We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Admirable Piece Of History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of State Capitol

State Capitol
State Street, Augusta, ME
207-287-2301
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 Attractions in Augusta
Type: Architectural Buildings, Government Buildings, Landmarks
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
255 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Admirable Piece Of History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Known for its only surviving wooden made fort, a great walk inside and along the river overlooking the bridge, spectacular colors of trees-an extra bonus.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Maine's capitol is set atop a hill surrounded by parkland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We enjoy visiting capitol buildings with a rotunda and dome. This building does not disappoint. The dome rises 185 feet. You can view the inside of the dome from the rotunda. Of special note, near the center of the floor under the rotunda is a swirl-shaped fossil estimated to be more than 475 million years old. Outside, "The Lady of Wisdom" is a statue topping the dome made of copper overlaid with gold leaf.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Nazi Rent-A-Cops”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Enough said. Please see my other reviews regarding the major human rights and Constitutional problems with Augusta and Maine in general.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Hyacinthe, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

A real beautiful bulding, with a lot of history, had a really good guide, the visit is in english, but our guide was also a french speaker. Great Visit!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Maine State House Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Our tour guide, Dan, was the best. We had an excellent tour on Thursday of this week. Dan was very knowledgeable and even introduced us to one of the Maine State Senators. We'll worth the trip.

A must do in Augusta.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.