We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Court Of Shanghai

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Court Of Shanghai
1971 West St, Annapolis, MD 21401-3906
410-266-5990
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 275 Restaurants in Annapolis
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
“One of my favorites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Love this place! Come here about once a month. Good food, must have Mai tai's, super friendly people. Now have my office ordering for delivery. Must visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Chinese for the Area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It's hard to find decent chinese food around here and I was skeptical when I pulled up to what looked to be a former IHop. The place was dated but the food came out fast and was very good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food in Annapolis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is the best american chinese food in Annapolis. There is actual real chicken in the General Tso's and the mai thai is delicious. It is a few dollars more than cheaper take-out places but totally worth it. Excellent service, and the owners are very nice. We have been going here for years, and would highly recommend.
Closed on Sundays.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Little bit of Chinese takeout heaven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We've lived in the area for five years but never stopped in. We've tried all the other Chinese restaurants around here and nothing compares!
Yes, the decor could be updated a little and maybe a fresh coat of paint on their building but then again, we aren't eating off the roof anyway.
Usually order General Tso's shrimp, Shanghai noodles and egg rolls. Have tried the special wonton soup and if ordering a chicken dish, normally ask for all white meat.
The owners are always friendly and the food is cooked quickly and tastes great. We are just happy we've finally found a great place for Chinese food!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis, md
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“5 stars....really?????”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I miss good Chinese, so I was intrigued that this strange looking A frame building I have passed by for 7 years, got this rave of reviews. I'm not sure what most people's definition of "great Chinese" is but it is probably different than mine. If you are a go to General Tso's Chicken kind of folk, than this place would probably be very agreeable to your palate.

I tend to stay away with breaded mystery meat covered in gooey sweet sauce, and go for stir fried entrees. Kung Pao is actually a more authentic asian dish, so I opted for that, and the beef and broccoli. Well the Kung Pao shrimp, was severely disappointing. There are many stir fries that contain a variety of vegetables but this is not one of them. Components of this dish are protein, peanuts, hot peppers, and sauce.

Shanghai's version was loaded with celery, carrots, and some other veggie. Completely wrong and NOT spicy as it should have been. I would rather get a smaller portion than one that is doctored with ingredients just so it provides bulk to the meal. The added ingredients did absolutely nothing to enhance the dish. It only diluted any real flavors that may or may not have existed to begin with.

The beef and broccoli was just ok. The sauce could have been oh so much better. It was just bland and ordinary. Ho hum...I guess I'm back to dreaming about good Chinese fare.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Court Of Shanghai also viewed

 

Been to Court Of Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Court Of Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.