We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Annapolis B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast
85 East Street, TripAdvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Annapolis B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Long Island City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Annapolis B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband & I just spent two nights in the State House Room at Chez Amis and would highly recommend it to anyone spending some time in Annapolis. The location is great - walking distance to everything including terrific restaurants. And Chez Amis itself...just perfect. Our room was spotlessly clean, had a very comfortable king-size bed and a pretty view up the street of the dome on the State House. Breakfast was delicious each morning, and it was fun to chat with Elly & Joe, the owners who are extremely helpful and hospitable. We would love to go back sometime and will surely recommend Chez Amis to any friends headed to Annapolis.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
215
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at the Chez Amis B&B for two nights to celebrate our anniversary. We were greeted by Elle (and Maggie - their most adorable dog!). From the minute we stepped into this lovely home, we knew we had made a great choice. We stayed in the Lady Anne Suite and the accomodations couldn't have been more lovely. Very clean, very peaceful. The food was excellent! Elle and Joe were very pleasant and quite helpful with any questions that we had about Annapolis. Would definitely recommend this and can't wait to go back and visit again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed in the Law Library at Chez Amis last weekend (Fri-Sun). The room was very comfortable and roomy. The vanity and sink are separate from the bath and toilet(all are in the room) which allowed my husband & I to get ready without interfering with each other. The bed was comfortable and there were 3 windows in the room which provided the perfect amount of sunlight. We had a delicious breakfast both mornings and enjoyed chatting with the other guests. Elly was very kind to let us check in early without advance notice, which we greatly appreciated. We loved the decor of Chez Amis and felt at home in the sitting area. Free wifi & cable tv in our room was an added bonus. Elly went out of her way for us several times and she did a wonderful job with everything. Best of all was the always friendly Maggie~what a great dog she is! We can’t wait to come back in the summer and once again will stay at Chez Amis B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jospatrick, Owner at Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thanks for such a great review of our place...we try to make everyone who stays feel they have found the perfect B&B in Historic Annapolis. We have added a special touch, as you pointed out, where we make our gourmet breakfast with my special flair. If you enjoyed the separate sink, you may be interested to know that the State House Room has the same set up and has a lovely view of the dome of the State House of Maryland’s capitol.
Thanks again for your kind words,
Elly – Owner & Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed at Chez Amis in the Law Library for one night. Chez Amis is beautiful and very well laid out. There is a large sitting area and kitchen on the first floor. The Innkeepers keep the refrigerator stocked with water, soda, and beer for their guests. It was a very nice treat.

The Law Library was very roomy. We could tell that the Innkeepers put lot of thought into the furnishing and decorations in each room. The bed was very comfortable.

The location of Chez Amis is wonderful. It is only a few blocks from the water. We love to explore on foot and B&B is close to everything.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jospatrick, Owner at Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thank you for such a very kind review. I loved that you enjoyed my fixtures and decorations as we have been hard at work making those special touches just enough to add a cozy warmth to our B&B. And the beds all have a topper that makes them so comfortable. We’d love to have you stay with us the next time you’re in the Annapolis area – to enjoy the sights and sound of our State’s capitol.
Thanks again, for your warm thoughts.
Elly
Owner and Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore md
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a very nice one night stay at Chez Amis, We had the Library Room which was very comfortable. The innkeepers Elly & her husband, Joe were very nice. The breakfast was very well presented and the meal was wonderful.We will return to this very centrally located B&B. Annapolis is a very nice town for a couple of days of good restaurants and very nice B&B's. Don't miss the Spring in Annapolis and don't miss a stay at Chez Amis!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jospatrick, Owner at Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
You’re very kind to take the time and offer such a wonderful review. Elly enjoys making her special savory or sweet gourmet breakfasts and we’re delighted you enjoyed it! You are so right about Annapolis in the spring, especially now that that the blossoms are out in full bloom.
Hope you can make it back here someday soon.
Fondly,
Elly & Joe
Owner and Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Can't imagine can be any better. My wife and I were looking for a romantic getaway weekend and decided upon Chez Amis and were not disappointed. Clean, comfortable room in a cozy atmosphere and simply convenient to everything. The inn keepers gave us many suggestions on things to do and places to visit and made sure our stay was relaxed and enjoyable right down to the deliciously prepared breakfast. Have stayed at many B&B's and have never had a more all around enjoyable experience. Will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend getaway and couldn't have been happier with the location and inn. It is an easy walk to any of the sites, shops, and restaurants. The atmosphere of the inn was relaxed and inviting. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the host/hostess very warm and welcoming. Elly served a fantastic breakfast each morning and was helpful with suggestions on things to do for the day and places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast

Address: 85 East Street, TripAdvisor 2013 Certificate of Excellence, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Chez Amis" in French means "Among Friends". Come share a day, weekend or week with us and enjoy the state capitol of Maryland and all it has to offer. Our 4 bedroom Bed & Breakfast is located in the heart of historic Annapolis, Maryland and is nearby the State Capitol, St. John's College, the waterfront, city dock, the Naval Academy, antique shops and fabulous dining and entertainment places all within walking distance.Find comfort and old fashioned relaxation at Chez Amis. Since each guest room has a private TV, the French country styled common area is designed for reading, conversation, and playing many games of your choice. Bananagrams and scrabble seem to be our guests’ favorite. Refreshments and homemade cookies are available throughout your stay so we understand if you ‘sneak downstairs’ for just one last cookie. The dining area is a wonderful piece of carpentry that was built by the previous inn owner. It comfortably fits our guests but we also offer supplemental seating if you choose a more intimate table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.