We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most classy, historic, romantic and authentic hotels downtown.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added State House Inn to your Saves list
State House Inn
25 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 31 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Glen Burnie, Maryland
1 review
“One of the most classy, historic, romantic and authentic hotels downtown.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at the State House Inn. The first stay was over the summer, to celebrate an anniversary. We originally planned to go out on the town but once we arrived we were SO extremely happy with our room we decided we would rather spend the night there. We were blown away by all of the windows and the beautiful view. But most of all we decided to stay because of the ENORMOUS jacuzzi. The pictures online did NO Justice I the actual room. We felt like we hit the jackpot. Everything from the view to the furniture and bathroom was more than we had ever imagined. There is a wine bar directly across the street so we walked over picked up some wine and brought it right back to the front patio of the Inn. There were candles available in the lobby so we brought those out as well and spent the evening outside looking right up at the statehouse. We ended up extending our stay first thing on the morning. Management was beyond accommodating! Needless to say this was the best vacation we have ever taken (and were locals). We could drive to Annapolis in 20 minutes any day but staying here really makes it worth while which is why we decided to come back for valentines day! Perfect hotel no matter what the season!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    11
    8
    12
See reviews for
9
41
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Windsor, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This old (200+ years) Inn has a half dozen rooms, and the king rooms all have a jacuzzi, that I could tell. The location is obscenely good. You are steps away from the Maryland State House, and less than 100 yards away from 6 very good restaurants, including Piccola Roma, the restaurant attached to the Inn.

Do not stay here if you are expecting a post modern antiseptic hotel experience with staff constantly underfoot. No one will turn down the sheets for you, and probably no one will carry your bags for you.

This is a quaint inn that just happens to perched in the best location in Annapolis. The staff is ALWAYS available (and knowledgeable) via phone, and is on site during the day.

This is the perfect romantic getaway for a couple that doesn't want to be bothered.

We'll be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a King room with a Jacuzzi. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My experience was quite enjoyable, the new manager is so helpful and welcoming making my stay very comfortable. Upon arrival we were greeted by Carath who took us to our room which overlooked the State Capital Building. The room was called the "Chesapeake" and the view was spectacular! The rooms are quite large and just outside my room was a small refrigerator making it quite convenient to store a few items such as lunch, water or a late night snack. All rooms are provided with an ice bucket, wine glasses as well as a coffee maker, coffee and travel mugs. What is especially great is the 12 o'clock check out time for those who like sleeping in.
The location is conveniently located near numerous bars, cafes, restaurants and even Annapolis's own community theater, The Colonial Players, thus making for a fun night out with a short walk back to your room! There are many places to have breakfast,lunch and dinner all within one or two blocks making The State House Inn the best choice for a night out in beautiful Downtown Annapolis.

Room Tip: The Chesapeake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Located right across from the state Capitol and so conveniently located, it made our walking to everything, very easy. The inn is historic and evidently, also on the "ghost tour," if you're into that- but we didn't find that out until after our stay, which was wonderful; no ghosts for us. After reading some of the reviews we weren't expecting much. Which is probably why we were pleasantly surprised. We felt like we had the place to ourselves and we got a house for the price of a room. Nice rooms, sitting and receiving area, 4 poster bed, jacuzzi tub, beautiful views of this quaint and historic town, and if it were warm out, I can see us sitting out on the porch enjoying the views. Evenings are gorgeous. Had a great dinner and few drinks at Harry Browns and walked home. No breakfast, but there's lots of great breakfast places, 2 within walking distance. Chick and Ruth's, an Annapolis icon is right on Main Street and everyone says the pledge of allegiance every morning, a fun and patriotic tradition, and the food was great. Miss Shirley's on West Street is also fabulous, a little further, but still walking distance. A good time was had by all.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for the first time this week, and I have to say we were very happy with everything about the place. Having read some not so great reviews on here, we were a little skeptical, however loved the idea of the location so decided to give it a try. Upon arrival we were greeted by the new property manager, who was very pleasant and friendly. She gave us some good ideas of places to visit and good restaurants in the area.
We stayed in the King George Suite, which has the most amazing view of main st and the marina, the room was clean and very pleasant. It also has a huge jacuzzi tub!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The State House Inn, and we will certainly be back on our next trip through the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here for a reunion recently with my wife. I payed a lot of money for a place that I thought was going to be nice and romantic. While the location is great, the owners are basically taking as much money as they can and investing nothing back in. No one was around to check in or help, rooms are tired, worn, and sorely in need of a renovation. Got woken up in the middle of the night by guests that were not able to get in the door because their key didn't work. No one was accessible to help and they had no choice but to bang incessantly on the front door. At over $300 per night, this is this worst money I have ever spent for a place, and given the apparent lack of caring for the house guests I would recommend that you spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statehouseinn, Manager at State House Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Mike: Thank you for choosing to stay as a guest of the State House Inn. I was sorry to read that your experience was less than desired; however, I was pleased to find your appreciation for our great location.

Our accommodations are located downtown, in the heart of Historic Annapolis, with views of the State Capitol building, Main Street, City dock and the Chesapeake Bay. Having the opportunity to stay in such an ideal location is a remarkable way to experience our great city.

And, yes, rates for Historic properties, located in the downtown district, particularly during fall weekends, do command higher pricing. Most often, however, you will find our rates are competitive and we do offer creative packages that add value to your stay. The owner, management team, and staff of the State House Inn care a great deal for this historic property and have a sincere appreciation for it's history and the history of Annapolis.

Currently the property is undergoing guest room renovations, as well as property restorations. In addition, the owner has recently put in place a new management team and concierge program to ensure that our guests have an exceptional experience while visiting Annapolis.

As the new manager for the property, I welcome the opportunity to have you as a return guest and experience the care and quality the State House Inn has to offer. Please feel free to call us directly for any future reservations at 410-990-0024.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were recently at the Boat Show in Annapolis and decided to stay at the State House Inn. I stayed here a few years back when they had a full-time property manager. The location is great but we never even saw the new Innkeeper. The office is supposedly open noon to 6, but we were there between those hours and saw no one.

The rooms are big and clean, but we never had any maid service for the three days we were there. There's lots of potential here, but they need to staff the place better.

Room Tip: Pick a room up high overlooking the bay. Rooms down low tend to be pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to State House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State House Inn

Address: 25 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your State House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State House Hotel Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.