We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service but Old Hotel Rooms and bad air conditoning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Long Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Service but Old Hotel Rooms and bad air conditoning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We checked in Friday. The valet and bellhop were very courteous and helpful. We went up to the room and it was uncomfortable. The air condition like the rest of the room was real old and did not work well and kept going off. The TV was probably twenty years old. It does not cost much to move into the future and equip all rooms with flat screen TV's. The bar was ok nothing special. There is also no pool. It is an average hotel and if you get a discount its not bad.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Dear guest

Thank you for your comments and I sincerely apologize if there were any problems with the Air Conditioner in your room, we have just completely overhauled all units to ensure they are working very efficiently so the only reason it should turn off is if the desired temperature is reached in the room.

Our hotel is just 9 years old, but your comment about the televisions is taken on board!

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    178
    89
    55
    25
See reviews for
124
240
28
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

I stayed here with my family the night before my first 10k...definitely a good idea. The staff was very friendly, valet parking was avail but reduced-fare parking was very close by, the room was immaculate, the pillows and bed were very comfortable, and little refrig and coffee pot in room were great!

I slept like a baby and woke up feeling great for my run. It was less than a mile walk to Navy Marine Corp Memorial Stadium (which was a perfect warm-up). After the race, a hot shower was fantastic!!! (and the water is reallllly nice and hot!!!)

Check out was at 12 which is later than most places (perfect to shower after my morning race).

The only two negatives: ice maker on our floor was broken and view was facing the dumpster and employee lot. Neither mattered because I wasn't there for the view and ice was available in the lobby.

All-in-all: great hotel
We'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Military and government disc avail
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Dear Runner Guest

Firstly Congratulations on your first 10K - that is not an easy route!! We are delighted that you stayed with us and thank you for your kind comments.

The ice machine was temporarily out of order that Saturday but has of course been fixed.

We hope to see you back for the race next year or perhaps the A10 in August? There is also a new 1/2 Marathon that has been moved to November - so great running weather. Contact us if you would like more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rifle, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

park across street for $8.00 per day instead of $19.00 at hotel. make sure they charge you the price they quoted. the gulf cart to and from town was a great service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Thank you for your review. You are correct there is public garage accross the street from the hotel and we try to tell all guests about that as a self park option. The good news is that the rate there has also just dropped to $5! We offer valet only parking at $18 per night which includes our insurance covering your vehicle and you may take it in and out as many times as you like.

I am glad you enjoyed the E Cruisers and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

I traveled with my new husband and our two friends (we are all from Australia) and we stayed here for 5 nights in May 2011. The manager Lesley and her staff were very helpful & friendly. The manager heard we were newly weds and she organized a beautiful cheese platter for us on our arrival. The rooms were clean, the bedding super comfortable and the location was handy to walk down town to do some shopping. Would definitely recommend would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words and for celebrating your honeymoon with us, we very much enjoyed having you stay and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the US!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldsmar, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Good: location about 5 blocks from marina, cleanliness, courteous staff, nice iron, good electrical outlets, safe area, nice dining room
Bad: $18/day valet plus tips every time, no views from any rooms, wall unit AC/heat, horrible pillows that flatten to nothing, scratchy linens, water temperature is scalding/dangerously hot, decor is ho hum/boring, buffet breakfast is lacking extras, work out room 84 degrees, about 8 X12 feet and only has cardio machines with minds of their own, public meeting areas/private hospitality suites on every floor near guest rooms, in-room coffee is so weak I couldnt't taste it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you found us to be average, that is certainly not our aim. Your suggestions will certainly be taken seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

I was in Annapolis on business and chose O'Callaghan for the value and location. I was treated with utmost respect and courtesy from the moment of my arrival until I checked out. They even allowed me to leave my car in their garage after check-out while I was in my meeting.
The reason I rated the service a four really has more to do with a convenience issue that a service issue, but no other category fit. I went to the business center in the evening to get a soda, and the soda machine was inoperative. Otherwise, everything was perfect! I believe they say in Ireland, go raibh maith agaibh - thank you all for making my stay memorable. I will definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Go raibh maith agut (thank you!) for your very kind words and for taking the time to share them. We are very sorry about the soda machine, normally we can get it serviced immediately.

We hope you will come back to see us soon.

Slan (goodbye)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yardley,pa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I am very particular as to where I spend my nights away from home.In this hotel I found great value along with extra clean rooms(a must with me).The location was not right "down town but a short walk puts you in the center of everything.After a day of sightseeing and shopping the bar is a perfect place to wind down.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdgirllp, General Manager at O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Thank you, thank you! We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis

Address: 174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Warm Irish Welcome awaits you in Historic Annapolis! Make us your home while you explore all the great attractions of this great city. Walk to everything or use our free shuttle around the downtown area. All rooms offer free high speed internet. Enjoy a great happy hour in the John Barry Bar! Meetings, weddings and private events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and BookIt.com so you can book your O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
o Callaghan Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.