We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Annapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Annapolis to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Annapolis
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Housely Road, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel had friendly staff, clean and up to date rooms, and a very nice breakfast. Breakfast included hot oatmeal bar, yogurt bar, fresh fruit, waffles, eggs, bacon, potatoes, Danish, cereal and juice. The hotel was fairly easy to find off the interstate. We've never stayed in a Country Inn and Suites before but I can promise you, we'll be looking for one on our next trip!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisannapolisgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Annapolis, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    128
    41
    23
    12
See reviews for
131
96
30
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh, pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here overnight on our way to Ocean City. The hotels was well manicured and looked nice on the outside. We enjoyed the warm evening on the porch. The lobby was very nice and had a lending library and dvds for rent (very reasonably priced). Check in was fast and the desk person was very helpful. There were fresh baked cookies in the lobby at all times. The room, which was a king suite, was very comfortable. The only downside was the air-conditioner in our room was very loud, but we still got a great nights sleep. The pool is small but was warm. The free breakfast was very good. A lot of variety such as eggs, waffles, cereal etc... Overall, It was reasonably priced and a nice place to stay. We will stay there again next year

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisannapolisgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Annapolis, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently went to a week long Environmental training put on by the Aarcher Institute of Environmental Training. The hotel was perfectly situated for my stay. The shuttle van took us all there and picked us up every morning, there was a grocery store and restaurants within walking distance (strip mall across the street), the hotel shuttle also took me to the mall. I stayed on the third floor in a king suite and it was just great. Very clean and quiet. The pillows were WONDERFUL! Take it from someone who usually has to go to the chiropractor after a business trip, these were the BEST!!!! Great customer service, wonderful hotel for a woman traveling alone on business. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisannapolisgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Annapolis, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We appreciate your time in sharing your experience. We enjoy working with Aarcher and had hosting their students so it is good to know that your week was restful, productive and enjoyable. Come back and see us again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

First let me say that we have stayed at this hotel a couple of times before although it was a several years ago. Because we had an ok experience with it, we decided to stay here this past weekend.

immediately entering in the room, we noticed a stale mold type of smell. We checked at night so we decided to retire to the bed. However, we noticed that the thermostat did not work. We called the front desk and a hotel employee came to the room and had difficulty getting it to work. He also was complaining about it. Eventually we got it to work and air came on. However, it quit working during the night again. My wife had to sleep with a rag over her face to not breath in the mold and mildew soaked air and room.

Everyone (3 of us) got us with running noses and allergic reactions. When checking out at the front desk, we told the front desk clerk about the room. She would not even look at us or acknowledge what we were saying. Eventually, she turned to us and asked us "what do you want me to do about it?" in a very condescending voice. Evidently we were annoying her even though we were not argumentative or had a bad tone in our voice. We were obviously bothering her with our concerns. Her comment was, "well next time you stay her we won't put you on the first floor" where obviously they have mold and mildew problems in the hotel.

This place was toxic. There is a lot of other good hotels in the mall area of Annapolis. Protect your family from toxins both in the room and at the front desk.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at the cost of your health. If you have to stay, insist on not being placed on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisannapolisgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Annapolis, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are very sorry that your stay with us was so disappointing. I have taken that room offline and my engineering and housekeeping teams are thoroughly reviewing it to make sure that it is a safe and comfortable environment. I have also discussed your concerns with my front desk team to ensure that we are responsive to our guests concerns. We would love the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact either Kaye, Guest Service Manager, or Katrina, General Manager, at the hotel at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The room we had on the 3rd floor was very nice, not a suite but large enough for one adult and 2 teenagers. I actually thought the air conditioner was much quieter than other hotels I have stayed in. Possibly the standard room has a smaller, quieter one than the suites..not sure. The beds and pillows were comfy and the room was clean. Nice to have a fridge and microwave, however we didn't need to use them. The front desk staff were wonderful and even brought up plastic utensils when we realized that the cheesecake slice we had brought back to the room didn't have any in the bag. We did use the free shuttle, during the day though, to hit downtown Annapolis. It was wonderful not to have to find a parking garage/spot. All of the staff were very polite from the van driver, breakfast staff and front desk. The breakfast, I was surprised had real silverware - have not seen that in hotels before. Breakfast was overall ok, nothing great - but nice for a quick bite to start the day. Some fruit, cereal, cup of coffee and juice..didn't try the waffles. Overall a great stay..and the warm cookies - were such a welcoming touch!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisannapolisgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Annapolis, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Front desk staff at check-in was excellent (Jason); he was welcoming, friendly and efficient. We had to change rooms due to a strong musty smell in our ground floor suite. Jason handled this quickly. Second room (non-suite) had strong smell of air freshener but we adjusted to it; housekeeper would do well to minimize use of fresheners.

