Finally, my only window had a view of the trashcans and an alley/parking area.

On the plus side, it was very close to downtown and the water (less than a mile from basically everything in downtown Annapolis). It was clean and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear kristinawm,

Please accept our apology for your experience during your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know where we need to improve. If you would like to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My family took advantage of reduced-price vouchers online in January for this hotel in anticipation of an event in July. We had never stayed here before and really knew nothing about the facility. We were greeted warmly by the entire staff, enjoyed rooms side-by-side as promised, and had delightful service and food in the restaurant (delicious dinner and hot buffet breakfast). The kids, being kids, were disappointed that there was no swimming pool, but we adults appreciated the easy walk to the harbor area and the accessibility to several places we wanted to visit. Yes, we would most definitely stay at the O'Callaghan again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Susanne623,

Thank you for the kind review of the staff and hotel. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Annapolis.

Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My previous stay here was highlighted by multiple used condom wrappers in the nightstand. Problem is the staff was excellent. Room kinda dirty, but, again, great staff. So we decide to return. Absolutely filthy room/carpet, (carpet was disgusting) toilet wont flush anything down,(called maintenance-no change) mirror in the bathroom busted and ready to fall off; pillows were horrible, air conditioning unit that sounded like a 747 and the staff did not have the same effect on me as before. Get my valet parked car and the entire thing is covered in some type of sap from a tree??? turned on to the street into the sun and was blinded when I tried to wash it off with the wipers. I really like older hotels, but, alas, next trip to a show at Rams Head we'll be staying at Loews or Marriott for a couple bucks more money but at least they hold the bar a bit higher.

Room Tip: No idea, go to Loews two blocks down or Marriott on the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear jim b,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write the review of the hotel. We appreciate you letting us know our short falls and where improvement is needed. We will work to correct these items immediately. We plan to refurbish our facility very soon. Should you wish to discuss your stay any further, please contact me directly. I do apologize for the inordinate amount of condition items you pointed out. Please accept my apologies for your inconvenience.

Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We all met in Annapolis-centrally located and my brother reserved our rooms here. It is elegant but not fussy and in a good location-15 minute walk to the marina or the complementary trolley stops right in front of the hotel. Extremely pleasant and helpful staff; Jackie (?), at the front desk, was informative and friendly. Our rooms were clean and nice and the complementary coffee in the lobby was appreciated. My mother and I shared a suite, which was nice (huge patio!!), but we thought it odd that it did not have a fold out couch in the sitting room-no big deal, but we had to do some room juggling so my brother and his daughter(18 years old) were not sleeping in the one bed together (eek!). Our one breakfast at the hotel (we didn't do the buffet, but I guess that is what is offered on the weekends) was good, but a block and half west in Miss Shirley's, an Annapolis icon-yummy, interesting food! FYI-no good parking options, it seems, in Annapolis. Although the hotel valet is $20/day, it was convenient and, it seems, a decent value for the area. We enjoyed our stay here and would return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear rnerin,

We are pleased that we meet your needs while you and your family stayed with us. I will pass on your comments to the staff and Jackie. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay in Annapolis.

Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The location is the key to O'Callaghan. Easy to walk anywhere you want to go from here. Rooms clean, ours was quiet, service was also good. Loved that we didn't have to worry about parking too. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear DRL615,

Thanks for the great review. We look forward to serving your lodging needs the next time you are in Annapolis.

Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Address: 174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Irish Welcome awaits you in Historic Annapolis! Make us your home while you explore all the great attractions of this great city. Walk to everything or use our free shuttle around the downtown area. All rooms offer free high speed internet. Enjoy a great happy hour in the John Barry Bar! Meetings, weddings and private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
o Callaghan Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.