We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard rooms, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Standard rooms, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights the last weekend of July to see a show at the Ram’s Head down the road & to visit friends who live in Annapolis.
Location:
The location was great for us. Very close to the Ram’s Head venue and also a short walk to the Bay. There is a free shuttle available but, it was beautiful weather so we chose to walk.
Room:
The bed and bedding were very comfortable. It was nice to have a small refrigerator to store beverages and/ or left overs - especially since there are such great restaurants in Annapolis. The room was very clean but I did notice a slight musty smell. The first night we noticed the a/c unit was very loud. If fact, it woke me up several times with a banging noise each time it turned on. I chopped it up to it being an older unit. The second morning of our stay (while I was packing), I noticed a large spot of water on the rug near the unit. It was obviously broken which would explain the musty smell and loud noise.
Staff:
Everyone was very pleasant from the valet, to the front desk clerks. The bartender, Mark, was wonderful! He gave us several recommendations to the sights and restaurants around Annapolis. It was like talking to an old friend. He is definitely an asset to the O’Callaghan!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear kysdisease1,
Thank you for the comments on the attributes of our hotel. I appreciate the kind words about our staff, especially Mark and will pass your review on to him. Please come back. Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    168
    87
    51
    25
See reviews for
122
225
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel two Fridays ago and out stay was wonderful. Very friendly people at the front desk, restaurant, and valet guys.My husband and I will defenately stay there again and also recommended to friends and family.

Room Tip: I am not sure there isn't a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for giving us the best review possible. We are very pleased that you will come back and recommend us to others. Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the first weekend in August for a wedding. We were able to check in early, and valet park our car for $20.00 overnight. The staff was accommodating, and we were pleased with the room and bathroom. The food in the restaurant was good, I had the crab cake which was all crab, and my hubby hand a huge club sandwich that he loved and looked delicious. The breakfast buffet was good the next morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room for an additional fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear SB,
Thank you for the great comments on our John Barry restaurant food offerings. We have a new chef that makes a great Maryland crab cake. Our breakfast buffet has been enhanced as well with new offerings which we are pleased you enjoyed. Please come back. Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOKINGHAM
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just returned from this hotel after a 5 night stay. First impressions after a longish flight could have been better. We arrived Sat evening and a mix up with my booking had occurred but this was sorted with very little fuss by Rory and Jacqui on the front desk. I prefer not to use the elevator so the valet car parking attendant was summoned to show me the stairs across the car park and my wife to the lift, we had two cases and one other bag and to her amazement the valet just showed her the lift, didn't offer to help with the bags and when the lift arrived at the correct floor was just told "here you go" with no offer of help to the room...after these minor nuances things took a turn for the better. The hotel is situated on a safe, quiet street about 15 mins walk from the main harbour area. The staff are extremely helpful and polite and the rooms, spacious, clean and come with air conditioning and a very handy fridge. We had a balcony room on the 5th floor which was a bonus to be able to sit outside and watch the world go by. The breakfast wasn't included in our package but once again is good value at around an ave of $12 a head, we didn't manage to have dinner in the hotel but did have lunch which consisted of Crab cakes, which were perfect. The whole Annapolis experience was a pleasant one and overall you won't be disappointed if you stay at this comfortable, very friendly, well situated hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your review of our hotel and offerings. We are working very hard on our John Barry restaurant with new menus. I am pleased that you liked the crab cakes and our breakfast selection. I do apologize on arrival that we did not offer to help you with your luggage but that this did not take away from the pleasant experience you mentioned. Please come back. Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Booked a block of rooms here for our daughters wedding. Although not by the water, it's a great location near many bars and restaurants. There is a free trolley that runs throughout Annapolis. The hotel staff was very gracious and accommodating. Will definitely recommend this hotel to others who come to Annapolis.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear MP313,

Thank you for the five star review. I appreciate the recommendation for others to experience our facility. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend trip. The hotel is in a good location and looks nice from the outside. The rooms are ok, but could use some updating and attention. Some torn wallpaper, broken hair dryer, broken ice machine, no water pressure at all, and called 15 minutes ahead for our car from the valet and still had to wait. The staff, for the most part, were friendly, but with the exception of one woman at the desk and Mark at the bar, no one went out of their way to be friendly or help. They also had very little advice in terms of the area. I would expect more in a tourist town like Annapolis.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear SJgirlNj,

I appreciate your comments about our staff members and facility. Please contact me directly should you wish to discuss your stay any further. It would be helpful to locate the room you mentioned that needs repair. I apologize that your stay did not include everything in working order.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
O'Callaghan hotel
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband, toddler and I stayed overnight at O'Callaghan Hotel to see Annapolis on our way back to the airport. We were pleased with our stay, and in particular the proximity to downtown. We walked down the main road to the harbour on what must have been one of the hottest days of the summer, and had a very pleasant ride back on one of Annapolis trollies.

The room was your basic hotel room - comfortable bed, clean sheets, nice big flat screen LCD TV, shiny bathroom, good water pressure.

Service was great - valet parking met us when we pulled up, we were offered help with our bags (we didn't need it), check in was about 30 seconds, and the room was ready for us. They were very accommodating when, at about five to twelve on checkout day, I asked if we could keep the room one more hour since our baby was asleep.

Can't comment on the restaurant since we dined elsewhere. I am a cheepskate so I did find it pricy (although comparable to other accommodation nearby) and would have preferred not to have to do valet parking, but I knew the deal on parking going in so I have no complaints about it (its worse when you show up not knowing you will be dropping $$$ for parking).

Overall, I would say the hotel itself is not an "experience" the way staying in one of the old inns may have been, but if you are there to experience Annapolis rather than a hotel, O'Callaghan's is a good bet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert M, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the four star review. I am sorry you did not use our restaurant during your stay but understand. Please come back.
Sincerely,
Albert Montone
General Manager
albert.montone@ocallaghanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Address: 174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Irish Welcome awaits you in Historic Annapolis! Make us your home while you explore all the great attractions of this great city. Walk to everything or use our free shuttle around the downtown area. All rooms offer free high speed internet. Enjoy a great happy hour in the John Barry Bar! Meetings, weddings and private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
o Callaghan Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.