We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Preakness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Annapolis
Glocester, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pre-Preakness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Second year for our Pimlico Six. Convenient with free shuttle that goes by often and takes you pretty much anywhere. There is an additional daily parking and or valet charge not included at time of booking through hotels.com.....

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear tomdan55,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next year for during the Preakness.

Sincerely,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    163
    84
    46
    24
See reviews for
117
217
22
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Reasonably priced and decent location. The accommodations are clean and tidy. The beds were very comfortable and we slept well. Decent location on West Street, quick cab downtown, but also a nice walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear adventurefamily05,

It was a pleasure to serve you during your most recent stay. Thank you for the kind words about our facility. I appreciate the great review.

Sincerely,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The staff was courteous and attentive and handled all requests promptly and efficiently.

We were within walking distance of the main attractions and downtown services.

However, the shower and bathroom were somewhat dirty and needed attention.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Rick D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate that you also let us know the negative and we will work to correct this issue. We hope to see you when you are in Annapolis again.

Sincerely,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Pleasant staff. Easy check in/check out. Room clean. Bathroom clean and while not large was sufficiently spacious to accommodate our family of 4. Room was initially missing. TV remote and room phone. The staff took care of replacing these items in a timely manner. Valet parking was well done. Very little wait time until car was retrieved. Since valet parking is required--no self park option--room pricing should include that. Instead it is an additional fee on the bill. Still worth the price, however. Restaurant pleasant. Not a large menu but adequate given there are many restaurant choices in the area. They were able to accommodate us when we needed a 2:30 midday meal. Would stay here again if looking for a hotel that was in Annapolis without being in the mayhem if Market Place.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear mmg4,

The staff and I thank you for your kind review. Please visit us again if in Annapolis.

Sincerely,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

When my family and I checked into the hotel, our reservations had been mixed up. We were so fortunate to work with Jacque and Henry at the front desk. They were true professionals in their patience and customer service as we had four rooms reserved. I truly appreciated their positive attitudes.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Wynnstorm,

Thank you for the positive review. We are proud to have service experts like Jacque and Henry on our staff. I will pass on your comments to them. We look forward to serving you again when in Annapolis.

Sincerely,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skillman, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The rooms were a nice size and were basically quiet. It was about a 15 minute walk to US Naval Academy. There was an Art festival on the Sunday we arrived (first Sunday of every month). The hotel does not have a gift shop nor morning newspapers. They do have an excellent buffet breakfast. Parking is a little steep at $20 a night.

Room Tip: High floor to rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Ed W,

Thank you for the kind review on our facility. I appreciate you staying with us. Please come back.

Sincerely,
Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the O'Callaghan this week and were totally blown away with everything about it ~ from the moment we drove into the covered reception area until we said good-bye at the check-out desk. Valet parking made our stay easy, and we never needed our car until we were ready to leave. There is a free trolly that picks up and lets off at the hotel or anywhere you flag it down along its route. The rooms are large, comfortable, and beautifully appointed with fine finishes that make it look more expensive than it is. The very friendly staff works together as a team quite congenially in order to make their guests feel welcome. We enjoyed a half price variety of delicious ors'devours and wine at happy hour and a breakfast buffet and/or menu orders that were well prepared. Annapolis is a lovely town to explore, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting there. Don't miss a tour of the Naval Academy and a formation of Mid-shipmen if available during your stay.

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms on 3rd floor. One overlooking the street with 2 king beds, the other with 2 q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear lovetotravel74cmf,

Our staff and I would like to thank you for the wonderful review about the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Robert Russell
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
robert.russell@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Address: 174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Irish Welcome awaits you in Historic Annapolis! Make us your home while you explore all the great attractions of this great city. Walk to everything or use our free shuttle around the downtown area. All rooms offer free high speed internet. Enjoy a great happy hour in the John Barry Bar! Meetings, weddings and private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
o Callaghan Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.