We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab Cakes a Must” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dock Street Bar & Grill

Dock Street Bar & Grill
136 Dock St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1803
410-268-7278
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 307 Restaurants in Annapolis
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Gastropub
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Redlands, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Crab Cakes a Must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Pub joint. Sports on several TV's, but it wasn't noisy. Started with a Belgian wheat beer and ordered the crab cakes. Both were great. Stroll around the area as it is centrally located.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    62
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“I want more crab soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Get their creamy crab soup...so good! Showed up around 7pmish and by 830/9 it was packed!! Lucky we got a spot at the bar but the service was on point--they knew their beer (even tho they have nothing on tap) and what to suggest to first-time visitors. Crab cake sandwich was all hearty crab and no filler! My bf couldnt even finish the thing even though his favorite is crab cakes. I had this chicken pesto cheese sandwich which was yummy and their curly fries were awesome!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stopped in for a drink... enjoyed the atmosphere and music, so we decided to stay for dinner. We have to say Dock Street served up some of the best crab soup and crab cakes we've EVER had! We're already planning our next trip there! Great service, too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, CO
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great crab cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Eaten crab cakes in several places known to be good while in Maryland and I thought these were the best. Hole in the wall bar. Loved the atmosphere being from Colorado.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Glad we trusted TA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were visiting Annapolis on the Veterans Day holiday and hadn't been for a few years so checked out recommendations on TA. For a lunch spot in the harbour area, this place got very good reviews and most people recommended the Crab Cakes and we do like a great Crab Cake!

Admittedly, it was early lunchtime when we walked up to the Dock Street bar & grill but it was deserted except for a couple of staff. It looked dark and unwelcoming and we actually hesitated on the threshold for a couple of minutes discussion before deciding to go in! We made allowances for it being early and we are also not normally disappointed if we go with TA recommendations. As it really is just a bar on the first floor, with a few high tables, we asked the guy who came out from behind the bar if there was seating upstairs. He advised that it was closed up there so we took a table in the window - for the best light!

Our greeter seemed the only person serving table and bar but he was friendly, bright and cheerful and was quick to come over with glasses of water when we sat down. As there were only a couple of lunch menus and a beer list on the table, we just asked for a glass of chardonnay each, without knowing what we might get. He actually opened a fresh bottle and we later discovered it was one we know and like - Clos du Bois - so were not surprised we enjoyed it.

We both ordered the highly recommended Crab Cake Sandwich and he informed us it was the best in Annapolis - but they all say that, don't they?! We had to wait a decent amount of time as you expect for freshly prepared great food so were very hopeful. Well, it really was excellent!! Just as other reviewers have said, it is full of sweet lump crab meat and not much filler. We also liked the curly fries and the meal was very good value

Thank goodness we trusted TA or we would have missed an excellent lunch!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock Street Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Dock Street Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dock Street Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.