We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Slice of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamie's Cafe

Mamie's Cafe
939 Beards Hill Rd, Aberdeen, MD 21001-1734
410-273-8999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 restaurants in Aberdeen
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This restaurant is really incredible. The food was delicious (Italian entrees were especially nice), the portions were large, dessert is free, and the prices are reasonable. The staff is extremely accomodating (there were 11 of us with no reservation on a Saturday night and they seated us within 15 minutes). The decor is quirky and interesting. This restaurant really is the perfect package.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    81
    35
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Had to check this place out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

With all the great reviews on Mamie's, we were in the area for the weekend soccer tourney. Stayed in a nearby hotel and wanted to check this restaurant out. Saturday night was packed at Mamie's, even at 7:30 PM. The wait was not long, staff is very friendly and helpfull. Plates piled high, very good home cooking. Everyone seems to be taking doggie bags home, no wonder, too much to eat. Wish it was closer to home

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nostalgia meets good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

New to the Havre de Grace/Aberdeen area we stumbled this gem while shopping. What a treasure. The atmosphere is warm and very inviting. Nostalgia on the walls that represents the family that runs it, who by the way are friendly. Portions are huge and the food is homemade. Bread served is hot and the desserts were the perfect ending. We'll be back again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You MUST try Mamie's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Eating here is like eating in your aunt's kitchen-warm, loving and cozy. The owner, Barb, makes you feel like you're family. You get so much food! And dessert is free! I love the way the place is decorated. You will, too!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will return again and again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I had heard good things and finally checked it out. My husband and i were not disappointed. The bread was perfect. The corn fritters were the best I have ever had. The lasagna was great. And by the time dessert came we were stuffed! Friendly and quick staff. The one downside was its a bit cramped at the dinner hour but that speaks to how much the locals love this place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamie's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mamie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamie's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.