We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My family took advantage of reduced-price vouchers online in January for this hotel in anticipation of an event in July. We had never stayed here before and really knew nothing about the facility. We were greeted warmly by the entire staff, enjoyed rooms side-by-side as promised, and had delightful service and food in the restaurant (delicious dinner and hot buffet breakfast). The kids, being kids, were disappointed that there was no swimming pool, but we adults appreciated the easy walk to the harbor area and the accessibility to several places we wanted to visit. Yes, we would most definitely stay at the O'Callaghan again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Susanne623,

Thank you for the kind review of the staff and hotel. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Annapolis.

Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    167
    86
    49
    24
See reviews for
118
220
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
King George, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My previous stay here was highlighted by multiple used condom wrappers in the nightstand. Problem is the staff was excellent. Room kinda dirty, but, again, great staff. So we decide to return. Absolutely filthy room/carpet, (carpet was disgusting) toilet wont flush anything down,(called maintenance-no change) mirror in the bathroom busted and ready to fall off; pillows were horrible, air conditioning unit that sounded like a 747 and the staff did not have the same effect on me as before. Get my valet parked car and the entire thing is covered in some type of sap from a tree??? turned on to the street into the sun and was blinded when I tried to wash it off with the wipers. I really like older hotels, but, alas, next trip to a show at Rams Head we'll be staying at Loews or Marriott for a couple bucks more money but at least they hold the bar a bit higher.

Room Tip: No idea, go to Loews two blocks down or Marriott on the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear jim b,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write the review of the hotel. We appreciate you letting us know our short falls and where improvement is needed. We will work to correct these items immediately. We plan to refurbish our facility very soon. Should you wish to discuss your stay any further, please contact me directly. I do apologize for the inordinate amount of condition items you pointed out. Please accept my apologies for your inconvenience.

Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, fl
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We all met in Annapolis-centrally located and my brother reserved our rooms here. It is elegant but not fussy and in a good location-15 minute walk to the marina or the complementary trolley stops right in front of the hotel. Extremely pleasant and helpful staff; Jackie (?), at the front desk, was informative and friendly. Our rooms were clean and nice and the complementary coffee in the lobby was appreciated. My mother and I shared a suite, which was nice (huge patio!!), but we thought it odd that it did not have a fold out couch in the sitting room-no big deal, but we had to do some room juggling so my brother and his daughter(18 years old) were not sleeping in the one bed together (eek!). Our one breakfast at the hotel (we didn't do the buffet, but I guess that is what is offered on the weekends) was good, but a block and half west in Miss Shirley's, an Annapolis icon-yummy, interesting food! FYI-no good parking options, it seems, in Annapolis. Although the hotel valet is $20/day, it was convenient and, it seems, a decent value for the area. We enjoyed our stay here and would return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear rnerin,

We are pleased that we meet your needs while you and your family stayed with us. I will pass on your comments to the staff and Jackie. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay in Annapolis.

Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The location is the key to O'Callaghan. Easy to walk anywhere you want to go from here. Rooms clean, ours was quiet, service was also good. Loved that we didn't have to worry about parking too. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear DRL615,

Thanks for the great review. We look forward to serving your lodging needs the next time you are in Annapolis.

Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel served it's purpose for our one night stay in Annapolis. It's within walking distance to the City Dock area of the city and on the same street as many great restaurants and bars. However, the location is the only positive comment I have for this hotel along with it pricing itself below the Westin and Loews. The decor in the room is extremely outdated and the furnishings were so minimal the room felt empty. When we arrived every drawer in the nightstand and dresser were pulled open, which I never encountered in any other hotel. The wallpaper was peeling in certain areas and the carpets had a stains throughout. The bathroom only had a half roll of toilet paper so we needed to call housekeeping for more toilet paper. I also found the wifi connection to be poor as I was disconnected multiple times. I expected much more from a hotel that cost $300 a night. I realize we paid for location and a weekend in June, but the hotel needs to feel more inviting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear IRun2Eat,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for the condition of the room you stayed in, the poor internet connection and the housekeeping issues. We take your comments seriously and will strive to correct all. We are sorry for the inconvenience this must have caused you. If you wish to discuss your stay with us further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Really a wonderful location for walking the downtown Annapolis area. Our room was nice but could have really used a good vacuuming. The front staff was just ok! Had more luck talking with the Valet. The best was the lovely English lady working the bar & restaurant. She was great!
Yes I would recommend staying here but then I didn't really check out their competition.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Colleen D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Thank you for also letting us know where improvement is needed.

Regards,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

bought a package from Travel Zoo. pleasantly surprised with the hotel had never been in that part of town. friendly staff, very clean hotel, delightful happy hour Next time in. Annapolis we will definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear jelco40,

The staff and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for your comments about the hotel and staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Address: 174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Irish Welcome awaits you in Historic Annapolis! Make us your home while you explore all the great attractions of this great city. Walk to everything or use our free shuttle around the downtown area. All rooms offer free high speed internet. Enjoy a great happy hour in the John Barry Bar! Meetings, weddings and private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
o Callaghan Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.