We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of State House Inn

Save Saved
You added State House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
State House Inn
25 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 31 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Mount Airy, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I spent a night away from the kids to celebrate our anniversary and this was such a disappointment. We were greeted by a young man at about 5:30 this past Saturday (Aug 25, 2012) and were told where are room was, given a key, and our credit card was charged. He left shortly thereafter. We stayed in the King George Room on the 3rd floor. One of the first things we noticed walking into the room was the yellow bleach stains in the very old red carpeting and the general age of things. We weren't expecting modern, but at least from within the last decade and better maintained. The room was a decent size, but in dire need of an update. The pics speak for themselves. $215 was much too expensive for this quality of a room.

Pros: Location - right next to main street in Annapolis.
The outside is very charming

Cons: Just about everything else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    9
    7
    12
See reviews for
5
37
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

For $200 a night I dont expect mold around the jacuzzi, bleach stains all over the carpet , and noway to take a shower without climbing up and into said jacuzzi. Ironing boards and refrigerators in the hallway made it feel like a dorm. Great location and
the house has potential but not worth the cost.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the State House Inn for a long weekend over the 4th of July. We received a very nice rate (last minute booking) and stayed in the third floor St Anne's room. The room was clean, linens were crisp, plenty of towels.

The location is great - park your car and walk the rest of the trip.

This is a small inn and there are only staff around during the day - we did receive a telephone number and were told to call 24/7 if we needed anything (which we did not) I always do my research and knew ahead of time that breakfast was not included. The do provided discounted parking around the corner which was nice.

We also had a great dinner at Piccola Roma. Being guests at the State House Inn, we received a complimentary glass of Proseco and 10% off our bill.

Overall it was an excellent trip

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

What a disappointment. Not enough towels -- had to go to other rooms to get towels and robes -- as there was no staff member present to help. No soap for the bathtub!
The coffee maker in the main room was dirty, with old coffee in it the next morning. Which -- given that they don't have a breakfast -- it really a shame. The tub is a liability due to almost slipping to get in an out of it. The TV is small and not a flat screen.

If I were paying $60 per night? Sure! BUT -- I paid $190!!!

Clearly, the owner is making bank off of this place because of the location and does not care enough to put any money into it.

Stay at the WESTIN --you'll be much happier.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Having found this place after doing a search for B&Bs I was most put out to find that breakfast isn't available here nor is it available in the restaurant downstairs. Bit of a con when their website states " Enjoy all of the ammenities of a hotel combined with the charm of a historic inn." Well, excuse me, but hotels and inns do breakfasts. No where on the website did it actually say that breakfast wasn't an option.
The room we had was comfy enough but the bed had the loudest creak ever....enough to actually wake you up if you turned over in your sleep. After being shown our room, we never saw the innkeeper(s) again for the whole of our stay; not even at checkout......just drop your keys in a box as you leave. I has been looking forward to the usual great hospitality that B&Bs arefamous for but it was sadly lacking here. With a little customer care and breakfast being available a place like this could easily rate a 4 but the best I can give it based on my experience is a 1.

Room Tip: Good place to stay if you are on a starvation diet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

I love to stay in Inns/B&B's when I travel. And, it's ashame because this place has so much potential. We checked in yesterday afternoon. Young girl was here. Gave us our keys, not the room we reserved. Kind of dirty here. In the Lord Calvert room. Tv doesn't work, holes in the quilt, torn shower curtain, attached restaurant not open, and can't even lock the door to our room.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria,VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

My husband and I spent the night here with our 20 year old grand daughter. The receptionist was welcoming and informative about how to walk around Annapolis (all interesting places were within easy walking distance!). The converted home was tastefully furnished and comfortable, especially the beds, and the luxurious linens. with a cozy parlor offering facilities for tea or coffee preparation, as well as a garden terrace. Breakfast is not served here, but there is a varied choice of nearby establishments to fulfill this need. Our rooms were very reasonably priced, very clean, seemed soundproof, but audible heating/air condition unit. There are more expensive rooms offered, with jacuzzis attached.
This will definitely be my choice for any future visits to Annapolis, and I would recommend it to any age group. Must mention there is no elevator, but at least one room is on the ground flour.

Room Tip: Suggest you phone for description of available rooms, especially as there are a couple which will so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to State House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State House Inn

Address: 25 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your State House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State House Hotel Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.