We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent locally owned restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverfront Barbeque

Riverfront Barbeque
300 Water St, Augusta, ME 04330-4620
207-622-8899
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 78 restaurants in Augusta
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent locally owned restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This barbecue is one of our local favorites. The food is reasonably priced and plentiful. Their house salad is excellent. The service is terrific and the atmosphere is great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    37
    19
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gardiner, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Accommodating Restaurant with Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I go to the Riverfront Barbeque a couple of times each month with friends. Invariably, we are greeted warmly and seated immediately. I have found the kitchen to be willing to stray from the menu and either prepare or combine dishes to suit the diners' taste. For example, when I ask them to add mushrooms to their already wonderful vegetable risotto, they do, with no drama. Here's a little known aspect: They serve the best steak, by far, in Augusta - better than the steakhouses. Patrick, the owner, is a charming host. I have never been disappointed and will return again and again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful restaurant with a beautiful view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful view of the harbor while we ate. Food and service were very good. We all enjoyed our meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great menu but still needs time to make its mark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Really good food but really could use a professional interior designer help with the atmosphere, more appropriate wall art, furnishings and décor as well as better lighting.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The best mesquite flavoured, dry, meaty chicken and ribs that I have had in a long time! Friendly staff tops it all off.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverfront Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Riverfront Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverfront Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.