We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real, real deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dock Street Bar & Grill

Dock Street Bar & Grill
136 Dock St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1803
410-268-7278
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 308 Restaurants in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Gastropub
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Kent, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“The real, real deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

To set the stage: I had been awake since 7am the previous day, flown across the country, missed breakfast, and was ravenous.

Based on Trip Advisor, while wandering Annapolis, I settled on Dock Street for lunch on Sunday. No reservations, at noon, probably a bad idea, etc.

I was able to sit immediately at the bar. The staff were uber-casual (fitting for my red-eyed shorts-and-t-shirt state) and very facile at recommending (bottle-only) local beer selections. Flying Dog's "Angry B**ch" was exceptional, and the very thing to settle me following a long 36 hours.

Then the crab cake sandwich arrived. I want to write poetry about this sandwich. I want to get to know it better. I might take it on a date. If you have not had a true Maryland crab cake, this was BY FAR the best of the five different versions I sampled over a three day period. (One of the staff did share that because of crowds on Saturday night, they often make very fresh ones Sunday morning...) The mustard-based tartar sauce completely redefined my concept of that otherwise nasty substance. Apparently there may have been french fries as well, although I can't vouch for their existence. Short version: come hear and eat crab-based products. The Bay is 30 yards away. No excuses.

Service was fine, location was good (teeming masses, but somehow lots of space here). If for some reason you're in Annapolis, and want a moderately-priced crab cake of wonder, this is your place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    68
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Crab Cakes Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Today was my first visit to Dock Street Bar and Grill and it exceeded my high expectations for their crab cakes. We went during lunch and while it was busy, it was not crowded. There were four wait staff and they were all courteous, helpful, and attentive. They all refilled drinks and provided assistance as they saw a need promptly and pleasantly.

I had heard wonderful things about their crab cakes, that there was little filling, great flavor, and a tasty tartar sauce so my expectations were set quite high. I ordered the Crab Cake Sandwich which had a full-sized crab cake on a kaiser roll, lettuce, and tomato with an order of spicy fries. The crab cake was huge and I couldn't find any filler, it looked to be entirely crab meat. Their judicious use of Old Bay seasoning added a nice flavor and complemented the tartar sauce very well. The crab cake was nicely cooked, just a little bit of crispy on the outside but moist on the inside, not overdone. The fries were also prepared well, crisp and dry, delicious!

My cousin had the crab cake dinner and her crab cake looked as well prepared as my own. The server explained that we could get asparagus in place of the spinach as they had gotten some fresh asparagus from a local vegetable stand. That was a nice touch and a good recommendation!

I haven't tried anything else on the menu (yet), but it will be a while before I would forego a crab cake when I visit the Dock Street Bar & Grill.

It's a great location with fantastic crab cakes, I highly recommend a visit here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great little spot in Annapolis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We went here for lunch on a beautiful day in Annapolis. There are a handful of tables outside on the street . Inside is small but cozy. Service was really good. I got a cup of soup which was really good. My wife got crabcakes which were also good. the only letdown was that my sandwich, which was good, was a little thin. Otherwise, it was a nice place to grab lunch,

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonton, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Crab cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This little place doesn't look like much from the outside, but they have the most wonderful crab cakes in Annapolis. In fact there was so little filling I'm not sure how they held together. YUMMY!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Your Crab Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This place, during the day and evening is a great place to sit down, have a drink and meal while watching the people walk by. By far, some of the best crab cakes we had while in Annapolis. The wait staff was on top of their game while we were there. The beer cold, the food hot and plentiful.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock Street Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Dock Street Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dock Street Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.