We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and historic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maryland State House

Maryland State House
91 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
410 974 3400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 37 Attractions in Annapolis
Type: Government Buildings, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The seat of government for the state of Maryland.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Charming and historic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I've been here twice, and consider it a must-see while you're in Annapolis. It is not one of these gargantuan 19th century capitol buildings that are so daunting to visit. It is very VERY small, and is colonial. Annapolis was the capital of our country for a brief time early on, so this building was THE Capitol. It is so pretty, and the recent renovation really did work out very well. Every detail is lovely. The first time I went, there were guided tours, but it looks like they've done away with those. Funding cutbacks, no doubt - ya gets what ya pays for. However, the posted information is good, and the day I was there, the guard at the door was helpful with answering every question and even adding a little more detail than I expected. There's really no excuse for not at least walking through this beautiful, historic building, as it is right in the heart of Annapolis, AND, it is FREE.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    75
    18
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Chock full of history at a very manageable size. George Washington resigned his commission here. The area is walkable, close to the Naval Academy and other sites, as well as shopping and restaurants.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The State House is beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We had no idea that the State House would be so beautiful and impressive. We are very proud of being Marylanders....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Compact building packed with history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This relatively small capital building is packed with history. On a previous visit we were able to take the free tour, which was excellent. This time we had a couple of conversations with the police officer who does the security checks before you enter. Do come see this historic building which is the oldest in continuous use in the nation.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“worth your time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is the oldest statehouse in the U.S. Was once used by the US Congress when Annapolis was the nations captial. Lots of historic events took place here. If you time it right you can tag along with elementaery school tours that seem to go on here frequently

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maryland State House also viewed

 

Been to Maryland State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maryland State House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.