We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Friendly and Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Aberdeen

Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Aberdeen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarion Hotel Aberdeen
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   980 Hospitality Way, Aberdeen, MD 21001 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Aberdeen
Boston
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Friendly and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were just passing through on our way South and grabbed a Hotel Coupon Book at a Highway Rest Area. The Clarion was the first one we spotted off the road and we decided to see if they had a vacancy. I was traveling with my Mother and we were both tired and hungry in addition to it being Freezing outside. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, it is a little worn in areas but we didn't mind at all. The best part was the warm welcome followed by the invitation to a complimentry dinner for guests and a nice breakfast the next morning. The dinner wasn't anything fancy (sort of like eating at a friends home in the middle of the week) we had a tossed salad, fresh bread and beef stroganoff with noodles. The previous night they offered Tacos and I heard them mention Chicken & Dumplins for the next meal. I think the complimentry dinner is a Tuesday- Wednesday Special for the hotel.......but we were so happy we didn't have to go back out in that bitter cold. The breakfast was very good too, scrambled eggs, homemade waffels, bacon, sausage, biscuits & gravy ect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    10
    22
    12
See reviews for
23
11
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

i always stay at the clarion in aberdeen, and i have also attended showers, and birthday parties there. it is a great place to stay or have an event. the room was clean and we were not bothered we were able to enjoy ourselves. thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped here with our dogs. The hotel was very pet friendly, with large rooms, flat screen TV, refridgerator and microlwave in room. We had a pull out sofa bed in the room as well. Very close to shopping and dining. I definitely recommend if you're traveling with pets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionABManager, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip through our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

There are at least three other more upscale properties nearby, but they are overpriced-albeit newer. The Clarion is a decent pick for value. Room are above average and clean. Free breakfast is better than many.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionABManager, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you had a good experince with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Upon arrival, there was obvious signs of neglect, however, being 9:00pm and the fact I was traveling alone with my son I decided to try to overlook the poor first impression. In the common areas, the tile flooring is cracked, broken and dirty. The carpeting is filthy and musty and the elevators are in need of maintenance. We checked in and went to our room; upon entry there was a musty, stale odor. When we opened the mini-fridge, it was not operating and there was approximately ¼” of standing old water in the freezer portion. I called the lobby, but could not get an answer so I was forced to take my son back down to discuss this problem. I explained the issues and the young lady (who didn’t appear surprised at all by my complaints) immediately gave me another room. We moved our belongings and found only a slightly better room for the moment. The odor was not as overwhelming and at least the mini-fridge was operating. There was a stain on one of the beds, so my son slept with me. The bath area was “top clean” meaning that it was obvious that deep cleaning of the area had not occurred in some time, but rather it appeared to be wiped down. In the morning I went to start my shower, only to have a problem with the faucet. I pushed, pulled, twisted and turned but could not get the water faucet in the tub / shower to come on. After about 10 minutes, I called the Front Desk and explained the issue. The young lady (again not surprised), chuckled and said, “oh yea – some of them are tough – just pull real hard. If you still have problem let me know and I’ll come do it for you”. So, in my disgust I again pulled for almost another 5 minutes before finally getting so angry I pulled one last time in frustration when it finally came on. Quickly I took my shower as my eyes constantly looked at the obvious cleaning issues. We left for our game and I spent the morning searching for an alternate hotel to stay. After our game I checked out early explaining to the young lady my dissatisfaction.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionABManager, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I am sorry to hear about the issues that you encountered during your stay with us. We do realize that guests expect clean rooms, adequate supplies, and to have everything in working condition. Every effort is made to accomplish these service basics and I apologize in that we fell short of your expectations.

We are very close to the Ripken baseball complex and it is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to earn your business. We feel as though we are the best value in the area for Ripken baseball patrons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Nothing bad to say at all.. Room very clean and quiet. Hotel a bit old but still clean and quiet. Bed was comfortable Food was amazing. A great hotel to stay. Checkin was easy and staff were friendly. Would stay here again..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionABManager, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a response to your stay with us. It was nice of you to compliment us on our food, cleanliness, and being quiet. We hope that you can visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

When selecting this "motel" (the name is deceiving) on the web, it appeared to be much newer. Strangely enough, after you check in, the elevators are located half way through the motel. This is only after you climb a slight incline 12X12 brick walkway. Upon arriving at the room, (after walking through a rather dingy hallway and what seemed like two carpet thickness on the floor) I was a bit surprised to see the room rather large, modern, (microwave and fridg) and nicely laid out. I am not sure if it was the drive up there, or the perfect firmness of the bed, but everyone in our party said they all had a good nights sleep. The "free" breakfast in the morning was not your typical continental breakfast, they had scrambled eggs, bacon, link sausage, Belgian waffles, milk, coffee, orange juice and great service. The staff at this motel, is professional, and very courteous. I will be staying here again. Don't let your first impression when you walk down the hall fool you.

Room Tip: No construction, no room noise from the other rooms. I had people on either side of me, never heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionABManager, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you will be back to see us. I have to agree that we do a great job with breakfast and have very comfortable beds. We are working on the hallway impression that you mention and hope to have that solved before we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Aberdeen

Address: 980 Hospitality Way, Aberdeen, MD 21001 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton)
Location: United States > Maryland > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Aberdeen 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Aberdeen
Aberdeen Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Aberdeen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.