We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a wonderful stay and hospitality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just a wonderful stay and hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My son and I recently stayed at the O'Callaghan in Annapolis. The location is fantastic. The rooms well appointed. The front staff fantastic. Jacque, at the front desk, made our stay extra special. Her restaurant recommendations and just sheer hospitality was fantastic. This will be the only hotel for us when visiting Annapolis. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear RJKDPM,

It was a pleasure to serve you and your son at our hotel. Thank you for the stellar review and kind words about Jacque. I am very pleased that we will be your hotel when visiting Annapolis.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    178
    89
    55
    25
See reviews for
124
240
28
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few times in my travels as a professional musician. The front desk is VERY accommodating to my needs on each visit and have gone out of their way to make sure my stay is the best.

Location is great and breakfast is excellent.

You can really find a great deal on this place if you try. I have paid as low of about $80 to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear SalErgrapes,

Thank you for the great review about your experience at our front desk. We are glad you tried our new breakfast menu as well. I will pass on your comments to our team as they will appreciate your acknowledgement of a job well done.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Annapolis very much! the O'Callaghn hotel was very clean, the staff was helpful and the location was convenient. Keeping our car at the hotel and using the free trolley shuttle right across the street was awesome! there is no shortage of great places to eat on the area. Fairly reasonable rates. The O'Callaghan is a very nice place, quite close but not in the middle of the Annapolis action. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear MMraf,

Thank you for the five star review. I appreciate that you will stay with us again in the future. You are correct, there is a ton of restaurants close by. However, we have changed our menus and chef and hope you will join us in The John Barry restaurant on your next trip.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Arkansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

hotel is in great location with local free shuttle to downtown close by. When we arrived, the valet was very polite and helpful, as was the front desk. Check-in was a breeze and our room was great. The location was wonderful and within walking distance to everything.

Loved the fruit infused ice water available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Used the trip advisor special rate to get a great discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Lalaw8888,
Thank you for the fantastic review and kind words about our staff. We are very fortunate to have the free trolley service to help our guests get around Annapolis. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel is upscale and centrally located on a eclectic exciting street in Annapolis Everyone from the front desk staff to the concierge was helpful and friendly during my stay. While hubby was in biz meetings during the day, I was able to explore Annapolis by foot.. It is a VERY foot traffic friendly city. With the excellent location of the hotel, you can literally just walk out the front door and explore the beautiful city

Annapolis also utilizes golf cart type vehicles for taxis which help expedite travel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear MarybethR,

I appreciate the five star review on our hotel and location. Annapolis is a great city and the downtown trolley makes it easy to get around. We are very fortunate to be a walkable city to enjoy. Please come back,
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everything was wonderful. The hotel was beautiful as was the restaurant and the breakfast was delicious. The rooms were comfy and once we got to our room with my sister who is a plebe this year, she slept for a few hours and said the bed was very comfortable. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and its location is very close to the US Naval Academy. The only thing that I had a problem with is that it is a bit expensive and then adding valet parking well even more money... other than that... I can only say I really enjoyed my stay with my family to go visit my sister at the US Naval Academy. :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear jojocandy,

Thank you for the five star review. It was a pleasure to serve you over the plebe parent weekend. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent my birthday weekend at O'Callaghan Hotel the weekend of August 23-25, and we had a wonderful stay. In a world where customer service and interaction can be lacking, the folks at this hotel were just the opposite, and made us feel very welcome everytime we saw them. I even had "Happy Birthday" sung to me when I was walking through the lobby on my birthday by Jacque & Marshall, and Matt sent birthday cake to our room. We'd never stayed at O'Callaghan Hotel before, but are glad we did. Beautiful hotel, clean & comfortable rooms, nice restaurant, bar area. And close enough to the downtown area to walk and burn off a few calories on the way if we didn't want to ride the free bus.Next time we're in Annapolis we will saty there again - we'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear GJL31,
I am glad our staff was able to celebrate your birthday with you. It is a pleasure to receive such high marks for your stay. I am very pleased that you will be back and recommend us.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Address: 174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Irish Welcome awaits you in Historic Annapolis! Make us your home while you explore all the great attractions of this great city. Walk to everything or use our free shuttle around the downtown area. All rooms offer free high speed internet. Enjoy a great happy hour in the John Barry Bar! Meetings, weddings and private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and BookIt.com so you can book your O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
o Callaghan Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.