We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Birthday Lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dock Street Bar & Grill

Dock Street Bar & Grill
136 Dock St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1803
410-268-7278
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 307 Restaurants in Annapolis
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Gastropub
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Birthday Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My wife, daughter and I celebrated our daughter's 19th birthday by visiting Annapolis and trying this restaurant, given its good reviews and proximity to the water. We were very happy with the food and with the service. The crab dip with lightly-toasted bread was the best we ever had and the lightly-toasted bread was much better than the usual Melba toast at other restaurants. My shrimp salad was very fresh and tasty. Plus, larger shrimp were used which was appreciated. The curly fries could not be better. Even the Turkey Reuben my daughter ordered was excellent. Dock Street has a relatively short but absolutely wonderful beer list. Why have 50 different varieties of Budweiser when you can offer instead anything from a chocolate stout to a Sam Adams Seasonal? This place does it right!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    62
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yvonne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I had crab cakes every day of my stay, and the Dock Bar's are one of the two best that I enjoyed.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Had breakfast here and it was amazing. I had the french toast and my husband had hash and they were both excellent. Definitely would recomment this place.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is not a restaurant that serves drinks it is a bar that serves food. Atmosphere is cozy with a friendly staff but the food is really just pub grub. Went for the crab cakes based on Trip Advisor reviews and found them average at best.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“THE Best Crab Cakes in Annapolis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

While visiting Annapolis last weekend, we were looking for a good place for lunch. For some reason, we stopped in front of this restaurant and looked at their menu. The crab cakes caught our eye, so we figured that we would give this place a try. Boy, are we glad that we did!

I ordered the Crabcake Sandwich (it comes with fries). The crab cake was HUGE and one of the best that I have ever eaten anywhere, not just in Annapolis! It had large pieces of crabmeat and very little (if any) filler. My spouse ordered the appetizer version of the crab cake as he wanted to try their Crab Chowder with Corn & Clams. Oh, my goodness! He offered me a few spoons of his soup and again, it was to die for!!!! If you are watching your calories, I must warn you that this soup's base features real cream.........but it is definitely worth the calories! The corn & clams added a wonderful flavor to the chowder and all was enhanced by a subtle taste of sherry. It was divine.

Our server was wonderful. She was the only server that we could see on the second floor of the restaurant, but she somehow managed to provide quick and efficient attention to our every need. She must have refilled our iced tea glasses at least 4 or 5 times. She never let them get below half-filled.......that is how attentive she was to our table.

Trust me...if you have a chance to visit this beautiful city, you need to give this restaurant a try. You won't regret it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock Street Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Dock Street Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dock Street Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.