We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merit Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Merit Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Merit Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   980 Hospitality Way, Aberdeen, MD 21001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Aberdeen
Aberdeen, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

my stay at your hotel this past weekend was very nice. everyone was courteous and helpful. breakfast was hot and plenty. housekeeping was on their j-o-b. i will gladly recommend this hotel to my friends and family. thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: just tell them your preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    11
    26
    17
See reviews for
27
11
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here because we had a weekend baseball tournament at Ripken Complex and it was relatively cheap....and that's what we got....cheap. It was dirty in some areas, but not everywhere. Staff were not engaged in customer service, The "buffet" breakfast was made up of powdered eggs and uncooked bacon. Even more bizarre, there were cop cars parked outside of the building both nights, Not sure if that was a sign of security issues, or increased security. Either way...they did nothing about the all night tailgating outside in the parking lot. Thanks goodness all we had to do at this place was sleep...although the fridge was humming all night long. I'm sure we can find another hotel in the area for about the same price

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Carpets were not vacuumed, dusts on the bathroom vents, looks moldy.
Most of the towels were ready for other uses, definitely not for bathing. Pleasant staff sometimes, depends on their moods. Been here more than 3 weeks. This place was chosen by employer. Will not recommend to anyone, especially non-smokers. People smoke in the hallways, and just outside the back doors. Third-hand smoke in the rooms is totally unacceptable. The smell of pets puts this negative review over the top. A great opportunity for improvement. Guests who complain ought to be respected, not vilified. There must be many guest displeased, but, say nothing. Why?
Cause they are certain, they will never come back to any Clarion Hotel anywhere. A pity.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, NY
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

You get what you pay for. My stay at the Clarion wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t good either. My rate was a reasonable $100 for the night, but the only things that stuck out were the unpleasant things. I didn’t feel unsafe on the property, but I didn’t feel safe either. There were WAY too many coffee cups, soda cups, cans and the like outside people’s doors- clearly no one came by to get them or clean up. My bathroom mirror had dried specs of what I can only hope was toothpaste on it. The bathroom door had dried juice splatters on it. I’m sure it was a celebratory juice from kids playing in a baseball tournament or something. Again, not a deal breaker, but something to remind me to keep my shoes on. The staff is non existent as I only saw one person upon check in and never anyone else. The workout room has a TON of potential, but again is a let down- smells bad too. Parking is ample, but AGAIN, just doesn’t feel safe. I guess you get what you pay for. I also now know why the Courtyard and Hilton Garden Inn across the highway (and closer to the ballpark) are constantly sold out. Not planning on ever coming back here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionABManager, General Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us last week. I look forward to sharing your comments with our staff and discuss how we can make your stay with us better next time.
I would like to invite you back to give us another chance to earn your business. It sounds like you have stayed in other hotels at our exit and I would love to make the Clarion your hotel of choice. Please conact me at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Quite satisfied. Check in took less than a minute, including honoring my request for a room that was quiet. A receipt was left under the door so there was n check out time. The room was huge and very clean-a king sized bed with a very comfortable mattress and a bunch of great pillows. There was also a sofa, desk with a good office style chair and other furniture with plenty of room to walk around. The bathroom was also large and had a lot of room for toiletries as part of the sink unit. The room had a few small things that could use fixing, such as one seam of the wallpaper needed repair and the bathroom ceiling tiles didn't match but there was nothing that detracted from a pleasant stay. I think the walls are better insulated than most hotels because I barely heard any traffic although this hotel is close to I-95 and I never heard any noise through the walls or in the hallway and judging by the cars in the parking lot, the hotel was full. The only room complaint was that it could have used more or brighter lighting.

Breakfast was a hot buffet plus cereals, breads, etc. in the attached restaurant. No plastic plates or silverware-a nice change from most hotel breakfasts. There was a very helpful wattress serving coffee and water if requested. I do have a few complaints about the breakfast. There were no bagels, no sugar free syrup for the waffles, no apple juice and only canned and frozen fruit. Fresh fruit was available in the lobby.

Our room overlooked the pool. The pool is big and has a large sun deck. Of course it was closed now but I think it would be great in the summer.

This hotel costs quite a bit less than other nearby chains and is just as good if not better than many other more expensive chains we've stayed in. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionABManager, General Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you very much for your nice review of our property. We are glad that you had a pleasant experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

A huge, comfortable room at a good price. Convenient location, good Wifi, nicely furnished, very quiet. Wish all our stays were like this.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionABManager, General Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am glad that you had a good experience with us and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Clean rooms, great location right beside I-95. Good service. Full service rest. and a separate sports bar.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionABManager, General Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time and writing about your experience at our hotel. We do strive to be the best value in the area. Stop in again soon and see our room upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
#4 of 15 in Aberdeen
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
2.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Aberdeen
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Chesapeake House
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Aberdeen Hotel
Travelodge Aberdeen Hotel
#8 of 15 in Aberdeen
3.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
2.4 mi away
Budget Inn of Aberdeen
Budget Inn of Aberdeen
#6 of 15 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merit Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merit Hotel & Suites

Address: 980 Hospitality Way, Aberdeen, MD 21001
Location: United States > Maryland > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merit Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Merit Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merit Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.