We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
E. Greenville, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

First time visitors to Annapolis, and this town was recommended as a "one tank trip". We booked here as price was mid-range. Not sure what we would discover, but it was clean, staff was very helpful and friendly and for the money - it was well worth it. Bar area and breakfast was very nice. Complimentary shuttle was great, as we did quite a bit of walking. Had considered more expensive places to stay - but was glad I didn't! - was just right for us.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, Director of Sales and Marketing at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, September 9, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel and we are delighted you enjoyed your time here. As an independant hotel we always appreciate it when someone takes a chance on us and are glad you felt it a good choice.

We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    178
    89
    55
    25
See reviews for
124
240
28
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mays Landing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

this hotel is by far the best place to stay in annapolis. very clean, great location, very friendly..everyone welcomes you as if they known you all your life..when you check in they are very polite & go out of their way to make you feel welcome. the rooms are nicely decorated & have all the amenities you need. the bar off the lobby is like being at "cheers" the bartender gets everyone involved in conversations with each other & laughing you don't want the night to end. the food is very tasty & they make sure you are happy with your selection. room service is better then any 5 star hotel i ever stayed. i called for more pillows & they were there in less the 5 minutes.. valet had the car in front before we even got downstairs.. sally hughes is the general manager & she is one of the sweetest, nicest people you can meet. she runs a very classy hotel & she is very hands on with everything. i will be going back again real soon & will only stay at this hotel..you can't go wrong..

  • Liked — friendly,clean,location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, Director of Sales and Marketing at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, September 9, 2008
Thank you so much for your lovely comments - it means so much that you call us 5 Star!

Sally is a great General Manager and we appreciate you recognising her, she spends most of her time praising others!

Please do come back and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

My husband and I needed a place to stay while attending the Annapolis Sailing School. This place was less than 5 miles away from the marina, which is why we focused in on this resort.
Lucky for us, they were offering a summer special, so the value was an added bonus.

We arrived early and after a warm welcome from the gentleman at the front desk, he had us all taken care of in no time and off we were to our room, (prior to check-in time), nice! The valet service was top notch also-no wait.

Our room was not large by any means, but perfectly comfortable and clean for two(2) adults. When it came to the bedding itself, I thought the sheets were nice and soft, pillows good, however if I had to complain about anything it would be the blankets. Not soft, and worn out. No big deal.

The location of this hotel is great. We never needed our car after our classes. We walked to dinner every night and there are numerous restaurants, pubs and bars within walking distance to choose from. My absolute favorite this trip was the Lemon Grass, and it just so happened to be right across the street. The pad thai is to die for.

The hotel staff we came across were all friendly. We did take advantage of the free shuttle service to Eastport one evening. What a great service. We just mentioned this to the front desk, and within minutes we had a nice young man drive us over. I do have to say a special thank you to Priscilla. We enjoyed chatting with you at the bar and appreciated all your restaurant recommendations.

In summary, we would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Blankets
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, Director of Sales and Marketing at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 6, 2008
Thank you for your review and your kind comments about the staff and in particular Precilla, I will make sure she gets a copy of your review.

We are looking at changing our bed linen over to duvet's later this year, but we will certainly take a look at our blankets, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope you had a good time Sailing in Annapolis and will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

Our family stayed here 3 nights to explore Annapolis. I really liked this hotel. It had a slightly European feel to it, a nice medium sized 4 floor hotel. All employees encountered (several from Ireland) were pleasant and welcoming. We had a balcony which was nice to have breakfast on and gave us a space to hang out after the children went to bed. . The beds were comfy, the bathroom clean,fridge useful. It was walking distance to the harbor and West Street has many eateries. The hotel runs a courtesy shuttle to drop you anywhere in Annapolis, a good option in the heat, although as our kids are still in booster seats we didn't use it. Housekeeping was good, although when retriving a sock under the bed, it could have used a good vacumning. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Small, private European feel at reasonable prices
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, Director of Sales and Marketing at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 6, 2008
Thank you for your wonderful comments and feedback. I am glad you got to enjoy one of our balcony rooms.

It is so nice that you noticed our European look, we imported all the furniture and fixtures from Ireland and Europe especially.

You comments on housekeeping are much appreciate and will be acted upon.

Thanks again and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

Stayed for a quick weekend getaway. Location is not right in the heart of Annapolis; an easy walk to a number of restaurants, shops and pubs, quite a hike to City Dock and USNA.

The rooms were HUGE, well appointed and well finished. Top notch. Staff is friendly and attentive.

We had a fifth floor room, and I believe the ballroom was on the fourth. Could hear music from a wedding reception in the evening, albeit muffled. I found it pleasant and amusing, others may be annoyed.

In hotel breakfast options limited to a somewhat pricey and limited buffet. Not much else open nearby, though a lot is being built.

  • Liked — Size and quality of rooms
  • Disliked — Location near, but not in the heart of things
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, DIrector of Sales and Marketing at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 6, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel and for your positive feedback.
We share this with the staff and they always love to hear good things!
Just so that you know for future visits, we offer a complimentary shuttle around the local area, so if you dont feel like walking to or from the city dock area, we are happy to bring you. It operates on demand, to suit your schedule.

We will take your breakfast comments on board, but we do also have a menu as well as the buffet if you prefer a smaller meal.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

This place was a great deal. The location is perfect-about a 1/2 mile from the harbor area-near the Westin and Lowes Hotel. We booked through Expedia and although it was in the middle of summer got a great rate for under $100.00 (weeknight). We had compared a few other hotels in the area and all were looking for $250 or if on the harbor (like the Marriott) over $300 per night.

The room was extremely nice-impeccably clean. Only downside-no bellman (we checked in late) and there was only one soda/water machine and it was out of order. Also, there was not a refrigerator in the room. Staff was friendly and helpful and although we did not frequent the restaurant-it looked very nice.

We would definitely stay here again. What a neat spot.

  • Liked — cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — no vending machine
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, Director of Sales and Marketing at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 6, 2008
Thank you for your review and your kind comments, they are much appreciated.
We do have a new vending machine which is working perfectly, thank you for bringing that to our attention.

We are also happy to offer refrigerators on request, so please ask for one for your next visit.

Thank you again for chosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the O'Callaghan during the entire USNA Commisioning Week 2008. Our large family had many people with lots of different needs. The hotel staff was very attentive and responsive. Very friendly and pleasant. The hotel helped us with our group planning and it worked out beautifully.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, Director of Sales at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, June 10, 2008
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to post them on tripadvisor.

Congratulations on your son / daughters graduation and we hope that you will continue to visit Annapolis and stay with us.

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Address: 174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Irish Welcome awaits you in Historic Annapolis! Make us your home while you explore all the great attractions of this great city. Walk to everything or use our free shuttle around the downtown area. All rooms offer free high speed internet. Enjoy a great happy hour in the John Barry Bar! Meetings, weddings and private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and BookIt.com so you can book your O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
o Callaghan Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.