We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leeward Market

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Leeward Market
601 Second Street, Annapolis, MD 21403
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 296 restaurants in Annapolis
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
1 review
“Fantastic and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Superlative venue...Great sandwiches and Pizza. This little restaurant seems more like a visit with friends that really cook well. Overall, Leeward Market is a must for any visit to the Eastport/Annapolis area.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    11
    6
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem for Fresh, Local Food in Eastport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I first ate here a few months ago and have gone back a few times...looking forward to the next opportunity. This is a small place with a bit of a funky vibe, but as soon as we walked in we felt at home. Lisa, the owner, is always friendly and she makes you feel welcome, like you're eating at the home of a friend or family member. Although the menu is limited, which could be expected at a small place, each meal is prepared to order and always delicious. Many fresh, local ingredients are used and every dish we have tried has been flavorful. We especially love the Friday night dinner specials. Dinner might include manicotti, meatloaf, fish tacos...always something different. You can call ahead to see what's on the menu for the night. Pizza is always an option and a good choice, made with fresh ingredients. I have watched the cook go outside to the garden and pick herbs to be used immediately. The margarita pizza is simply delightful! Soup choices change all the time. Our favorite is the cold cucumber dill, a nice summer soup that we eat slowly so we can savor every spoonful! I love the cold glass bottles of filtered water that are placed on each table to be poured in to individual glasses, and if you run out, there's always more bottles available. If you like a comfy place with great food, you should check out this hidden gem in Eastport.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Funky Restaurant, Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Don't be scared by this restaurant's humble setting as one reviewer was. I laughed when I read their one-star review because they left without ordering any food! Check it out (see below). This restaurant is funky, inside and out -- go ahead and try the food before you pass judgment. We love the toasted bagels with smoked salmon, which is served with fresh dill, capers and tomato -- and they gladly split it for you onto separate plates. The 2 egg breakfast is very good, too, as are the muffins and breakfast sandwiches. For lunch, their homemade soups are to die for, particularly the lemon sorrel soup, a creamy yet light perfectly seasoned soup. Try the chicken gyro for lunch, has a very nice sauce on it, great flavor. The flatbread pizzas are great, too, crispy thin crust and very fresh toppings with delicious herbs. The only thing we don't love is their croissants stuffed with spinach and feta or ham and cheese. The flavor is spot on but I like my pastries well done.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unpretentious and Cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Leeward Market in the sleepy back side of Eastport is a small, 6 table cozy spot, especially on an early Friday evening. Lisa, the owner makes Friday dinner specials and soups to savor. But, what we think is the best is her local, natural beef burgers that she steams and her lovely salad w/homemade dressing.The burgers are the best ever and the buns are fresh and toasted. Her homemade desserts are lucious, like Smith Island cake or apple cake, or peach cobbler w/ice cream. Yum. The atmosphere is like a 60s coffee house charmed w/ local acoustic music at 7 pm. No great expectations here. You do place your order yourself and the chef or Lisa dlievers to your table. No alcohol served. Instead there are free self help coffee refills! Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I bring family, friends, dogs and love to go solo too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Leeward has become my go to cafe for b'fast or lunch whenever I just want to relax. And enjoy a great meal of course. The new owner ... well maybe 2-3 years now? saved this great little Eastport dive from itself. Every dish is well thought out and I've yet to have anything I didn't want to order again. Love the pizza ... thin crust and with the best ingredients. But usually I'll order a Back Creek Club or Gyro, or Falafel! You don't get deli meat on this club... it's a real nice piece of chicken and on a fabulous roll. My lady and I both love the Gazpacho. And for breakfast? well there's nothing like farm fresh eggs. Being from NY , I can't resist a bagel and lox. They make it open faced on a great local bagel, not the typical restaurant fresh from the freezer. Who'd think a sailing town cafe would serve up bagel n lox plate as good as any in NYC? The fresh dill is the icing. I've read many of the reviews and totally agree with the complimentary ones. As for the person who went there expecting a typical urban cafe with fancy service and outdoor seating... all you needed to do was take a breath, relax and enjoy. Leeward serves up a NY Times and Washington Post always at the ready...they 're happy to let you tie up the dog with you at the picnic table and there's always a bowl of water. Great coffee , relaxed atmosphere. Yes, it's a 'dive'. Nothing fancy about it... but aren't they best kind? Everyone I've brought there has asked to go back or become good customers. Keep up the good work !

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leeward Market also viewed

 

Been to Leeward Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leeward Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.