We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Smells” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Merit Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Merit Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Merit Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   980 Hospitality Way, Aberdeen, MD 21001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Aberdeen
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This Place Smells”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

There is a funk to the hotel from the days it used to be an all smoking place. However, they did give it a recent refurbish. Beds are nice, the king bed room has a sofa and flat screen tv. The elevators are old and scary, but work. The workout room is great. Large with weights available. The breakfast included with the room is good. Bathroom is old. Old tubs with new facets and shower heads, low water pressure. For the price the Clarion is the best of the worst in aberdeen.

Room Tip: Stay on the lower floors to avoid any left over smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionABManager, General Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you experienced odors that should have been more pleasant and happy to hear that you enjoyed our beds, flat screen tvs, exercise room, and breakfast. If you visit our area again in the future, we hope that you will choose us for your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    11
    26
    17
See reviews for
27
11
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

1. Not clean: pubic hair in bathtub, sink dirty, bathroom floor not clean, countertop with unwiped stains.

2. Front desk lady was rude and lethargic, when we told her the room was unclean, she replied " make sure you report this in the morning to housekeeping," !! As if it is our job to do that!

3. Hallways smell of dirty carpets( old smoke) and urine. My 5 year old commented " it smells like throw up in here"

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionABManager, General Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We apolgize for the issues that you experienced and we have used your comments to make us a better hotel with better customer service. We have shared your comments with housekeeping and front desk and reminded them of our committment to service basics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staatsburg, New York
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

,Spent this past weekend in this hotel. Hotel is very outdated, dirty and over priced. We had numerous issues with our stay. Only positive was the location, as we were in the area for a Baseball tournament at Cal Ripken. But there are many hotels in the immediate area, which i am sure would be a better choice!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Everything was convienient, nice atmosphere, and overall great place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

my stay at your hotel this past weekend was very nice. everyone was courteous and helpful. breakfast was hot and plenty. housekeeping was on their j-o-b. i will gladly recommend this hotel to my friends and family. thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: just tell them your preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here because we had a weekend baseball tournament at Ripken Complex and it was relatively cheap....and that's what we got....cheap. It was dirty in some areas, but not everywhere. Staff were not engaged in customer service, The "buffet" breakfast was made up of powdered eggs and uncooked bacon. Even more bizarre, there were cop cars parked outside of the building both nights, Not sure if that was a sign of security issues, or increased security. Either way...they did nothing about the all night tailgating outside in the parking lot. Thanks goodness all we had to do at this place was sleep...although the fridge was humming all night long. I'm sure we can find another hotel in the area for about the same price

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Carpets were not vacuumed, dusts on the bathroom vents, looks moldy.
Most of the towels were ready for other uses, definitely not for bathing. Pleasant staff sometimes, depends on their moods. Been here more than 3 weeks. This place was chosen by employer. Will not recommend to anyone, especially non-smokers. People smoke in the hallways, and just outside the back doors. Third-hand smoke in the rooms is totally unacceptable. The smell of pets puts this negative review over the top. A great opportunity for improvement. Guests who complain ought to be respected, not vilified. There must be many guest displeased, but, say nothing. Why?
Cause they are certain, they will never come back to any Clarion Hotel anywhere. A pity.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
#4 of 15 in Aberdeen
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen
2.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Aberdeen Hotel
Travelodge Aberdeen Hotel
#9 of 15 in Aberdeen
3.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House
2.4 mi away
Budget Inn of Aberdeen
Budget Inn of Aberdeen
#7 of 15 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merit Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merit Hotel & Suites

Address: 980 Hospitality Way, Aberdeen, MD 21001
Location: United States > Maryland > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merit Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Merit Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merit Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.