We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast
1313 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Annapolis B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The problem with this place isn't the inn, it's the owner John Holt. Beware. John appears amicable enough, but on checkout we found he had added an extra night we had not agreed to, and added an additional $15/nt over our agreed price. Having pointed out the overage, he made no attempt whatever to mitigate, instead proffering what a "good deal" we got. John owns and runs not only the Annapolitan, but also Academy B&B on St George St. You may find it curious that he seems to have availability at both of his properties despite the busiest weekends of the year, Columbus Day/Boat show. That is because they are both so overpriced.
The Annapolitan is about 2++ miles to downtown, not really walking distance, especially in poor weather. There is a free tram, but it also is about 1/2 mile away at the Westin.
If you can find another place, with more reputable management, I'd opt for that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    31
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
13
97
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerdale, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Headed back to Annapolis for a family wedding. Was thrilled to hear the location. My first call to book accommodations was to John at the Annapolitan B&B. Stayed there couple of years ago, and really enjoyed ourselves. What was already booked that weekend, John promised to call if any openings popped up. And to our luck, two rooms were arranged for us. Felt comfortable and familiar to us. Clean and quiet was the perfect ending to a great family event. Took a few different family members this trip....they too really enjoyed their stay. Great breakfast!! Thanks John & staff. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Just the right distance from the busy downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Read this whole post because it gets even more incredible. We had a fantastic stay and a great breakfast. We sat on the lawn in the evening and had a bottle of wine. Breakfast couldn't be better with French toast, eggs, sausage, fruit, orange juice and coffee. But the ultimate in customer service came at 11:00 PM. My wife needed to be taken to the emergency room. I had never been in Annapolis before and had no idea where to go. I was panicking. I ran downstairs where I knew John, the owner, had left his phone number. I called him. I told him that my wife needed to go to the hospital and asked for directions. He said just get in your car and I will meet you out front. I will lead you there in my car. By the time I got my wife to the car, John was out in front ready to lead the way. He lead us directly to the ER. Now that is customer service! Thank you John!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just spent my one year wedding anniversary at the Annapolitan and my wife and I couldn't have asked for a better weekend. We stayed in the Sunset Room which is located on the first floor. The room had a lot of character and was very spacious. The breakfast was excellent and was the perfect start to our days. John took very good care of us and we will definitely be recommending a visit to all our friends that need a little time away from the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We visited the Annapolitan B&B to celebrate our friend Susan's 50th birthday in early June 2013. We celebrated on the beautiful front porch upon arrival. Our rooms were ready in advance of check in time, which was important so that we could get the "party" started earlier in the day. We were able to walk a nice distance to catch the free trolley and enjoy the city of Annapolis by the docks. The trolley was important to us so that we didn't have to drive back to the B&B after an evening of enjoying a few drinks. There were 5 of us at any one time walking together, so we felt very comfortable. Our rooms at the Annapolitan were a nice size and very comfortable. The refrigerators in each room came in very handy. The staff at the B&B were so friendly and always willing to please. Thanks for the coffee each morning - we sure did need it.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a family - I recommend the BEACON room. It had a wonderful King size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, N.J.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We three couples just stayed at the Annapolitan B&B. It was a very nice stay. It is located about two miles from downtown which can easily be reached by a free circulating bus/trolley that runs every ten minutes. The downside is that the nearest busstop is about 1/2 mile away. This was not a problem for us but might be in inclement weather. The breakfasts are excellent and the rooms were comfortable. We would recommend to Annapolitan to friends.

Room Tip: The back rooms might be better away from west Street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The decor is not architectural digest nor the food fine dining, but the graciousness of the staff and the fun of the hotel blend into a mixture of visiting a great aunt's house and a life much different than our own. I had to move a few nicks knacks out of the bathroom so I could find room for my make up and dob kit, but that adds to the charm of the hotel. Wonderful touches like filtered water and great air conditioning make For a comfortable stay. My husbands comment after breakfast was "this was everything he was looking for". Of course a waffle smothered in whip cream, is not what he gets at home.

Room Tip: Go for the lighthouse room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1313 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over one hundred years ago, the Annapolitan bed and breakfast became one of first venues in Annapolis to accommodate guests. The gorgeous colonial home, originally a farm, housed workers during the week before they headed back to their homes on eastern shore each weekend. Over the years, many things have changed at our quaint Annapolis bed and breakfast, but many things remain the same. The Annapolitan Bed and Breakfast continues hosting guests from near and far, providing quaint, cozy accommodations for those wishing to experience the maritime city of Annapolis. While the city of Annapolis has grown, becoming a travel destination for sailing, dining, entertainment, shopping and historic sightseeing, the elegance and hospitality of the Annapolitan remains unchanged, establishing it as one of the finest Annapolis bed and breakfasts around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annapolitan Hotel Annapolis
Annapolitan Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annapolitan Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.