We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast
85 East Street, TripAdvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
5% Off Summer2014 Sun-Thu
Ranked #1 of 31 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Couples Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is so long overdue but I am finally able to get to share my thoughts. My fiance and I wanted to head out of the city and relax. From the moment that we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome. This bed and breakfast was perfect for what we wanted. We actually arrived a couple of hours before check-in and wanted to just drop our bags off, but Joe was kind enough to let us put them in our room without hesitation. We asked for some great local places to visit and he was able to give us some great recommendations for what we wanted. We spent the day hanging out in town and just had a wonderful time! We came back later that night and was greeted by Elly (and Maggie the family dog). Elly was so warm and welcoming and so was Maggie as she laid back allowing us to rub her belly :) After a wonderful nights rest in our beautiful room breakfast was ready. It was a real treat! We had the best time and this is not just a business to Joe and Elly. It is a place where they welcome you into their home and want you to feel relaxed and have a great time. Thank you so much to you both (and Maggie) We plan on returning this month for another wonderful escape!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
187
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent one night at Chez Amis to celebrate our anniversary, and had an outstanding experience! Elly and Joe (and Maggie!) were welcoming from the minute we walked in the door. They gave us directions to a free parking garage a couple of blocks away, gave us several recommendations for great places to eat lunch, dinner, and the "world's greatest ice cream" during our stay, and even suggested a great route to go running in the morning. The room was perfect - very clean, very cozy, and we were thrilled to find champagne and chocolates waiting for us to celebrate! Breakfast was amazing - blueberry bread, fresh fruit, crab strata (with Old Bay seasoning - yum!) and turkey sausage. The location is perfect - it's very easy walking distance to the waterfront and a ton of great restaurants and shops, but is in a perfectly quiet residential area. Getting away for a night without the kids is a treat in itself, but being able to stay at Chez Amis made it even more special. We might have to make it part of our anniversary celebration every year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Chez Ami. It was like visiting family who could cook! The breakfasts were culinary delights, and the extra drinks and snacks, often cookies or brownies, made us feel at home. Elly was warm and welcoming, and treated us like friends rather than customers. This was our best B & B experience. We plan to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Outstanding service by wonderful people, a charming place, and an easy walk to everything made our Parent's Weekend stay a lasting memory. Ellie and Joe were great hosts, Maggie their dog a welcome greeter, and all the comforts of home!

A lasting memory will be our Plebe, stretched out on the couch napping.....just like at home. One night, we ordered great Italian take out and ate at the table in Chez Amis. We were in comfortable clothes, relaxed, and had a family meal and great conversation. Obviously, Annapolis has fantastic restaurants, but we really enjoyed the "home" atmosphere. Speaking of home, breakfast was ready every morning, fresh baked cookies and/or bread along with tea or water always available, and a refrigerator stocked and there for our use was incredibly convenient and greatly appreciated.

We stayed in the Law Library which did have a bathroom. The room and all accommodations were comfortable and enjoyable. Laundry room was there for any need we had, which is always nice when traveling.

Not only was the place charming and very well kept, but you can't beat the location. An easy walk to the Naval Academy's Gates 1 & 3 was perfect. And, the waterfront and downtown were even closer. Parking to unload was always available and the parking garage was an easy couple of minutes away. Validated parking made it very affordable.

My wife and I had a fantastic weekend, and the Chez Amis experience as a whole was an important piece. We will definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: Two of the three rooms upstairs have bathrooms in them. Worked well for us. There is a downstairs ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I recently stayed at Chez Ami for Plebe Parents Weekend at the Naval Acadmey. Ellie was an incredibly gracious host. My ex-husband and his wife also stayed at Chez Ami allowing our Plebe to spend time with both of us in a "home-like" environment without leaving just the 3 of us to hang out when she was back in Bancroft. The room I stayed in had a bath down the hall, but was not an issue as I NEVER saw anyone outside the living room area.

The very best part about Chez Ami is the location. It is a quick 5 minute (at most) walk to USNA Gate 1. A quick trip down Fleet Street has you in the heart of DTA (Downtown Annapolis). Our Midn was able to leave the Yard, take a quick show, grab a milkshake and take a nap on the couch all in the amount of time it woud have taken us to drive to an area hotel.

The excellent reviews are well deserved. Ellie serves a fantastic breakfast, but i was on the run so usually just grabbed fruit and breakfast bread. The fridge is stocked with cold drinks. We had takeout Italian one night and brought it back to eat at the dining table. Perfect arrangement for our purpose.

Room Tip: One room doesn't have a bathroom in the room. I think its the Law Library (the least expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Thank you Elly and Maggie for the warm welcome (every time we came in the door). The intimate scale of the house was exactly what we were looking for, and the location was perfect.
There has been an obvious, loving commitment to every detail of decor and hospitality. The breakfast was terrific. When the need is to be gently ushered into another decade of life, settling into a cozy room with my wife (of almost 49 years!) was most comforting. The crab feast that preceded it wasn't bad, either. Thanks, again, Elly, and please scratch Maggie behind the ears for us.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My fiancee and I decided to break up a long, mid-July trip with a night in Annapolis, and we chose Chez Amis based on its excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. The location is excellent, wedged in a historic neighborhood between the harbor, the State House and the Naval Academy. The rooms are appropriately themed. We stayed in the Law Library room, complete with old legal tomes on the shelves. The room was modest in size, but it was very comfortable and we slept well. Elly, the proprietor, gave us excellent dinner recommendations and options (walk, water taxi) for getting there. We had a nice walk over to the Vin 909 Wine Cafe, also highly recommended on Trip Advisor, and got there just in time to get a counter seat on a Thursday evening. Elly served us some excellent Frittatas for breakfast, leaving us content but not stuffed. Breakfast is served at a large, rustic table built to accommodate eight guests. We had a nice chat with a younger couple while eating. Then we brought the car back and re-packed for the next leg of our trip. I should mention that parking is in a well-guarded garage about three blocks away. It was no problem for us, but visitors should be aware that old properties in a historic area with narrow streets are unlikely to have on-site parking. That said, we were really pleased with the facility, the warm and informative hostess, and the proximity to so many good restaurants and places of interest in downtown Annapolis. We will DEFINITELY be back, hopefully next summer if not sooner. This place is a wonderful find. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Look at the photos on the web site. They give you a good description of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast

Address: 85 East Street, TripAdvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Chez Amis" in French means "Among Friends". Come share a day, weekend or week with us and enjoy the state capitol of Maryland and all it has to offer. Our 4 bedroom Bed & Breakfast is located in the heart of historic Annapolis, Maryland and is nearby the State Capitol, St. John's College, the waterfront, city dock, the Naval Academy, antique shops and fabulous dining and entertainment places all within walking distance.Find comfort and old fashioned relaxation at Chez Amis. Since each guest room has a private TV, the French country styled common area is designed for reading, conversation, and playing many games of your choice. Bananagrams and scrabble seem to be our guests’ favorite. Refreshments and homemade cookies are available throughout your stay so we understand if you ‘sneak downstairs’ for just one last cookie. The dining area is a wonderful piece of carpentry that was built by the previous inn owner. It comfortably fits our guests but we also offer supplemental seating if you choose a more intimate table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.