We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Great Falls Plaza, Auburn, ME 04210   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Pleasant and clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed a week end at the Hilton Garden Inn, Auburn in August. It may be the best Garden Inn hotel I have been. The place is clean and comfortable, the front desk is efficient and responsive and it is well located close to the river and the city center.
They have an excellent breakfast with a large choice of fruits, cereals as well as hot selections (eggs, waffles etc).
Decent gym and a nice pool as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIAuburnMEGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
I would like to thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel! Our staff works hard to ensure that our guest provide superior service,clean rooms and great food. It is excellent to hear that you enjoyed our property!

I hope you will have another opportunity to visit us again in the near future! If I may be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me!

Hospitably,
Scott McKenney
General Manager
scott.mckenney@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    85
    27
    9
    10
See reviews for
76
59
17
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Someone else who knows the area chose the hotel for us and we applaud the choice.

The property is well kept up. The rooms are clean and welcoming. We had a falls view room --so maybe it isn't Niagara Falls, but it was still Mother Nature in all her glory and we loved it. The Riverwalk is right at the hotel and goes in either direction. We walked along it before dinner. The hotel is also right at the bridge into Lewiston--which we walked across to go to Fishbones (10 minute walk from the hotel). I walked it the next day while DH was in meetings.

The buffet breakfast was well worth the price. Thank you, Carl, for a most delicious cooked to order omelette.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIAuburnMEGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
I would like to thank you for your comments regarding our property! I am glad you had an opportunity to enjoy the falls during your visit! The Riverwalk behind our hotel has been an excellent addition and has become a favorite walking and running trail. I am glad you were able to enjoy fishbones as well. It is a quick walk and well worth it!

I have passed along your comments to Chef Carl regarding his Omelette! I, too, would agree that they are very delicious! If your travels bring you to Auburn again I would strongly suggest ordering one of Chef Carls infamous "kitchen sink" pancakes. They are excellent!

Thank you again for staying with us! Please feel free to contact me if I may offer further assistance!

Hospitably,
Scott McKenney
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
scott.mckenney@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, MA
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

This is my first choice hotel when staying in Auburn/Lewiston. It's a very comfortable hotel with nice rooms and friendly staff. It's a good central city location so it's easy to walk to nearby restaurants. I love the walking paths along the Androscoggin River. The rooms were clean and spacious. I didn't eat in the restaurant, but I did appreciate the hot beverages available all the time by the front desk.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room with a river view, just because it's better than looking out over the of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIAuburnMEGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
I would like to thank you for your comments and for making our hotel your first choice when visiting the area! We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel! Our housekeeping staff works diligently to ensure the cleanliness of the property! I agree that the Riverwalk is excellent!

I hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon!

Take care,
Scott McKenney
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
scott.mckenney@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We had our wedding at the Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch and I could not think of a better place to do it. We worked with both Amanda and Brooke as the sales managers to get everything figured out before hand. Amanda is so knowledgeable and has been doing this for a while and is really helpful. Brooke has so many great ideas and really helped to create the vision that we wanted. We had booked the bridal suite for the night before and night of the wedding and then I booked a room a few days before the wedding to set up everything. When I got there, Meg, the Front Office Manager had already had me in the bridal suite. This was perfect as I was able to spread out all of my decorations and not have to move rooms half way through the stay. We had a meeting with Sharon, Food and Beverage Manager and Brooke to go over all the details. The two of them are so on-top of everything, it went so smoothly! They were asking me questions I had not even thought of! The whole staff was so accommodating. The HR Manager, Allison, helped me unload all of my centerpeices. She even offered to help get some last minute decorations! The room was set up perfectly on the day of the wedding - even down to my crazy headtable set up. Sharon ran the whole event and checked in with us all the time, keeping us on schedule, letting us know what was going on. Everything was perfect! Couldn't ask for anything better!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIAuburnMEGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
We are so glad that you chose our hotel for your special day! It is so wonderful to hear that our staff was able to assist you from beginning to end! Both Amanda and Brooke are extremely knowledgable. They are an excellent Sales team! I am glad Meghan at our front desk and Sharon, our Food and Beverage Manager was able to accomodate you both as well!

Best Wishes on your marriage! We hope we will have an opportunity to accomodate you in the future!

Kind Regards,
Scott McKenney
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
scott.mckenney@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idstein, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at the Garden Inn River Watch several times since April 2011.

Staff are excellent, everyone goes out of their way to help.

Everything is neat and clean; good fitness room.

Breakfast is very good, too.

Would recommend this hotel over any other one at Auburn, including Lewiston.

Location is directly by the Androscoggin River with nice view of the falls. Also near to pubs and banks in the center of Aburn

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIAuburnMEGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We certainly are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff works extremely hard to ensure outstanding service, clean rooms and good food. We certainly appreciate your feedback and hope you will be able to visit us again soon!

Hospitably,
Scott McKenney
General Manager
207-514-2202
scott.mckenney@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skowhegan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Very beautiful view of the river from our room. Very nice accommodations and helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Request a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIAuburnMEGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your kind words regarding our accomodations and staff! I would have to agree that our location next to the Androscoggin River and the view of the Great Falls is amazing. It is quite a site to see how much water actually flows off of the falls!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Lewiston/Auburn area.

Hospitably,
Scott McKenney
General Manager
207-514-2202
scott.mckenney@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My son and I drove up from Philadephia to attend my nephew's wedding on Friday, Oct. 7, 2011. The reception was being held at the Hilton Garden Inn and so the wedding party and all of us decided to stay there. It was wonderful! Everything about the hotel and reception ( food, service, presentation, etc) was done to perfection. I'm sure everyone had a memorable time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIAuburnMEGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
We are certainly glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time at your nephew's wedding! We were glad to have been a part of his special day and we are so happy to hear that everyone enjoyed the food and the event!

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We hope that you will be able to visit us again on your next trip to Maine!

Hospitably,

Scott McKenney
General Manager
207-514-2202
scott.mckenney@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch

Address: 14 Great Falls Plaza, Auburn, ME 04210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch Hotel Auburn
Hilton Auburn
Auburn Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.