We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1313 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Annapolis B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed at this B&B Dec 16 and 17, while visiting our daughter, son-in-law, grandkids and dog (you get the picture why we wanted our own space, haha). We were greeted by John, the owner, who was extremely hospitable and even upgraded us to a king sized bed, no extra charge. Lovely room with lots of windows and even a small frig. Location is excellent and we were able to walk into downtown Annapolis and shop. Excellent cafe for lunch called Paul's a couple of blocks away, delightful. BTW, John cooked breakfast for us the 2 mornings we were there (as he gave his cook off for Christmas shopping) and no additional charge. The breakfast was excellent and fresh.
It has a wonderful porch in warmer weather.
John was a delight to talk with and this will definitely be our go to B&B for future trips. Thanks, John.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    31
    3
    6
    0
See reviews for
13
98
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Caution , don't stay with John that owns several apartments in downtown and the Annapolitan and Annapolis Bed and Breakfast. He met us to check in, told us to park where he had parked and gave us a hang tag for the days we were there to cover parking. We awoke to our car gone, towed, he never helped , offered us a ride to get it or took responsiblity since he told us where to park!! We walked 5 miles to get car, then awoke saturday to our car broken into , door damaged and glass shattered! All he said was these things never happen to them!! We have been out $600.00 already and have to call our ins for car when we get home. We salvaged our weekend and had some time with our mid, but I'm not a HAPPY MOM!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The problem with this place isn't the inn, it's the owner John Holt. Beware. John appears amicable enough, but on checkout we found he had added an extra night we had not agreed to, and added an additional $15/nt over our agreed price. Having pointed out the overage, he made no attempt whatever to mitigate, instead proffering what a "good deal" we got. John owns and runs not only the Annapolitan, but also Academy B&B on St George St. You may find it curious that he seems to have availability at both of his properties despite the busiest weekends of the year, Columbus Day/Boat show. That is because they are both so overpriced.
The Annapolitan is about 2++ miles to downtown, not really walking distance, especially in poor weather. There is a free tram, but it also is about 1/2 mile away at the Westin.
If you can find another place, with more reputable management, I'd opt for that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerdale, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Headed back to Annapolis for a family wedding. Was thrilled to hear the location. My first call to book accommodations was to John at the Annapolitan B&B. Stayed there couple of years ago, and really enjoyed ourselves. What was already booked that weekend, John promised to call if any openings popped up. And to our luck, two rooms were arranged for us. Felt comfortable and familiar to us. Clean and quiet was the perfect ending to a great family event. Took a few different family members this trip....they too really enjoyed their stay. Great breakfast!! Thanks John & staff. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Just the right distance from the busy downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Read this whole post because it gets even more incredible. We had a fantastic stay and a great breakfast. We sat on the lawn in the evening and had a bottle of wine. Breakfast couldn't be better with French toast, eggs, sausage, fruit, orange juice and coffee. But the ultimate in customer service came at 11:00 PM. My wife needed to be taken to the emergency room. I had never been in Annapolis before and had no idea where to go. I was panicking. I ran downstairs where I knew John, the owner, had left his phone number. I called him. I told him that my wife needed to go to the hospital and asked for directions. He said just get in your car and I will meet you out front. I will lead you there in my car. By the time I got my wife to the car, John was out in front ready to lead the way. He lead us directly to the ER. Now that is customer service! Thank you John!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just spent my one year wedding anniversary at the Annapolitan and my wife and I couldn't have asked for a better weekend. We stayed in the Sunset Room which is located on the first floor. The room had a lot of character and was very spacious. The breakfast was excellent and was the perfect start to our days. John took very good care of us and we will definitely be recommending a visit to all our friends that need a little time away from the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We visited the Annapolitan B&B to celebrate our friend Susan's 50th birthday in early June 2013. We celebrated on the beautiful front porch upon arrival. Our rooms were ready in advance of check in time, which was important so that we could get the "party" started earlier in the day. We were able to walk a nice distance to catch the free trolley and enjoy the city of Annapolis by the docks. The trolley was important to us so that we didn't have to drive back to the B&B after an evening of enjoying a few drinks. There were 5 of us at any one time walking together, so we felt very comfortable. Our rooms at the Annapolitan were a nice size and very comfortable. The refrigerators in each room came in very handy. The staff at the B&B were so friendly and always willing to please. Thanks for the coffee each morning - we sure did need it.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a family - I recommend the BEACON room. It had a wonderful King size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1313 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over one hundred years ago, the Annapolitan bed and breakfast became one of first venues in Annapolis to accommodate guests. The gorgeous colonial home, originally a farm, housed workers during the week before they headed back to their homes on eastern shore each weekend. Over the years, many things have changed at our quaint Annapolis bed and breakfast, but many things remain the same. The Annapolitan Bed and Breakfast continues hosting guests from near and far, providing quaint, cozy accommodations for those wishing to experience the maritime city of Annapolis. While the city of Annapolis has grown, becoming a travel destination for sailing, dining, entertainment, shopping and historic sightseeing, the elegance and hospitality of the Annapolitan remains unchanged, establishing it as one of the finest Annapolis bed and breakfasts around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annapolitan Hotel Annapolis
Annapolitan Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.