We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senator Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Senator Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Senator Inn & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   284 Western Avenue, Route 202, Augusta, ME 04330   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Augusta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked the Senator Inn just a couple of hours in advance and upgraded to a king suite upon our arrival. The price was great (I think $110) and the room was hug and full of amenities. The Inn is certainly past its prime with dated decor and some moisture issues in the washroom, but it still feels pretty luxurious. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. Service at the front desk was good. The most memorable factor of this Inn, however, was the buffet breakfast. After two weeks on the road and several hotels, inns and motels, this was the best free breakfast of them all. They had a good selection of hot and cold items, light and hearty. A really pleasant surprise having booked it just a few hours prior to arrival in Augusta. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Penelope P Leatherby,

We are pleased that your stay with us pleasant and comfortable and that our Continental Breakfast exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Maine!

Jason Wentworth
Assistant General Manager
Senator Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    117
    49
    30
    15
See reviews for
102
123
23
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great value. Very friendly and helpful staff. Pet friendly . Rooms can be hit or miss, we have learned to be specific about requesting, and about rates. Wonderful restaurant and pool/spa area. We will always stay at the Senator when we pass through Maine.

Room Tip: Presidential wing is very nice, but a couple of the rooms are over the boiler area and are very hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear PEIfamily2013,

We are privileged to be your choice Augusta Maine hotel and restaurant and are proud to be one of Augusta’s few pet friendly hotels. As noted in your review, we do have a variety of different room types ranging from economy rooms to luxury suites with Jacuzzi tubs. I am happy to share that we are currently focusing on updating our economy rooms and have started renovations on the bathrooms. We do not have a definitive completion date but we hope to have them completed by next summer. Thank you for sharing your experience!

Jason Wentworth
Assistant General Manager
Senator Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I booked a conference room for a business meeting in the middle of August. Cabinet Room is downstairs without benefit of an elevator. Decor is very dated. Despite detailed instructions, the meal service was sketchy, but the food was delicious. Overnight rooms are clean and neat, but again the decor and amenities are dated. The planner neglected to mention that breakfast is included in the room, so we paid for coffee and pastries in our meeting room. However the pastries provided were minimal and tasteless. Event services personnel were unavailable all weekend for help is working out missed cues and billing issues. We won't book an event here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Sue, thank you for sharing your feedback and making us aware of your experience. Our Banquets Manager will be contacting you privately to discuss further details and to offer you a pleasing resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We did not know we would be staying in Augusta Maine until we pulled up there, no longer willing (or able) to drive back toward Virginia that day. We had never heard of the Senator and just happened to get off at that exit. We could not have been happier with the results. The room was very clean and in good condition, the beds comfortable, and there was even a little table just outside our door leading to the parking lot. This came handy as sort of a staging area since we had a car full of luggage, etc. from our seven week trip to Canada. There were a few minor signs of wear on the carpet and a few smudges on one of the walls, but the room was pristine otherwise.

Beyond room considerations, we found the lobby, lounge and restaurant all very upscale but very comfortable and the staff delightful. The included breakfast featured many hot and cold selections and was delicious.

I don't know when or even if we will get back to Augusta, but if we do we know where we will stay.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room with our car parked right outside. After bedtime we never heard any nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing Amidelamer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I'm from Quebec and I am generally impressed by the value of what I get when I cross the border into the U.S. but this place takes the cake. My wife could not believe how incredible the poor was. Our room had three televisions, including one in the bathroom , the staff were incredibly friendly even though we had to wait to check in. They genuinely seemed to care that people were waiting in line.

The room had sliding doors to separate the two areas and let me work while the Mrs watched TV, the place was immaculate. Not one complaint. Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful

Room Tip: Leave the room alone for a while and ENJOY the pool, its like no other !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Biz T,
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was better than you expected. Our staff is always concerned with providing each guest the best service possible and they appreciate the patience of our guests during the busier times. Thank you for sharing. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

"Maybe it's just me, but..." The Senator was uninspiring and had a number of head-scratching problems, like the hairdryer that I was sure was going to electrocute me on its way to setting the entire building on fire, and the total absence of anything but a thin blanket and bedspread on the bed despite the chilly nights - this is MAINE, people! It was clean, but I would be hard pressed to say comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We always book The Senator when driving a long distance and have never been disappointed! The staff is always friendly and helpful. Food is excellent and the specials every night of the week are definitely worth trying. Breakfast buffet and dining area are a bonus so it's nice to wake up in the morning and be there! The organic products offered in the spa are very hard to find elsewhere. Pool is very clean and inevitably when we wake up there and head for the dining room in the AM, staff is already at work vacuuming the hall carpets. Have stayed there on business, solo, and with family. You don't need to continue south to Portland for a nice place to stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Senator Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Inn & Spa

Address: 284 Western Avenue, Route 202, Augusta, ME 04330
Location: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Augusta
#4 Business Hotel in Augusta
#4 Family Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Senator Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Augusta
Senator Inn And Spa
Best Western Senator Hotel
Best Western Augusta
Augusta Best Western
Senator Inn & Spa Augusta, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senator Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.