We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added State House Inn to your Saves list
State House Inn
25 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Wonderful time in Annapolis at The State House Inn. We were greeted by the Charming new Manager. She showed us to our room, we were given our keys and lots of information on the sights to see in the town. This Inn has a Warm and Homey atmosphere. The rooms are large and sunny . We stayed in one of the largest with a jacuzzi. We loved it because it was Sunny and warm with lots of room. Everything was very clean and neat. The views are so good. The location cannot be beat. We walked everywhere. To Good restaurants with great seafood, and down to Ego Alley to watch the boats. You can even take a water taxi to Eastport for the boating experience or sail on the Woodwind. We felt it was a Home away from Home. We will return to this lovely Inn.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms with large jacuzzi, sunny side. All have wonderful views. Lots of sun and Very lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    18
    12
    8
    12
See reviews for
9
53
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were checking in and immediately were told there was a mix up apparently. First he couldn't find our reservation then when he did find it they were overbooked. He does give us a room anyway which did have a nice view but the carpet was badly stained and the broken armoire looked as if the doors would fall off and injure someone. The bathroom and jacuzzi tub situation in a word were old and very un-inviting. We noticed all the other rooms doors were open and eventually did see another couple there. We went to dinner, etc and when we returned there was a basket right outside the front door filled with envelopes and what clearly were keys inside. It was quite late and didn't leave a secure feeling with me as I walked by. The next morning we woke and left fairly early to eat breakfast and all the envelopes were still in the basket with no sign of the other couple, their door wide open aka gone. The place was empty and very creepy. I will say this even though we were on the third floor the late night partier noise echoing from the street was very disturbing. We had to wait hours to speak to someone which turned out to be a really young kid/ teenager. As far as bed n breakfasts go (not), this place is sad and pathetic!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statehouseinn, Manager at State House Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Your review states you stayed here in May of LAST YEAR almost a YEAR AGO! I'm not sure why “all off a sudden” you are writing this review now? If you look at a CURRENT guest review, you will see a proper reflection on a guest stay, all positive 5 star reviews! We are under new management, we've updated the furnishing, fixed the carpets and have 24hour management service. I am the new manager and our current guests are beyond happy with the new changes. If one reads the current reviews, from current stays you will see these reviews reflect the current appreciation of our property and experience, 5 star reviews! All these great changes are recent! In the past, the doors to guest rooms were open so that people can “view” different rooms and it makes the house more open and inviting. It troubles me that you would write this review almost a YEAR later with information that is not relevant. Tripadvisor is a great place to share ones experience, however it needs to be an honest and current assessment of the property. Readers take note that the reviews that STAYED here recently, you will be able to judge for yourself if this review is “inline” with the current experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was my second stay at the State House Inn. The first stay was over the summer, to celebrate an anniversary. We originally planned to go out on the town but once we arrived we were SO extremely happy with our room we decided we would rather spend the night there. We were blown away by all of the windows and the beautiful view. But most of all we decided to stay because of the ENORMOUS jacuzzi. The pictures online did NO Justice I the actual room. We felt like we hit the jackpot. Everything from the view to the furniture and bathroom was more than we had ever imagined. There is a wine bar directly across the street so we walked over picked up some wine and brought it right back to the front patio of the Inn. There were candles available in the lobby so we brought those out as well and spent the evening outside looking right up at the statehouse. We ended up extending our stay first thing on the morning. Management was beyond accommodating! Needless to say this was the best vacation we have ever taken (and were locals). We could drive to Annapolis in 20 minutes any day but staying here really makes it worth while which is why we decided to come back for valentines day! Perfect hotel no matter what the season!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This old (200+ years) Inn has a half dozen rooms, and the king rooms all have a jacuzzi, that I could tell. The location is obscenely good. You are steps away from the Maryland State House, and less than 100 yards away from 6 very good restaurants, including Piccola Roma, the restaurant attached to the Inn.

Do not stay here if you are expecting a post modern antiseptic hotel experience with staff constantly underfoot. No one will turn down the sheets for you, and probably no one will carry your bags for you.

This is a quaint inn that just happens to perched in the best location in Annapolis. The staff is ALWAYS available (and knowledgeable) via phone, and is on site during the day.

This is the perfect romantic getaway for a couple that doesn't want to be bothered.

We'll be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a King room with a Jacuzzi. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My experience was quite enjoyable, the new manager is so helpful and welcoming making my stay very comfortable. Upon arrival we were greeted by Carath who took us to our room which overlooked the State Capital Building. The room was called the "Chesapeake" and the view was spectacular! The rooms are quite large and just outside my room was a small refrigerator making it quite convenient to store a few items such as lunch, water or a late night snack. All rooms are provided with an ice bucket, wine glasses as well as a coffee maker, coffee and travel mugs. What is especially great is the 12 o'clock check out time for those who like sleeping in.
The location is conveniently located near numerous bars, cafes, restaurants and even Annapolis's own community theater, The Colonial Players, thus making for a fun night out with a short walk back to your room! There are many places to have breakfast,lunch and dinner all within one or two blocks making The State House Inn the best choice for a night out in beautiful Downtown Annapolis.

Room Tip: The Chesapeake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Located right across from the state Capitol and so conveniently located, it made our walking to everything, very easy. The inn is historic and evidently, also on the "ghost tour," if you're into that- but we didn't find that out until after our stay, which was wonderful; no ghosts for us. After reading some of the reviews we weren't expecting much. Which is probably why we were pleasantly surprised. We felt like we had the place to ourselves and we got a house for the price of a room. Nice rooms, sitting and receiving area, 4 poster bed, jacuzzi tub, beautiful views of this quaint and historic town, and if it were warm out, I can see us sitting out on the porch enjoying the views. Evenings are gorgeous. Had a great dinner and few drinks at Harry Browns and walked home. No breakfast, but there's lots of great breakfast places, 2 within walking distance. Chick and Ruth's, an Annapolis icon is right on Main Street and everyone says the pledge of allegiance every morning, a fun and patriotic tradition, and the food was great. Miss Shirley's on West Street is also fabulous, a little further, but still walking distance. A good time was had by all.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for the first time this week, and I have to say we were very happy with everything about the place. Having read some not so great reviews on here, we were a little skeptical, however loved the idea of the location so decided to give it a try. Upon arrival we were greeted by the new property manager, who was very pleasant and friendly. She gave us some good ideas of places to visit and good restaurants in the area.
We stayed in the King George Suite, which has the most amazing view of main st and the marina, the room was clean and very pleasant. It also has a huge jacuzzi tub!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The State House Inn, and we will certainly be back on our next trip through the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to State House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State House Inn

Address: 25 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your State House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State House Hotel Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.