We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming B&B in the Heart of Annapolis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast
85 East Street, TripAdvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
5% Off Summer2014 Sun-Thu
Ranked #1 of 31 Annapolis B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Charming B&B in the Heart of Annapolis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

It was our 11th anniversary get away and I stumbled upon this B&B via an internet search. We stayed two nights in this small, but welcoming B&B. The place is quaint, clean, and felt very home like. The innkeepers, Elly and Joe were gracious hosts. The breakfasts were well done and Elly went out of her way to help us locate eateries and places to visit around Annapolis. The location of the B&B is within walking distance of almost everything in town. There are only four rooms in this establishment and all of the guests liked the place as well as we did. Bottom line is we have stayed at numerous B&Bs over the years and this place ranks among the best!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
197
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We attended the Boat Show weekend and stayed two nights (Friday/Saturday)...this place is the most fantastic B&B..great location for downtown Annapolis....Elly and Joe are warm, wonderful, happy, conscientious, and sincere people! The food was impeccable....have you ever heard of a three course breakfast?! We stayed in the Treaty of Paris room and were extremely comfortable with a king size bed and a private bath. Maggie (family pup) is a sweetheart....we felt so at home here! Not to mention the wonderful guests that we were fortunate to have interacted with at the breakfast table each day. We will definitely return. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I went to Annapolis for a weekend getaway and to attend a concert at Rams Head On Stage. Chez Amis was even better than we expected. Ellie is a perfect hostess; so thoughtful and gracious. She adds all those little touches that make you feel welcome. We stayed in the Annapolis room. I especially liked the bathroom. Although it was down the hall, it was exclusively for our private use and it had a wonderful clawfoot tub and skylight. Bathrobes were provided. Beautiful property with owners that go all out for their guests. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Chez Amis is a wonderfully located, congenial B&B in the heart of historic Annapolis. I stayed for two nights in the State House room. Pretty much everything is walkable from this location. Elly, the innkeeper, is warm, informative, and a delightful hostess. She delivers interesting and inventive breakfast combinations each day. Overall, I had a great stay and would recommend staying here.

The room was impeccably clean, attractively furnished, and spacious. Befitting a building of this age, the hardwood floors upstairs were a bit creaky, but all of that is over the kitchen and common area, so it simply added to the charm, without worry of disturbing other guests. The bathroom for this room was a bit small (not unexpected), but modern in appointments without losing either character or charm. The compensation was an additional pedestal sink in the main bedroom, so couples could easily attend their ablutions simultaneously.

The B&B offers free wi-fi connectivity, and if you don't bring your own device, it offers an iPad and a mini-laptop for your use. Elly keeps a list of great restaurants in the town to investigate, including recent menus. Afternoons feature cookies and tea, and other snacks/beverages. The B&B's "house" dog is a wonderfully sweet creature. If you are a dog person, you will fall in love with her.

The common areas were equally well-kept. Elly pays a lot of attention to ensuring that the common areas are clean and orderly, which makes for a comfortable setting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Md
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Best B&B in Town. We had such a wonderful time. Thank you so much Ellie and Joe for a perfect visit. For anyone who wants a relaxing atmospher and home away from home, Chez Amis is the best place to get all of this and a whole lot more. The breakfast is wonderful.
We had such a nice time walking around, looking at all the antique stores (Evergreen) and the local book store with a little cafe in the back. Your location is so convenient to all the exciting places to visit in Annapolis. Again we can't thank you enough and we can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My family recently organized a surprise 60th birthday party and we all stayed at Chez Amis. Ellie helped us pull off the surprise which took place in the common living area. She was instrumental in making the whole weekend perfect. Every little detail was wonderful. We all felt at home and gathered in the common areas, making use of the kitchen, and felt totally pampered. The rooms were spotless and everything we needed. The location was perfect for walking everywhere. We will be back and we are so grateful to Ellie for helping make the weekend so special for our family event.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our stay at Chez Amis was great! Ellie, the innkeeper, was super friendly and helpful when it came to picking out things to do and places to eat in and around Annapolis. The best part were the little touches that you don't always see: a stocked fridge with waters and sodas we could access throughout the day, brownies for a snack and chocolates on our bed at night. The inn was very clean and comfortable. It's also nice that the B&B is in walking distance to everything in Annapolis. The parking garage is only a few minutes away and it was really no problem to park there. Ellie gave us vouchers every day so we got half off. Breakfast every morning was also delicious. It usually started with a baked bread or muffin, a fruit cup and a main course. Everything was really good and it was nice to sit with the other vacationers to chat and hear where they were from. Everyone was super-friendly.

I couldn't recommend Chez Amis enough. We would definitely stay there again. My fiance and I have stayed at B&B's throughout the East Coast and this is definitely at the top of our list for comfort, cleanliness, friendliness of the inn keepers and an overall enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast

Address: 85 East Street, TripAdvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Chez Amis" in French means "Among Friends". Come share a day, weekend or week with us and enjoy the state capitol of Maryland and all it has to offer. Our 4 bedroom Bed & Breakfast is located in the heart of historic Annapolis, Maryland and is nearby the State Capitol, St. John's College, the waterfront, city dock, the Naval Academy, antique shops and fabulous dining and entertainment places all within walking distance.Find comfort and old fashioned relaxation at Chez Amis. Since each guest room has a private TV, the French country styled common area is designed for reading, conversation, and playing many games of your choice. Bananagrams and scrabble seem to be our guests’ favorite. Refreshments and homemade cookies are available throughout your stay so we understand if you ‘sneak downstairs’ for just one last cookie. The dining area is a wonderful piece of carpentry that was built by the previous inn owner. It comfortably fits our guests but we also offer supplemental seating if you choose a more intimate table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.