The room was standard size, good sized bathroom, bedding was good. Room had the old-style through-the-wall air conditioner, with a modern digital temperature setting. It was a bit noisy when we watched TV, but we were able to sleep through it. I’m sure it would be cost-prohibitive to install central AC at this point. We did not use the in-room refrigerator and microwave, but they are nice to have. We also did not use: the evening shuttle service, the pool, the lobby computer, the free coffee/cookies at front desk. Had only minimal contact with staff; we are low maintenance travelers, two adults, no kids.

Big disappointment was the poor quality of the breakfast, which is an all-too-common experience for me at “budget” hotels. At first glance, breakfast display might appear impressive: make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs and sausage on a steam table, tub of oatmeal, large tub of self-serve yogurt, sliced fruit (cantaloupe & melons), the usual breads/bagels, apples and oranges, and coffee/tea. I ended up wasting a lot of this food due to the poor quality: artificial tasting “thaw and heat” scrambled eggs, soggy thawed fruit, watery oatmeal, weak coffee, hot food not hot, etc; I did not try the waffles. The only saving grace was the yogurt, and banana if you got there early enough to get one. I do not expect a "budget" hotel to have an on-site cook preparing fresh eggs, but the thawed/heated eggs were awful and not served hot. Is this the best quality available for pre-prepared eggs? On the second day there was no sausage available when I visited 10 minutes prior to the closing time (see photo). Perhaps families traveling with children would find this breakfast option convenient & appealing, but for two adults without kids....not so much.

For us, the lesson learned is we will not let the promise of "free breakfast" influence our choice of hotels. If quality, location and price work for us, that's enough. If I find a better hotel at similar price without breakfast, then that is where I will stay. Again, families may have a different perspective. Were we to return to this area, we would broaden our search for lodging, although this property was generally "OK" for our two-night stay.

Room Tip: There are "suite" type rooms and regular rooms. The suite was dark and dungeon-like - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisannapolisgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Annapolis, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and apologize that breakfast was disappointing. Your constructive comments give us the opportunity to correct any deficiences in our service. I have shared your comments with my team to make sure that we are providing hot, fresh food for each guest during the breakfast hours. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please call the hotel and ask for Kaye, the Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a very nice property (see below) except for one fatal flaw: the AC unit in the suite was so loud that it made ordinary conversation impossible, let alone sleep! We finally put it on very cold, left for a while, and then turned it off to get around the problem. I see that this has been mentioned by reviewers before, but has not been addressed by management. All they have to do is reduce the fan speed! The regular rooms probably have a different system, so I cannot address those rooms, but we certainly would not rent a suite room again unless it was fixed.

Other items: the suite was spacious, with a fold-out sofa, two flat screen TVs ( (only a few channels in HD, unfortunately), spacious bathroom, comfortable king bed.

Breakfast included fresh cooked eggs and sausage, plus the usual bagels, waffles, etc. Staff was friendly and helpful. Located right next to the US Route 50, 4 miles from Annapolis harbor and the Naval Academy.

Room Tip: Avoid the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cisannapolisgm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Annapolis, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am very sorry that the noise from the HVAC unit was so unbearable. We have adjusted the fan speed as you noted to reduce the noise level. We are working through replacing our vertical HVAC units to improve the sound issues. Please do not hesitate to reach out to Kaye, our Guest Service Manager, at the hotel should you wish to discuss your concerns further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Annapolis

Address: 2600 Housely Road, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Annapolis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Annapolis. Less than five miles from the historic waterfront of Chesapeake Bay, the Country Inn & Suites in Annapolis, MD offers an impressive selection of rooms and suites with exceptional amenities. Just minutes from downtown, we are an excellent base for business and leisure guests visiting the U.S. Naval Academy, government offices, Anne Arundel Medical Center and the Annapolis Mall. Enjoy our convenient services including a heated indoor pool, Fitness Center, complimentary high-speed Internet access and free daily hot breakfast. We invite you to stay and see what makes the Country Inn & Suites one of the best Chesapeake Bay area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Annapolis
Country Inn & Suites Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Country Inn Annapolis
Annapolis Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.