We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“African American history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banneker-Douglass Museum

Banneker-Douglass Museum
84 Franklin St., Annapolis, MD
410-974-2893
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 78 things to do in Annapolis
Activities: Leisure education
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“African American history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Another free stop in Annapolis with insight into African American history in Maryland and Annapolis. The AME church portion features an exhibit of Herbert Frisby, the second African American to the North Pole (he was inspired by the story of Alexander Henson, the first to make it with Cdr. Peary). The main museum part featured displays on the fight to save the church where Frederick Douglas once spoke and about the fight for freedom in Maryland with spotlights on key players such as Frederick Douglas and Harriet Tubman. I was impressed by the correspondence between Benjamin Banneker & Thomas Jefferson, the former confronting the latter on his slave holdings. Enlightening, a nice addition to other sites in the city and state.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Historical Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Among the many times I've visited with my daughter, I had the pleasure of attending a doll making session which was sponsored by a sorority organization which was enlightening and fun. Historical facts were shared about the once great church-turned-museum.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“North Pole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Museum was great and the people were more than helpful to my three daughters. They learned about the adventure of getting to the North Pole with an interactive programmed that kept them interested and exploring the museum for much longer than most!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great learning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My family learned a great deal from museum especially about the importance of Herbert Frisbee. The man at the front desk was very informative. Be sure to see the mosaic made from the glass that was saved from the windows that were broken during the civil rights movement.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Welcoming, informative & free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We felt so welcomed when we visited here and 2 gentlemen at the front desks provided wonderful insight into the history. The glass collage on the 2nd floor was beautiful--they had saved original pieces of glass from the Mt. Mariah AME Church to make this. The pictures & history provided on Herbert M. Frisby was impressive. This should be an inspiration for all of us! Thank you.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banneker-Douglass Museum also viewed

 
Annapolis, MD
 

Been to Banneker-Douglass Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banneker-Douglass Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.