We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, Just horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   424 South Philadelphia Blvd, Aberdeen, MD 21002 (Formerly Bayside Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Aberdeen
Bel Air, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible, Just horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Went there because we got evicted from our house. We told them we had pets and they said its 25$ a week deposit they didn't say the quantity of pets we could have. So that night when we were unloading the truck, there was a horrible smell of stink bugs, weed, and inside of the room, it smelled like bed bugs. Yes, bed bugs have a smell. The room was crowded because of the efficiency kitchen. The bathroom was the size of a closet and the sink only allowed you about 10 inches between it and the toilet. There was only about 8 inches of space between the bed and wall where you could walk to get to the kitchen. The microwave didnt stay on when you used it, it shut off as you were cooking, only about 5 seconds in. The stove didnt even work. Later that day, we asked for a new microwave, the lady comes in and sees our 4 pets, who were in cages at the time, without even telling us the quantity allowed, she said get out now, you cant have all of these animals, out out out, out now! Then my step dad went out, had a fight with the owner, the owner called the cops and he said i want these guys out now!!! Do not stay here, it is a piece of crap.

Room Tip: Dont even stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviaberdeen1, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are sorry that you were evicted from your apartment. We are sure that must have been stressful. When you called us you asked us if we could bring a pet and we said absolutely, but there is a $10 per pet, per day fee. When you checked in we charged for only one pet. When our housekeeper entered the room to clean it, she found 4 pets. Whether they are in cages or not, we do still stand by our policy of per pet fees. The reason why we asked you to leave, it was because we asked you for the day's rent and you did not have it. You not only misunderstood the pet policy, but did not have payment for the balance of the week. As per the police, they asked you to leave because you di not have payment for your stay. We were polite enough to let you stay until 6PM that evening even thought check out was at 11:00AM. We are not sure why your microwave was shutting down every 5 minutes, we have never had a problem like that before or after your visit. As far as bathrooms go, they are a normal, acceptable size for a hotel. Having bed bugs is a serious issue for any hotel and we are under strict guidelines. We have not hand any complaints since you left and maybe you were confused with another type of bug that may have gotten into the room. Bed bugs don't smell, so we know it was not that. Once again, we are sorry you did not have a great experience with us, but hope that when you get a chance you will return to visit with your pets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
1
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

The place was clean, the people at the desk are nice. There was no iron, no conditioner, and I couldnt find a single available plug to plug in my computer. They cut a lot of corners on the remodel. I paid less for a hotel in Philly yesterday---that had fantastic accomodations. If I was just stopping by, on my way to somewhere...it would be fine. But to stay over for business...no.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviaberdeen1, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for noticing how well we take care of our property. We pride ourselves on our housekeeping staff and our friendly and helpful front desk employees. You probably missed the iron, it was on the back of the door in the closet. We wish you would've called us so we could have helped you find it. As for conditioner, we do have a shampoo/conditioner combination and have also installed new shampoo/conditioner dispensers in half of our guest rooms. We also added 4 more plugs to every room, since we understand the ever-increasing need for charging stations and have installed 40" flat screen TVs in most of our rooms. We hope you will stop in again to enjoy the upgrades! Thank you for the positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Inn is an older place, but it was clean, seemingly safe, and well maintained. It was conveniently located on a major highway in Aberdeen. I thought it was a good value for the money. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviaberdeen1, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! Our property has been complimented several times for its pristine curb appeal and comfortable and quality rooms. We are always trying to improve our property and are glad you noticed. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn and Suites

Address: 424 South Philadelphia Blvd, Aberdeen, MD 21002 (Formerly Bayside Inn)
Location: United States > Maryland > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.