We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay with son - Cal Ripken tournament” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1007 Beards Hill Rd., Aberdeen, MD 21001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Aberdeen
Katonah, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay with son - Cal Ripken tournament”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great place, nice facilities, clean and doesn't seem to be too crowded. The gym equipments was very new and the room was extremely comfortable and clean. Breakfast choice was good and quick. Great place to stay for Ripken Baseball tournament.

Room Tip: This is about 1/2 the price of Marriott, which is located at Ripken Stadium. It's about 1 miles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for the compliments to our property. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, amenities, and accommodations while with us. We hope that you choose to stay with us for tournaments to come!

Sincerely,
ABDCH Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    34
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
8
2
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It was an improvement over another hotel we stayed. No real complaints. The only nit picky thing I could say was the TVs downstairs were out of sync- so it gave you a headache if you were downstairs too long.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Steve C,

Thank you for providing feedback of your recent stay. We are happy that we provided exceptional accommodations for you. The issue pertaining to our lobby televisions has been addressed, and we appreciate you informing us of the issue.

Thank You,
ABDCH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife, son , grandson and I stayed at the hotel for a week while attending the Cal Ripkin tournament . The room was very clean, breakfast was excellent and all of the staff very pleasant. Would definitely stay there again if in the vicinity. Restaurants are within walking distance. Everything was great until the end. We asked for a late checkout due to timing of the game. We were told "no" as they were booked for the weekend even though we as a team spent $2-5 K over the week. After complaining they said we could stay for an extra $50.00 fee. So apparently they had no room but if we spent and additional $50.00 per room, they had room. Sounds a little shady to me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for the review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and amenities our property offers. Our staff tries to fulfill any and all requests, and we apologize that we were not able to do so for yours. Based on our availability and volume of check ins, we determine if we can honor a late check out or offer a half day rate.
We hope to be able to accommodate you during your next visit to Aberdeen.

Thank You,
ABDCH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

stayed at government rate for under 100$, tax included, even breakfast included. Very good value. Ample parking. Room is exactly what to expect, all essentials provided (microwave, big fridge, iron; well-stocked bathroom w/ bathtub). Different types of pillows available. Got a sewing kit from reception immediately. Staff is very friendly and competent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Lykos1,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to be a great hotel that guests love, and it moves our staff when they receive feedback like yours. We hope to accommodate you again during your next visit to the area.

Thank you,

ABDCH Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardyston Township, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed for three nights - overall great value. Room was clean and well appointed. Bed was comfy and the bathroom was well stocked with plenty of towels. Facility appeared well kept. Really nothing to complain about.

Staff was friendly. Breakfast was included each day - while nothing to rave about, it was clean and well organized with all items kept stocked, hot and fresh. Met our needs and would consider returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Adeluciajr,

Thank you for your compliments about our property, staff, and your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to accommodating you during your next trip to Aberdeen.

If there is anything else that I may be of assistance of, please feel free to contact me.

Thank you
ABDCH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Pros: We recently stayed here for 3 nights. The great room in the lobby was nice; had a few large tv's and plenty of room to sit to watch sporting events. There were quite a few good choices at the express breakfast and it was free! The hotel is close to many stores and restaurants, as well as the Ripken Stadium (approx. 5 minutes).
Cons: Indoor pool heater was broken and were told during entire duration of stay they were waiting for a part. Pool was freezing! This is unacceptable to have heater broken for at least 4 days! One morning at approx. 8am, yes 8am, we had two notes passed under our door stating they attempted to clean our room, but had a do not disturb sign on door and had to contact desk if we needed it cleaned. So we did that and came back to a dirty room. It ended up getting cleaned LATE in the afternoon after a 2nd request. The front desk people were generally very short with you. Overall, I give this hotel a failing grade and I would not recommend staying here. There are other big name hotels in close proximity...

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hockey0808,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed utilizing our Great Room, as we have this area especially for our guests to socialize and enjoy each others company. Our Express Start breakfast is our brand's signature that begins every guests' day Heart Healthy!

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. The pool heater did break the Monday prior to your group's arrival, and we did everything in our ability to get it up and running. Unfortunately, we were unable to do so prior to your departure due to shipping complications. Regardless, we are sincerely sorry for this incident.

Our housekeeping staff starts at 8am during the week. When they approach a room that has a "Do Not Disturb Sign" the housekeeper is required to leave a note. We apologize that your room was not cleaned until later, as we do try to clean our rooms in a timely manner, ensuring a thorough cleaning.

We are currently working with our front desk staff and addressing the issue that you have mentioned in regards to attitude towards the guests. We want our team to make our guests feel that they are at their home, away from home.

We do hope that you continue to stay at hotels within our IHG family, and give our property the chance to redeem itself from this stay.

Thank You,
ABDCH Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for a baseball tournament, and would NEVER go back. Room was gross, bathroom was worse. The bathroom had hair everywhere, counter and the floor. Blood on the sheet that covered the comforter. There was soda or coffee spilled down the wall behind and under the desk (pretty sure it's still there!) My 3 yr old found old raisins?? under the chair. The one positive was that the people that stayed before us forgot to take their Spider-man ball and my boys had fun playing with that, (which we found in the room). The heater in the pool was not working, pool was freezing. Other families had some of the same issues. If the baseball team wasn't staying there, we would NOT have been either!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday Inn Exp... C, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
4Sandy2014,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our property I would like to extend my apologies to you, and anyone else on your team that endured inconveniences while staying with us. The aforementioned complaints have been addressed with the managers of each department. We hope that for future stays you continue to choose stay within the IHG family, as we strive to be "Great Hotels Guests Love." Though we fell below your expectations, and our standards, over this visit, I assure you that we are following procedure to eliminate these incidents for the future,

Thank you again for your feedback, and choosing our hotel during your Ripken Experience.

ABDCH Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House

Address: 1007 Beards Hill Rd., Aberdeen, MD 21001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Chesapeake House is centrally located in the city of Aberdeen, MD, 1/4 mile off I-95. Just minutes away from Aberdeen Proving Grounds, the Heat Center, Cal Ripken Stadium - home of the Aberdeen Ironbirds, and Bulle Rock Golf Course - site of the McDonald s LPGA Tournament. We are just 30 miles north of downtown Baltimore, the Inner Harbor, National Aquarium, Orioles Park at Camden Yards, and M & T Bank Stadium - home of the Baltimore Ravens. We offer a year-round heated indoor pool, a fitness room, and same day laundry valet service (M-F). Guests also enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, 50+ cable channels including HBO and ESPN. We are a government friendly hotel and offer dedicated hardwired high-speed Internet use for increased security. This year we will be continually upgrading our property to better suit the needs of you - our everyday heroes. We appreciate all the support and patience from all of our loyal friends. We also would like to thank our customers for all their comments and suggestions which will continually enhance our product in the future. The Holiday Inn Chesapeake House staff takes pride in producing a friendly and pleasant environment and we'd love to host your next visit to Aberdeen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.